We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Itaca Hostel
Nearby Hotels
USD 354*
USD 321*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 435*
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Room Mate Emma(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
USD 204*
USD 185*
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 321*
USD 267*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
USD 473*
USD 323*
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Praktik Bakery(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
USD 172*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Colonial Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
USD 250*
USD 209*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
USD 410*
USD 363*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 260*
USD 201*
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 331*
getaroom.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
253
150
24
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
150
24
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomsangria nightbed dormyellow roomgreat locationfree breakfastgothic quarterpub crawla great place to staybarcelona cathedralthree nightsdefinitely stay here againclean roomsvisiting barcelonapublic transportairport buslas ramblas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I'm a 'stylish' backpacker mom with a 10 year old boy. We love to travel, searching for nice, clean, budget accommodations. Sometimes we're lucky.We stayed 4 nights at Itaca Red apartment, in a separate building from the hostel, just behind the Cathedral.
The apartment has been recently renewed. It's a little bit dark, but spacious, well equipped, cozy and clean.
The building itself suffers for a bad smell, but the flat is a perfumed oasis :)
We occupied both the ensuite room #6, 70€/night (B&B) and the simple one #5, 50€/night (B&B) .
The first is really small (also for us), while the 2nd is bigger and perfect!
We will DEFINITELY be back (in the # 5, of course)!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nagi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Itaca hostel in Barcelona in January. The place was very warm and smelled of vanilla. The decor was colorful with painted murals on the walls. The people working there were very nice and helpful. There is a nice lounge area open until 11pm every night. The downstairs has several seats that people gravitate to when the lounge closes.

It is a quiet hostel overall so great if you want a nice sleep. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was nothing special--toast, cereal, juice and was I think 2 euros. We stayed in a dorm as well as a private room.

The room was in a separate apartment that you share with two other rooms. It was very nice but if the other guests like staying up later than you do you can hear everything they do in the living room and kitchen. It wasn't too bad but they had a tendency to laugh really loud. It wasn't enough to disrupt our sleep though. The room was very nice and the bed was super comfortable and the comforter was very warm and relaxing. The living room has a small balconey which was cute. Be warned that there is a hefty deposit for the key to this apartment that you get back after checking out. They didn't tell us that until we checked in to the private room. Breakfast is brought by the staff and is included in the price. You basically get all the bread and cereal you can eat.

The beds in the dorm aren't as nice but are perfectly comfortable--no squeaking problems. Everybody gets their own locker with a key instead of a lock and is free.

Overall, I loved our time there and would definitely recommend it and go back myself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Persephone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Itaca has to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It has a great feel, with a lot of character. The rooms are smaller, which is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast available. The kitchen, dining, and hangout room/area was really nice. I loved that the walls were painted in bright, creative murals throughout the hostel. I loved the location, in the Gotic district, close to anything that you want to do, with the option of walking everywhere or you can jump on the metro. A wonderful place to stay, at a great price. The other travelers at the hostel were chill. This isn't so much of a party hostel, which I liked.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This place is quality! The staff are so genuinely friendly and helpful!! We stayed in the newly opened double rooms. There are three double rooms in an apartment, with shared bathroom, kitchen and living area (all of which are an immense space). Every morning breakfast was laid out, the appliances in the kitchen are all brand new, fantastic cooking facilities.

The location was fantastic, next to the Cathedral in the Gothic Quarter, and the price for what we had was amazing. Our double bedroom had a walk in wardrobe, heater, table and the bedroom was spacious. Whenever we are back in Barcelona, we will stay here. Thank you so much for such an accommodating welcome and fantastic stay in such a great place!!!

Room Tip: It is an old building in a residential apartment, so sound does travel, and don't get the double rooms if it's going to be a party trip
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed in the family room at one of the apartments (itaca red) that itaca offered with our two kids in January 2012. We enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment is centrally located (supermarket, subway station, and sights within a very short walking distance) and very modern (very well equipped kitchen, spacious rooms, new/ recently renovated rooms). Breakfast is included (baguettes, cereal, muffins…) and there is free tea and coffee all day long. The apartment has three guest rooms altogether that share the facilities and we found this a nice private setting while still leaving room if you wish to get to know your “housemates”. The hosts gave us very valuable advice on good and inexpensive restaurants and suggested an awesome hike in the Montserrat National Park (none of these were mentioned in our travel guides or by the tourist offices… so we felt we got some great inside advice). All in all we think this is a great place to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews