We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #38 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel couldn't have been better for our first trip to Barcelona. Ideally located in the middle of the Gotic neighborhood in easy walking distance to La Rambla, the Born district, tons of bars and restaurants, shopping, beaches, churches, etc. Located across the street from Port Vell marina the views from the rooftop bar are excellent. Nice rooms, friendly staff... much appreciated.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stewartbarned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Stewartbarned,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the hotel which meant you could explore Barcelona better. It’s really important to us that our staff provide a fantastic service to our customers and remain professional at all times so we are so pleased to learn that this was delivered.

Warm regards,
Cristina Reus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 270 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights before and after our cruise with two children. We had a beautiful room in the new B floors of the hotel, the decor was lovely. The room had floor to ceiling floors with a balcony looking out over the harbour. It gets quite noisy at night but the doors are sound proofed. The double bed was huge and the bathrooms very modern.

The pool was smaller than I imagined but the decking area is great and has views across Barcelona. In the evening it the rooftop bar is a must for cocktails!

We will definitely return to this hotel, fantastic location in the Gothic Quarter!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank MandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear MandJay,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the hotel and found our newly renovated rooms to be so comfort. Feedback is invaluable to us.
We also appreciate your kind words about the rooftop terrace, any of our delicious dishes or any cocktail while admiring the views of the harbour is a real treat, for us too!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Roof terrace was beautiful and lovely to relax with a drink or two.
Only negative we had was the position of our room, it was over an alleyway with a very noisy bar right underneath our window. Would still return but would make sure well away from noisy alley

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesaCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to know that you enjoy it!
I would like to inform you that we dispose of different categories of rooms (classic, deluxe, deluxe port view, privilege and junior suite), for your comment we understand that your room was the Classic, the lower category. All rooms are 100% soundproofed with triple glazing windows to ensure a restful sleep and it is something very much appreciated by all our guests. We are sorry for this disturbance, we have already checked all the classic rooms in order to find if there is any failure in the window structure of any specific room. Noise could only be heard if you open the window, we are in the heart of the Gothic quarter and it is an area full of life.

We wish you could give us the opportunity to welcome you in the future.
Kind regards,
Cristina Reus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We selected the Duquesa de Cardona based on TripAdvisor ranking and its location directly at the harbor. It proved to be the right choice. From the moment we arrived (by car) the service was excellent; someone helped us with finding a closely located parking garage with special pricing for three days and with the luggage. It is a relatively small hotel and after having visited some larger hotels during our Spain trip this was much appreciated because of the personal attention and quality. The rooms are good although we noted (also from seeing other rooms) that there are quite some differences in rooms. We would definitely recommend a harbor view room, so front of hotel. Sound isolation is good because of double windows so no problem with street noise. The hotel is old but very well maintained. Breakfast area is beautiful. The roof terrace is stunning with beautiful views and very nice selection of barbecue dishes, tapas and drinks. The setting and roof terrace give you a sense of a 5* hotel. There is no pool, only a plunge bath which we did not use. The room price is not low but fair for location and quality offered. We booked a family room which comprised a spacious room on the front connected by a private hall way to a smaller room facing a patio. There are only a limited number of good hotels offering guaranteed connected/family rooms in Barcelona and this is definitely one we can recommend. Downtown Barcelona and many attractions are within walking distance. A bike rental store is just one block away and we would definitely recommend to explore the city by bike.

Room Tip: We would always ask for harbor view, preferably higher floor because of the trees in the Passeig Col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesaCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear SavertFamily,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your feedback about your experience at the Duquesa de Cardona, your compliment is greatly appreciated.
We are very pleased to learn that you appreciate our amenities and that you enjoyed our recently renewed rooms, specially our connecting rooms for families.
Indeed the location of the Duquesa de Cardona Hotel is ideal, only a few minutes walking distance to the main city attractions.
All the team of the Duquesa de Cardona are looking forward to welcoming you again in a very near future.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Hotel Duquesa de Cardona has a prime location on Passeig Colom at the edge of the Bari Gotic overlooking Port Vell. The rooms on higher floors in front of the hotel have a great view over the Port, with good windows that keep out the street noise. The view from the roof deck, with its small swimming pool, bar and restaurant, is even better. The beach is a 15-minute walk; the center of the Born is less than 10 minutes away. The staff is friendly and helpful. We appreciated the offer of early check-in after an overnight flight. Our “Privilege Port View” room was spacious and comfortable, but not flashy. The price was very reasonable – about half the price of the nearby Hotel The Serras (which is, itself, an outstanding hotel – see review). The breakfast at Duquesa is varied and very good – fresh juices and fruit, egg dishes cooked to order, hams, sausages and cheeses, breads and a limited set of pastries, among other things. One caveat – there was construction noise from the adjacent property during limited mid-day hours on certain days, but the management was very accommodating (and very gracious) in response to our concerns, and seemed to have the matter under control. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Check for the Privilege Port View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BGJ-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesaCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear BGJ-DC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review and share your opinion with other travellers and with us. We are happy to read that your stay has been so pleasant and we highly appreciate your compliments on rooms comfort and location, as far as the details we had prepared for you.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#24 of 520 in Barcelona
397 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#33 of 520 in Barcelona
1,011 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 520 in Barcelona
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#39 of 520 in Barcelona
1,435 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#76 of 520 in Barcelona
2,099 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#17 of 520 in Barcelona
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $151 - $1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing