We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In dire need of a makeover; overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Park Guell
Ranked #342 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I need to start off by saying that I only booked one night at the Catalonia Park Guell because the other hotel where I had been staying was full on the 21st April. For some reason, this weekend it was extremely hard to find ANY hotel room in Barcelona, so the Catalonia Park Guell had to suffice.

The hotel just looks old and tired, with everything reminding me of the late 80’ies or early 90’ies. Definitely not my first choice of décor. The rooms look cheap and overused, definitely not cozy and inviting. Even though everything was clean, it just doesn’t feel nice. Internet connection (free) was slow and erratic. Breakfast was not included (it costs €13) and if you want to use the safety box, you will be charged 5€. No comment.

But the worst was the noise. The rooms are very poorly isolated and you can hear every step and conversation in the hallway, every car driving by in the street, and even the running water in the room next door!

It’s a shame actually, because the staff is very friendly and professional, and everything was smooth from check-in to checkout. Service is the only reason I rated this hotel 'poor' and not 'terrible'.

I probably wouldn’t have bothered writing a review at all, but at €180 for one night, I just feel this was a total rip off.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of the travel package to Spain. The hotel itself was fine – we had a great view of the hill and it was basic and clean; that plus free wifi was all we needed. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was fine – nothing special, but it was also a buffet so you can’t really expect too much anyways. The metro was close and it was a quick ride to the city (it was also about 7 to 10 euros for a cab ride back from Las Ramblas). The only issue we had was the noise -- the walls are very thin, but for the most part, everyone was pretty considerate on their noise level except the first night, which had to have been the last night of a school group.

Our favorite part of the entire hotel was the rooftop pool at the 6th floor. It was March and still cold (even though it was unseasonably warm, it was not warm enough), but I wanted to see the pool anyways. We got up there and were amazed on how nice it was (and shocking compared to our room). We ended up spending two hours relaxing with a glass of wine (and him – a cigar) and watching the sunset and the view. It was a perfect ending to our trip!

FYI – using the metro: When you arrive to the Vallcarca exit, go to the doors to the right and take the long escalator up. When you get to the top, look behind you and you will see a bridge. You need to head towards that, turn right onto it, and go along that bridge until you reach a small traffic circle. You will see a sign that says Mare de Deu del Coll pointing up and you will follow up that one more block up to the hotel. My husband and I made the mistake of going to the shorter set of stairs and went a long backwards way through the neighborhood when we arrived. It was not a fun walk!

Room Tip: Check out the pool - just for the view; Room 507 and 509 have a great view;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeautifulnRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank G b
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Catalonia Hotel Guell was awful. They put us in a room that was directly underneath construction that began at 8 AM. After the second day we asked if they could put us in a different room. The only thing they told us was that construction would only be 10-2 the next day as their solution. Well the next day they were pounding away at 8 AM again. When I complained to the front desk, he simply shrugged his shoulders and said "sorry".

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Not around the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crew614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

First of all we had to pay more money when we got there than the price we booked on line! They couldn’t give us a reason and because we couldn’t find another hotel we didn’t get a choice. Very noisy, not very clean especially the bathroom, horrible smell and you can’t get fresh air through those windows. Very disappointing, nothing around the area like they advertise. Had to walk to metro station and travel for half an hour at least to get to the centre. Breakfast bad! We got sick the first day after we ate and had a coffee in the hotel. Not recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrystalla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#346 of 519 in Barcelona
943 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#379 of 519 in Barcelona
498 reviews
Aparthotel Bertran
#317 of 519 in Barcelona
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#411 of 519 in Barcelona
272 reviews
Hotel Laumon
#300 of 519 in Barcelona
479 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#398 of 519 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Park Guell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Park Guell

Address: Passeig Mare de Deu del Coll 10, 08023 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Rubens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $50 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Park Guell 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catalonia Rubens enjoys a situation privileged with an excellent connection to the city centre by public transport. It's located near some of Barcelona's most prestigious medicals centres such as Vall d'Hebron and Delfos. Moreover, Clinica Quiron is located 900 metres from the hotel: five minutes by taxi and if you take the metro, green line from Vallcarca to Penitents, just one metro stop. You can also take a walk around the renowned Parc Guell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Park Guell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Park Guell Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Rubens
Catalonia Rubens Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing