We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best first hostel experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Itaca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Itaca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best first hostel experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Itaca won me over from first sight. The location was perfect and yet not too crowded out among just other touristy hostels. The bed with the reading lamp was my favourite: you could stay up late into the night reading without disturbing others in your dorm. The common areas were great too: colourful and full of comfy couches. The staff was very helpful, too. And great prices for all that.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddychak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    144
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
81
131
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I'm a 'stylish' backpacker mom with a 10 year old boy. We love to travel, searching for nice, clean, budget accommodations. Sometimes we're lucky.We stayed 4 nights at Itaca Red apartment, in a separate building from the hostel, just behind the Cathedral.
The apartment has been recently renewed. It's a little bit dark, but spacious, well equipped, cozy and clean.
The building itself suffers for a bad smell, but the flat is a perfumed oasis :)
We occupied both the ensuite room #6, 70€/night (B&B) and the simple one #5, 50€/night (B&B) .
The first is really small (also for us), while the 2nd is bigger and perfect!
We will DEFINITELY be back (in the # 5, of course)!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Itaca hostel in Barcelona in January. The place was very warm and smelled of vanilla. The decor was colorful with painted murals on the walls. The people working there were very nice and helpful. There is a nice lounge area open until 11pm every night. The downstairs has several seats that people gravitate to when the lounge closes.

It is a quiet hostel overall so great if you want a nice sleep. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was nothing special--toast, cereal, juice and was I think 2 euros. We stayed in a dorm as well as a private room.

The room was in a separate apartment that you share with two other rooms. It was very nice but if the other guests like staying up later than you do you can hear everything they do in the living room and kitchen. It wasn't too bad but they had a tendency to laugh really loud. It wasn't enough to disrupt our sleep though. The room was very nice and the bed was super comfortable and the comforter was very warm and relaxing. The living room has a small balconey which was cute. Be warned that there is a hefty deposit for the key to this apartment that you get back after checking out. They didn't tell us that until we checked in to the private room. Breakfast is brought by the staff and is included in the price. You basically get all the bread and cereal you can eat.

The beds in the dorm aren't as nice but are perfectly comfortable--no squeaking problems. Everybody gets their own locker with a key instead of a lock and is free.

Overall, I loved our time there and would definitely recommend it and go back myself.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persephone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Itaca has to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It has a great feel, with a lot of character. The rooms are smaller, which is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast available. The kitchen, dining, and hangout room/area was really nice. I loved that the walls were painted in bright, creative murals throughout the hostel. I loved the location, in the Gotic district, close to anything that you want to do, with the option of walking everywhere or you can jump on the metro. A wonderful place to stay, at a great price. The other travelers at the hostel were chill. This isn't so much of a party hostel, which I liked.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This place is quality! The staff are so genuinely friendly and helpful!! We stayed in the newly opened double rooms. There are three double rooms in an apartment, with shared bathroom, kitchen and living area (all of which are an immense space). Every morning breakfast was laid out, the appliances in the kitchen are all brand new, fantastic cooking facilities.

The location was fantastic, next to the Cathedral in the Gothic Quarter, and the price for what we had was amazing. Our double bedroom had a walk in wardrobe, heater, table and the bedroom was spacious. Whenever we are back in Barcelona, we will stay here. Thank you so much for such an accommodating welcome and fantastic stay in such a great place!!!

Room Tip: It is an old building in a residential apartment, so sound does travel, and don't get the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimidrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#14 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
#23 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
360 Hostel Barcelona
360 Hostel Barcelona
#33 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
El Raval
TOC Hostel Barcelona
TOC Hostel Barcelona
#29 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaca Hostel

Property: Itaca Hostel
Address: Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 757 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $38 - $155
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona, in a quiet pedestrian street next to the Cathedral square.If you stay with us, in just a few minutes walk you have all the main cultural atractions (Picasso Museum, Cathedral, Music Palace, Gaudí’s arquitecture, MACBA, CCCB, Ramblas…) the beaches, traditional tapas bars and areas to enjoy the cosmopolitan nightlife of Barcelona.We guarantee you are in the centre, where everything happens but you will have peace to sleep well!!In Itaca we don’t allow people to stay who don’t respect the right of others to rest. For those (like us!) who like to enjoy the nightlife but also the wide cultural variety our city offers, Itaca is the ideal place to stay. For those who look for getting drunk and out of control, well, we suggest that you head to one of the many ‘Party Hostels’ that exist in Barcelona!Itaca has a maximum capacity of 30 people, this allows us to have a more personal touch with you, and between you. We are able to give you the attention and help that you need to enjoy your stay with us.Our installations are spacious, clean and welcoming. All the rooms are exteriors with balconies. We have dormitories, double rooms, family rooms and apartments.US….Inspired by our travels, we opened Itaca en August 2001 with the intention of bringing together the things we liked best from other places, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. A place to socialize and rest, where you will feel free to discover our culture at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Itaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itaca Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing