We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
91
92
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
92
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza catalunya flights of stairs short stay in barcelona walking distance single room spent nights room was clean airport city catalan toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Nice place with comfy rooms. Great staff! I was a little fearful with our room being so close to reception, but slept well both nights. The bathroom was just a few steps away and very comfortable. The location near Barcelona Cathedral and the water was perfect.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronclark90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
239530, Director de Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Ron Clark,
Thank you for your comments about our hostel and staff. We care deeply for our customers and for us is very important that everyone is able to enjoy a lovely stay and comfortable rest in Hostal Fontanella. As you mention our location is fantastic. Minutes away from the most important attractions in Barcelona, restaurants, shops and the hop on hop off bus. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to have you with us again. Hopefully very soon!
Best regards,
Maite Awad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016


The hostel was very cozy, clean and neat. It has an excellent location in a walking distance of La Rambla and other top attractions. We felt welcome from the very first minutes. The staff was very helpful. It was easy to catch an early flight, since the staff ordered a taxi for us. We would love to book Hostal Fontanella again in our next journey to Barcelona.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karip525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
239530, Director de Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Karip, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate Hostal Fontanella. As you say we are located in the heart of the city, right at the beggining of the Gothic neighborhood. Walking distance from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and many other places of interest. Our hostel is a family hostel. We take good care that is friendly, cozy and that everything is very clean. Our mission is that our guests enjoy a great stay with us. We are happy you had a nice experience here! It was lovely to have you as our guest, you are always welcome to stay with us again!! Best regards, Maite Awad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We found Hostal Fontanella by randomly picking one of the many Hotels and Hostals in Barcelona. We picked it on price, location, and reviews. We ended our cruise,in Barcelona and wanted to see the city before flying home early the next morning. It ended up being right in the middle of everything we did that day. I totally recommend it. It worked perfectly for our short stay. If we you are staying longer it would be convenient place to stop back in for a rest after whatever you did. We pretty much dropped off our stuff, bought hop on hop off city tour, toured the town, came back and checked in officially, walked 1/2 block to La Rambla, found a quaint castle looking place to eat, walked around to amazing little streets for a while, then slept for a few hours and got a taxi to the airport. Super quick stop but packed full of adventure and sites. The taxi driver seemed a to stiff us a bit on ride. I saw 30 on the fare but she charged us 50. The bus and metro are all close if you figure out how to use them that might be cheaper way to the airport. At 4:00 in the morning I was just glad to be there early enough to get our 6:00 flight.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bfairc_486523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
239530, Director de Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Thank you dear Murray for your lovely comments about your stay at Hostal Fontanella. We are happy you had a good experience with us. As you mention we are located in a fantastic area of Barcelona, in the city center, walking distance from almost every important attraction Barcelona has to offer. Right at the beggining of the gothic quarter, minutes away from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas, Palau de la Musica and more. Our atmosphere is great, very comfy and familiar. We have amazing prices given our location and ranking. I´m sorry to hear about the taxi. Next time, we can always call a taxi for you, one that is familiar to the hostel and our guests. Consider Hostal Fontanella as your home in Barcelona! It was lovely having you both as our guests. Best regards, Maite Awad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Loved this place, great price for central Barcelona. Was a little confused when booking a 'Four person room with shower' as I thought this also included a toilet. This didn't really matter however as the toilet was very close by, kept very clean and it felt like we were the only people using it anyway.

Such a well kept, homely hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katiemY8086YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
239530, Director de Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you dear Katie for taking the evaluate and comment on Hostal Fontanella. For us it was lovely to have you and your family as our guest. We are a family hostel and we take good care that everything is clean and cosy. We want for our customers to have the best experience while staying with us. We are glad it is your case! We also have very affordabel and competetive prices considering our location and ranking. The description of every room is very clear in our website and in Booking.com. The room you booked is big, cosy, has it´s own shower and the toilette is just across the room. As you mention you shared it with almost nobody, as many other rooms have their own private bathroom. Hope to have you again with us! Best regards, Maite Awad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Stayed for three nights, the Hostal is in a Great location and good value for money. Shared bathroom which was opposite room, our room was lovely and very clean. Small balcony overlooking main road, noisy at times but expected because of central
Location. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again :)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davies127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews