We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Hostal La Terrassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Terrassa
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We booked a room here purely on price and location and were 100% satisfied with what we got.
Upon arriving in Barcelona we jumped the Aerobus which stops right outside the terminal and takes you to Placa de Catalunya. It is by far the cheapest and most hassle free way to get into the city centre. From the bus stop it takes about a 10-15 minute stroll down Las Ramblas to get to Hostal La Terressa. Keep your eye out for street numbers on the right on Las Ramblas and you need to take a right between numbers 73 & 75, the street is called Carrer de L'Hospital. Hostal La Terressa is on the 2nd street on your left once you turn onto Carrer de L'Hospital. It shouldn't take more than a leisurely 20 minute stroll from bus stop to hotel.
Once at the hotel you will have to climb 2 small flights of stairs. This could possibly cause a problem with anyone who is bad on their feet. Once at reception the rest of the hotel can be accessed by a lift. The staff on reception right the way through our stay all spoke great English and were always pleasant and dealt with any query we had efficiently.
Our room (210) a twin room with balcony was bigger than we expected. After reading some reviews we were expecting it to be tiny but there was plenty of space either side of the beds to manoeuvre in and an ample sized wardrobe. There was a small hallway that had a full length mirror on it near the entrance to the bathroom. The bathroom itself was a completely acceptable size and the shower was nice and powerful throughout our stay. No problems with it losing heat at any time either. The bathroom had a mirror over the sink too. Our "balcony" was tiny but still nice to sit on of a morning / night. WiFi was free and worked perfectly throughout our stay.
The only issue we could have with the place was, as has been pointed out in other reviews, the noise. The walls are extremely thin and you can hear pretty much everything from other rooms (showers running, toilets flushing, etc). I am one of those lucky people who can sleep through anything so it didn't affect me. My girlfriend is an experienced traveler through work and stays in hotels up and down the country. She popped in her trusty earplugs and slept like a baby too. If you are a very light sleeper, this mightn't be the hotel for you. Aside from that, I couldn't fault the place. It was kept spotless our entire trip and every member of staff that we encountered, from the receptionists to the cleaners were pleasant.
All we wanted from this place was a basic room to throw our bags in, somewhere to sleep and get a shower in. We weren't planning on spending much time in our room. On this basis I give Hostal La Terressa full marks

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _dannyhegarty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

A Hostal La Terassa megadta, ami fontos volt nekem: saját szoba fürdőszobával és erkéllyel jó helyen. A kétágyas szobám kényelmesen tágas volt (207-es szoba). Egy belső udvarra nézett, ezért elég nyugodt is volt. Tetszett az elhelyezkedése, mert a Liceu metró állomás csak 3 perc sétára van és a közelben számtalan étterem, pékség, cukrászda található valamint egy nagy szupermarket a Carrer de la Junta De Comerc végén. Rengeteg látnivaló szintén gyalog elérhető: La Rambla, Barri Gothic, Palau Güell, Antic Hospital De La Santa Creu stb.
A másik dolog, ami a legjobban tetszett, a 24 órás recepció. A személyzet minden tagja, akivel találkoztam nagyon segítőkész volt minden alkalommal, ha kérdésem vagy kérésem volt. Például vigyáztak a bőröndömre, mikor korábban érkeztem és akkor is miután ki kellett jelentkezni, de még egy egész napom volt, amit a városban tölthettem. Egy másik alkalommal egy kedves hölgy vastag takarót adott, mikor fáztam (a reggelek és esték már hidegek voltak szeptemberben, de a fűtés még nem működött).
Reggelit 6 euróért lehet kapni, de erről nem tudok mesélni, mert találtam egy nagyszerű pékséget, ahol nagyon finom péksüteményeket árulnak 1 euroért (Carrer de l’Hospital – Forn de Pa).
A szoba nagyon egyszerű, a berendezés itt-ott elhasználódott. A legjobban nekem egy kis hűtő hiányzott, annyira jó lett volna, ha lett volna a szobában. Szintén zavaró volt, hogy a szobáknak egyáltalán nincs hangszigetelése, szóval úgy hallani a szomszédokat, mintha egy szobában lennénk. Szerencsére mindig viszek füldugót, amikor utazom, ezt csak ajánlani tudom mindenkinek, aki szeretne aludni.
A fürdőszoba nagyon kicsi, de tiszta, adnak törülközőket, de a hajszárítót a recepción kell elkérni és használat után visszavinni. A szellőzőrendszer a fürdőszobában semmit nem ér, még az erkély ablakok is bepárásodtak, miután zuhanyoztam. Ez nem igazán volt rossz a hűvös szeptemberi reggelek és estéken, de elég kellemetlen lehet nyáron.

The Hostal La Terassa gave what was important for me: private room with an own bathroom and a balcony in a good location. The room was comfortably spacious with twin beds (number: 207). It was looking to an inner garden, so quite calm. I liked the location because Liceu metro station is only a 3 minute walk away and there are countless restaurants, bakeries, pastry shops nearby and a big supermarket in the end of the Carrer de Junta de la Comerc. A lot of sights are also in walkin distance: La Rambla, Barri Gothic, Palau Güell, Antic Hospital De La Santa Creu etc.
The other thing what I liked the most is the 24 hour reception. All the staff members I met was very helpful everytime I had a question or asked for a favour. For example, they was taking care of my suitcase when I arrived before the check in time and also after I had to checkout, but had almost a full day to spend in the city. In a nother occasion a nice lady gave me a thick blanket when I was cold (the mornings and nights was alredy cold in September, but the heating did not work yet).
You can have breakfast for 6 euro, but I can not tell about it, because I found a great bakery that sell very delcious pastries for 1 euro. (Carrer de l’Hospital – Forn de Pa)
The room is very simple, the furnitures here and there worn out. What I was missing the most is a little fridge, it would have been so good if there had been one in the room. It was also annoying that the rooms absolutely does not have soundproofing, so you can hear your neighbours like they were in the same room. Fortunatelly I always bring earplugs when I am traveling, I can only recommend it if you want to sleep.
The bathroom is very tiny, but clean, they give towels but you have to ask for the hairdryer at the reception and then bring it back after you used it. The ventillation system in the bathroom worth noting, even the windows of the balcony steamed up after I was having a shower. This was not really bad in the cold september mornings and nights but can be quite unpleasant in summer.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Éva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

The visit was okay. Cheap and close to what we want. Clean rooms. Great staff.

I could here the person snoring next to my room and his toilet flush. This was distributing. A weird smell was there in the whole hotel but you'll get used to that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Fzain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

liked -
location -close to Ramblas , close to loads of restaurants and cafes , close to plaza Catalunya , quick bus ride to the beach (otherwise around 30-40 min walk )
good wifi -never had any problems using it
very clean and tidy
good service -reception had no problem with any requests we had
great aircon - important on hot days and nights!!

Dislike:
1) no tv
2) no proper mirror just one in the bathroom (not easy if you are a girl )
3) a little overpriced for what it is but maybe because we went during the festival in the city.
overall - i enjoyed staying at this place and would do it again

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aiste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

The hostel is located near the main street La Rambla, but on a quite nice and quite street. It is situated within walking distance from Plaza Catalunya, where you can easily get by bus from the airport. We had a small budget room with everything necessary. Everyday cleaning service was excellent. Good and cheap buffet breakfasts. Excellent helping staff.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Leonardo Hotel Barcelona Las Ramblas
Hostal Sans
#366 of 517 in Barcelona
432 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#213 of 517 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#68 of 736 in Barcelona
927 reviews
Eixample
No Limit Hostel Central
No Limit Hostel Central
#94 of 736 in Barcelona
193 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#21 of 736 in Barcelona
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Terrassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Terrassa

Address: Junta de Comerc 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 736 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $61 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal La Terrassa 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostal la Terrassa is located in portion of old town Barcelona where the first settlement of the Raval neighborhood was established. It was built around the Romanic church of Sant Pau del Camp after the fall of the Roman Empire.Less than 5 minutes walking distance, La Terrassa hostal is very near “La Rambla”. This popular promenade was finally completed at the end of the XVIII century and is where in we can find the colorful market known as “la Boqueria” or “Sant Josep” founded in 1836. In the 1800s the upper class of Barcelona gain interest in the Raval area and began to populate the neighborhood’s most important streets. La Terrassa is located in Junta de Comerç street once it first opened it became at the time not only the widest and grandest street, but also the “Champs-Élysées” of Barcelona. The most significant example of an important personality moving to the neighborhood was Count Güell, who commissioned Antoní Guadí to build him a palace in 1885.Nowadays Old Town is an up and coming neighborhood regaining the grandeur of its glory days. It’s the second neighborhood with most character in Barcelona after the Gothic Quarter forming Old Town. Located right in the heart of the city, la Terrassa offers a place to rest “where the action is”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal La Terrassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Terrassa Hotel Barcelona
La Terrassa Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing