We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay!”
Review of Itaca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Itaca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed in the family room at one of the apartments (itaca red) that itaca offered with our two kids in January 2012. We enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment is centrally located (supermarket, subway station, and sights within a very short walking distance) and very modern (very well equipped kitchen, spacious rooms, new/ recently renovated rooms). Breakfast is included (baguettes, cereal, muffins…) and there is free tea and coffee all day long. The apartment has three guest rooms altogether that share the facilities and we found this a nice private setting while still leaving room if you wish to get to know your “housemates”. The hosts gave us very valuable advice on good and inexpensive restaurants and suggested an awesome hike in the Montserrat National Park (none of these were mentioned in our travel guides or by the tourist offices… so we felt we got some great inside advice). All in all we think this is a great place to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    144
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
82
132
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is in the centre, located in 2 buildings. You must pay 50 euro deposit for your room key.
The staff is quite polite, but we did not get back our recharger, which was left in the room - the cleaner does not work any more - this was the only answer ofter having asked the question about it several times.
There were no hangers to hang your clothes in the room.

Room Tip: the double with bathroom is only for dark hole - patio amateurs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hania111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Good location, super clean super nice staff. Great value. Nicer than some Barcelona hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okoranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hostel can take a while to find, but the journey is part of the fun. It's less a than 10 minute walk from the Cathedral and the Via Laietana, the avenue that takes you from the beach to the north of the city. The rooms are up the stairs and are laid out like a regular house. There's a comfy common room, and the kitchen is well equipped. The bathroom is only one for the each gender, with two shower stalls so you might have to wait a bit. The breakfast isn't included and you'll find yourself sharing space in the tiny lobby, but its substantial and will fill you up for hours. The best part of this hostel is the very friendly staff and there's a very casual laid back attitude to the clientele.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCandlessBus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Very clean and cozy, our room was in the Itaca Blue flat in the in separate building for the main office. We stayed in #4 which had a balcony. The free breakfast was laid out for us in the common kitchen and was delightful. My boyfriend loved the one cup coffee/espresso maker which you can use any time. The common shower and bathroom areas were clean and sufficient. We also loved the location. We had a great time at the Itaca and would definitely stay there again next time we visit Barcelona!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cis4Couture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#21 of 721 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
#29 of 721 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
360 Hostel Barcelona
360 Hostel Barcelona
#42 of 721 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
El Raval
TOC Hostel Barcelona
TOC Hostel Barcelona
#39 of 721 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaca Hostel

Property: Itaca Hostel
Address: Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 721 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $48 - $183
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona, in a quiet pedestrian street next to the Cathedral square.If you stay with us, in just a few minutes walk you have all the main cultural atractions (Picasso Museum, Cathedral, Music Palace, Gaudí’s arquitecture, MACBA, CCCB, Ramblas…) the beaches, traditional tapas bars and areas to enjoy the cosmopolitan nightlife of Barcelona.We guarantee you are in the centre, where everything happens but you will have peace to sleep well!!In Itaca we don’t allow people to stay who don’t respect the right of others to rest. For those (like us!) who like to enjoy the nightlife but also the wide cultural variety our city offers, Itaca is the ideal place to stay. For those who look for getting drunk and out of control, well, we suggest that you head to one of the many ‘Party Hostels’ that exist in Barcelona!Itaca has a maximum capacity of 30 people, this allows us to have a more personal touch with you, and between you. We are able to give you the attention and help that you need to enjoy your stay with us.Our installations are spacious, clean and welcoming. All the rooms are exteriors with balconies. We have dormitories, double rooms, family rooms and apartments.US….Inspired by our travels, we opened Itaca en August 2001 with the intention of bringing together the things we liked best from other places, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. A place to socialize and rest, where you will feel free to discover our culture at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Itaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itaca Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing