We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Florida
Ranked #176 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misleading !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

For a 5 star hotel, this is the worst experience ever. We bought a romantic package for 405€ which was a one night package with welcome drink, dinner, breakfast buffet, cava and bath in room and 25% discount of spa treatments. When we arrived they did not give us the welcome drink , we had to wait for our room to be ready but after and hour and a half of waiting we had to go and ask for our room. The room was okay but we were ready to go for spa and relax during the day. When we were in our ropes in the spa looking for the service we were suppose to get we were told that there was nothing available. Not even the day after. Still the reception lady told us that the spa is open for us until 20:00.
When came to dinner we were told what we were gonna have for dinner. On the internet there was never mentioned that there was a set dinner.

Anyway, over priced and really not worth 405€ !!!!



  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sucyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    293
    104
    77
    67
See reviews for
178
616
25
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our stay at La Florida Hotel Tibidabo was from start to finish blissful, a great location then it hits you between the eyes with the elegance and charm of the place, our room wasn’t the best or worst room in the hotel but it was fantastically comfortable, we had a stunning view of Barcelona from it.
We ate in the Restaurant on only one evening but the service was fantastic and the setting again made me feel like I was James Bond, the pool and the bar at the pool was so cool you could imagine Lionel Messi wondering past, the hotel was so special that there was a loan car for guests to borrow for a morning or afternoon

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperSlodNadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have been a very frequent visitor to Barcelona over the last ten years. As those of you who have traveled there more than once will also know there is a new design hotel operning pretty much every other month.

Because of that I neglected the Florida for many years mainly because of maybe its only big disadvantage being the quite far distance from downtown.

Apart from that the Florida offers great 5 star service and a unbeaten scenic view of the city and its surrounding. The restaurant, lobby and rooms are very tastefully decorated yet not overdone. The spa is well above average with a great indoor/outdoor lap pool and many spa treatment options. The breakfast selection is extraordinary for Spanish standards!

If you are not coming for business and don´t have to go into town twice a day the Florida is a perfect hideaway for a quiet weekend especially during the winter months as they offer great weekend packages.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upperfloors with sea view. It´s worth the extra charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwesterberg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Large rooms with balconies, huge bathrooms, complimentary wifi, and use of heated inddoor pool/spa topped by commanding city/mountain views at bargain prices make this irresistible
The 20 min/2euro ride to the city center are more than adequately compensated by all the positive attributes and the bargain price compared to many of the downtown hotels

Room Tip: Call fr a taxi 10 minutes before you need to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank am001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 days and two nights. We had a warm welcome, and were allotted a room right away on arrival. The hotel location is on a hill top, giving a marvelous view of the city on one side and the mountains on the other. We got the mountain view, unfortunately all the city views were booked. But never mind, there is a church closeby which is one of the tourist attractions. Here one can see a breathtaking view of the city. We had a car, so the transport did not bother us. It takes around 20 min to get to the city by car. The rooms were good, although our beds leg was broken and was replaced by a stone... This was the only bad thing I found, other than this the hotel staff were very friendly, and service was quite good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrashBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
#184 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#137 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#120 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#165 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Florida

Property: Gran Hotel La Florida
Address: Ctra Vallvidrera al Tibidabo 83-89, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $266 - $492
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel La Florida 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Gran Hotel La Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing