We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms and unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Condes De Barcelona
Ranked #143 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I was very disappointed in this hotel - the worst I have stayed in in Barcelona. There seem to be 2 receptions - we went to the wrong one and then had to cross back over the road to a side where the staff were extremely unhelpful and the level of English quite low. They still have smoking floors which absolutely stink - you can smell them from the lift. Room dark and dingy and facing an inner atrium and bathroom dirty and in need to refurbishment

Only stay here if everywhere else is full

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeekendGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina R, Director Comercial at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Condes de Barcelona for your stay in our city.

We are very sorry to hear your expectations were not fullfilled during your stay at our property.

We take good note of your comments in order to improve service and facilities and prevent situations like the one you describe be repeated.

Hotel Condes de Barcelona General Manager, Albert Labastida, is at your disposal at alabastida@condesdebarcelona.com to provide a private answer.

Looking forward to having another opportunity to demonstrate you the high standard of our services and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 740 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Hotel is located in the middle of very chic shopping avenue Passeig de Gracia. I stayed 3 nights in this trendy design hotel, large room overlooking big interior gardens with a balcony with 2 chairs and table, very good bedding with comfortable pillows, nice bathroom with 2 sinks and a large shower stall.
I was surpised by the big choice of the breakfast buffet, excellent coffee, good quality chesses and cold cuts, lare choice of fruit, joghurts, pastries.
Staff was mainly very nice, all very well managed by very professioanal and most friendly Albert Labastida

Room Tip: room 467, quiet room with balcony overlooking large interior gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina R, Director Comercial at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

We would like to thank and for letting us know about your experience with us.

We are pleased to learn you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel Condes de Barcelona in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here last year in a Suite, we had a top floor with a lovely Balcony. The position of Hotel is great. We had booked a suite but did not get exactly what was showed on Photo on website, anyway only there 4 days so didn't complain. The room had the Pod Coffee machine and was given 3 pods in room and I asked for more on 2nd day and charged £1.50 each pod, are we only to have 3 coffees a day! No more. The Staff have to go and sign the Pods from Reception. I really should have Complained but we didn't, lesson learned.
We didn't realise we were being charged untill leaving.

The room had an extremely shaggy circle rug and I decided to shake it out in the Balcony, used cotton buds and other disgusting things came out which was not ours. We left rug in Balcony.

The shower every time we used it flooded, we complained (last straw etc) they told us there was nothing they could do about it but give extra towels. They told us it was the design and build of all the showers and that was that no money returned for hassle. We had to lay 2-4 towels down every time we showered. We paid over £1200 pounds for 4 days and were expecting Quality! We did not get this, a small room with extra bed put in and dirty rug and faulty shower, not including being ripped of for Coffee Pods. And I forgot to say the pool doesn't get heated untill Spring so you can't use pool unless you go in Spring or Summer. We went in April and it was Frozen. My Advice don't go here.

Room Tip: Dont go here but if you are pick Top floor with Balcony and with view of La Eixample.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina R, Director Comercial at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Condes de Barcelona for your stay in our city.

We are very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations due to the series of unfortunate incidents your encountered during your stay with us.

We take good note of your comments in order to improve service and facilities and prevent situations like the one you describe be repeated.

Hotel Condes de Barcelona General Manager, Albert Labastida, is at your disposal at alabastida@condesdebarcelona.com to provide a private answer and explanation.

Looking forward to having another opportunity to demonstrate you the high standard of our services and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I was invited to a business meeting/conference held in this hotel by our partners. The hotel is relatively expensive (I payed 140E per night) but seems reasonable for this price.
The position on the Passeig de Gracia on a walking distance from the famous Gaudi's Casas and the Sagrada Familia, also the La Rambla boulevard - almost ideal.
Rooms are very wide and comfortable, breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dombrik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina R, Director Comercial at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

We would like to thank and for letting us know about your experience with us.

We are pleased to learn you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel Condes de Barcelona in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel between Xmas and New year 2011 when the pricing was relatively high. We arrived full of expectations because of the excellent reputation, the excellent location right on the Passeig de Gracia in the Eixample and because of the royal associations of the hotel.

Our initial reaction was not good at all. The hotel tunred out to be in two buildings on either side of a cross street of the Passeig de Gracia. We went to the wrong one of course and after checking in were offered no assistance to transfer to the other building. Initially the room was 322, surpisingly large for the location but very damaged........the sheers had tears in them, the painting was missing from the wall with the hooks left exposed, the wall mounted TV had been replaced with a deck mounted model and the holes in the wall and brackets just left there, the bathroom had cracked floor tiles and dirty brown stains in the ceiling over the shower. Worst of all it appeared that someone had opened a bottle of cava or something similar and sprayed the wall behind the bed, there were stains running down the wall that the cleaning staff had not noticed and cleaned up. Either someone had recently trashed this room or the maintenance of the hotel is really not up to scratch. I do have photos of all of these points.

The morning after check in we complained about the condition of the room and without question were offered an alternative - room 422 - which was generally in much better condition and we were quite happy in this room. Although we were offered an alternative without any fuss both the receptionist and the person who showed us the alternative feined total surprise that we could be unhappy with anything to do with the room despite its very obvious problems. Which raises another point, in contrast to several other hotels where we have stayed in close proximity to this the reception and door staff (on the odd occasion that there was door staff!) were very aloof and superior. Only the bar staff were friendly.

So it turns out that the "classic" (read boring late 90s design, not traditional like the style of the exterior of the building nor designerly like many Barcelona hotels) rooms are on one side of the street and the newer modern rooms are on the other side of the street and 21 Euros a night extra. And whilst both buildings have interesting modernist exteriors very little of anything remains in the interiors apart from the entrance hall and stairway in one of the buildings.

So overall after the initial change of rooms the room was realtively large, boring in design but adequately comfortable. It would surprise me if these "classic" rooms are not completely made over before long becuase they just don't compete with so many of the hotel rooms in the vicinity or even the ones in the same hotel across the road.

The public areas of the hotel and the exterior of both buildings are interesting and really quite lovely.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a Barcelona design experience, don;t book the "classic" rooms but be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Design123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina R, Director Comercial at Condes De Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Condes de Barcelona for your stay in our city.

We are very sorry to hear we did not fullfil all your expectations.

Hotel Condes de Barcelona General Manager, Albert Labastida, is at your disposal at alabastida@condesdebarcelona.com to provide a private answer and explanation of our forthcoming projects to improve our facilities.

Looking forward to having another opportunity to demonstrate you the high standard of our services and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#34 of 515 in Barcelona
1,487 reviews
Eixample
Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
1,947 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#23 of 515 in Barcelona
432 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#48 of 515 in Barcelona
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condes De Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condes De Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia, 73, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#76 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $170 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Condes De Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CONDES DE BARCELONA 4* is ideally located in a magnificent corner on Paseo de Gracia, in the heart of modernist Barcelona, ​​opposite to the famous building "La Pedrera" of Gaudi, a few minutes from Plaza Catalunya and the historic city center. The hotel is housed in a former esplendid 19th century building, enlarged and renovated to create a modern Hotel with where art and uniqueness of the past cohexist with the most modern facilities. The accommodation has a range of 126 rooms of very contemporary style, bright and spacious to provide maximum comfort. Emblematic and socially dynamic, the hotel is a prestigious gastronomic reference, where our guest would enjoy the cuisine of the Basque chef Martin Berasategui at LOIDI RESTAURANT, modern and informal bistro. The hotel offers a wide range of function rooms for all kind of meeting and Events, outdoor pool and ALAIRE TERRACE BAR , one of the trendiest places in the city with spectacular views for casual outdoor dining or take a luxurious evening drink with good background music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Condes De Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condes De Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Condes De Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Condes De Hotel
Hotel Condes De Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing