We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and safe hotel in good location”
Review of Acta Antibes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acta Antibes
Ranked #112 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights from 10th June 2012. We chose this hotel after staying here five years ago - enjoying our stay and finding no faults with the hotel.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the Monumental underground stop and is located in what feels like a safe location - we felt perfectly safe walking around late in the evening. It seems to be a quiet residential area however is only one underground stop from the Sagrada Familia. On check-in we had to confirm that we had pre-paid for breakfast however I think this was more due to a fault by the booking agent rather than the hotel and there were no issues once we provided the print out we had of our reservation. We requested a double room however we were given a twin (room 506). Unfortunatley there were no doubles available for our first night however we were moved to a double on our second day. We left all of our belongings packed up in the room when we went out for the day and the hotel staff moved everything for us. (This also happened on our 1st stay 5 years ago and may be due to the Spanish word for twin being very similar to the English word 'double'). Our new room (518) was bigger and at the front of the hotel and so had a view of the street and skyline rather than a brick wall as per room 506. The rooms are very basic but comfortable and spacious with plenty of storage space and lighting. They do not include tea and coffee making facilities as specified on some of the descriptions we read on various booking sites. The toiletries provided are very basic but the hairdryer is good (rare in hotels usually!) and the shower is hot and with a powerful water supply.
Breakfast is continental with a selection of cheeses and meats, fruit salad, yoghurt, breads and pastries with jams and spreads. Also there are a few cereals, fruit juice and tea and coffee.
There are some restaurants and cafes near by and a useful shop 'David's' on the corner just near the Monumental train stop which sells drinks and snacks - handy when heading back to the hotel and in need of some crisps or a drink after a day out.

Overall this is a really god hotel for anyone wanting somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay for a short sight-seeing break in Barcelona. We would stay here again on future trips to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Specify a double room on booking to avoid confusion with a twin!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqui83Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your comments about quality, service, staff, the rooms in general and impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Regret the little incident of the first night with the twin bed, fortunately we could change the room the next day and give you a double bed.
If you find yourself planning your next stay, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest.

Kind regards,
Hotel Acta Antibes, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
There are newer reviews for Acta Antibes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 414 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in May. Many of the reviews were spot on. It is a five minute walk to the Monumental Metro stop. Just take it two stops to Passeig de Gracia, which is a hub for a large number of the lines. Basically you can be anywhere in about 15-20 mins. La Sagrada Familia was a 5-10 min. walk. The neighborhood is quiet, which I wanted so that I could sleep. The only drawback was at night there wasn't a ton of choices for food right by the hotel. Although, the front desk did give us a card of a restaurant (Vicbra Seria?)just a few blocks away. The card gave you a discount on the meal and the place was very nice and the food was excellent. Some reviews mentioned that the hardwood floors made for noisy neighbors, but we never had that problem. We also never had a problem with the cleaning people being noisy in the morning. Several times we slept in until 9am and we never heard them even though they were right down the hall. The room was very basic and plain, but the lighting made it surprisingly cozy. We were able to come back after a long day and relax with no problem. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. The only two drawbacks for us were the same ones several other people have mentioned. The shower set up was awkward. I am a pretty petite person and I found it difficult to maneuver in the shower as the shower head is in the middle of the tub, rather than at the end. Also, I know it seems silly, but there were no good English stations on the t.v. Some nights we just wanted to come back and veg for a bit, but luckily we brought books. Also, if you are staying here for several nights, the laundry service is a bit pricey. We found the following place to do laundry. It only took us about 15 mins to get there and we were in and out in an hour. Bugamatic Carrer de Sant Antoni Abat, 5. Overall I was extremely happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank starplum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acta Antibes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Many thanks for your comment so positive, thank you for mentioning our location and the different communications with the rest of the city, as it can be useful for next customer, our staff will appreciate your imprison about our hotel. We hope that you enjoy the restaurant that we recommend, and we will consider your comments about the shower for future improvements of the hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

King regards
Acta Antibes Hotel, Barcelona
Antibes@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Just as the reviews said, and it didn't disappoint over all. 3 of us staying 24 hours in Barcelona before our cruise. This boutique hotel has the following advantages:

1) 5 minute walk to the famous Sagrada Familia
2) the Reception staff were friendly and speaking English!!! (a bonus in Europe)
3) the Reception sells Hop On and Off bus tickets from two companies. We chose the City Tour since they have discounts for Seniors over 65 year-old.
4) we booked for 3 person room but we got a 2 bedroom, 4 bed room by luck.
5) Staff were sincere and told us what to avoid, and what are recommended. They guided us to a local bakery for breakfast - it was an excellent choice and just 1 block from the hotel.
6) the hotel located on a quiet local residential area. we felt safe.
7) being a 2-star hotel, they even have a fair sized safe for passports and other valuables...since there were a lot of pocket lifters on the street. provided a peace of mind.
8) they took care our luggage even after we checked out. so we could continue our sightseeing free handed.

Downside (things I'm not so crazy about):

1) there is only 1 very small lift in the hotel. during the morning check out time, it could be a long wait if you stay in the middle floors

2) shower area - there was no bathtub, nor a shower room per se. the water was everywhere in the bathroom. Not something we're used to. But for one night, we didn't care.

Just a FYI, the taxi fare from Airport to the hotel was 30 Euro; from hotel to the port was 24 Euro. I believe they charged for luggages (we had 3 big pieces), and airport/port surcharge. But I didn't know the breakdowns (language barrier).

We were happy afterall since it's situated in a convenient area. Worth trying!

Room Tip: We stayed at room 302. We had 2 bed rooms, 4 beds, can sleep four people. But try the highest floor...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMW232431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acta Antibes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few time to write your impression of our hotel, services, location, quality, staff and share your experience with other fellow travelers. Your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day. Referring to the bathroom, you were assigned a room for disabled adapted. These rooms have special features and are larger. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, we had no proof. Otherwise, we would changed room.We would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the city.

We would love to have you back as a guest.

Kind regards,
Acta Antibes Hotel, Barcelona
Antibes@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Loved the staff and the location. Great local eateries around especially the Pizza place Nogal next door for breakfast. We didn't eat there, preferred to have a substantial hot breakfast for the day and not continental.
Be prepared the rooms are really basic, nothing like Premier Inn! Bring your own toiletries, and no facilities for hot drinks. We bought our own water and snacks, but I really missed making a tea first and last thing at night.
My husband loved the communal computer with internet on the 2nd floor. I thought it was a holiday, but he squeezed some emails in!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneAdabale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acta Antibes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your last stay in the city of Barcelona. We appreciate your comments about our location, quality, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise. We will consider the option of having teas and coffees Service in the rooms. If you find yourself planning your next stay, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest.

Kind regards,
Acta Antibes Hotel, Barcelona
Antibes@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I do NOT understand the good reviews for this hotel. Our room was one step below a Motel 6. First, the hallways are tight and dark. The paint in the hall and the rooms made me feel like we were in an asylum; dull, drab and very aged. The room was the tiniest of all the 8 hotels we stayed in for 3 weeks in Spain. The bed has a sheet and a very old, thin bedspread; no blanket. The curtains were dusty and old and the sheers were dingy. My husband thought the furniture was okay, just your basic danish-style wood. The bathroom was tiny with shampoo supplied in a ketchup-style packet. You could hear every door slam and every conversation going on around you. We had a 4 night reservation but only stayed 1 night and then moved down the street to the St. Moritz. If you are only staying 1 night and need cheap and no-frills, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moreland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#174 of 513 in Barcelona
804 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Barcelona Centro
#126 of 513 in Barcelona
1,577 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#170 of 513 in Barcelona
1,280 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#200 of 513 in Barcelona
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acta Antibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acta Antibes

Address: C/ Diputacio, 394, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#104 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $84 - $1,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Acta Antibes 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acta Antibes Hotel is a 2 star hotel in Barcelona located very close to the Sagrada Familia and well-connected with public transport.It has 71 comfortable and spacious rooms that have a full equipped bathroom, TV with international channels, air conditioning, heating and free WIFI.The Hotel, of welcoming design, has private parking in the same building, and in addition a meeting and conference room with capacity of 12 people. It also offers a buffet breakfast at the best price-quality for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Acta Antibes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Antibes Hotel Barcelona
Acta Antibes Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing