We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,857)
Filter reviews
2,857 results
Traveller rating
1,214
955
391
179
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,214
955
391
179
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station rooftop pool bull ring executive floor business trip business hotel excellent location reception staff excellent breakfast la rambla fountain bullring stops aerobus taxis euros ramblas
Filter
Updating list...
545 - 550 of 2,857 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016

First time in Barcelona and was drawn to this hotel as it was a little way out from the center. Was the right call. Hotel was spotless and the service was excellent. When there was a short delay in the room being ready beyond the check in time I was given a free drink and the staff spoke excellent English. The room was well appointed and comfortable (though the aircon was touch noisy) and there was a wonderful view of the fountains. Showers were excellent and the power shower was just that. Did not use the gym but the roof top bar offered wonderful views but there was always a breeze to take the edge off. Was early in the season so the pool was icy cold but was not a problem.

Great transport links with a tube station literally being outside the door and the airport shuttle stops there as well; first stop from the airport as well. Food in the hotel was excellent and good value for money. Drinks were reasonable for a 4* hotel though the spirit based drinks were more expensive.

Lots of restaurants nearby and also a shopping center with some high end shops. Hotel was quiet in the evening.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to have that little bit of extra comfort for not that much more money.

Room tip: sixth floor facing the plaza catalunya so you can see the fountains
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear Craig, thank you for your positive comments about the location of the hotel and the staff. We do our best to provide a memorable experience to everyone that choose us as his home in Barcelona. I am glad to read that in your case we fulfilled the expectations.
Kind regards, Lourdes Sitjá, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

It seems going to have drinks on hotel rooftops is very popular these days in BCN.. And you can see why... Drinks are good and the view is breath taking! Avoid it during windy days or you'll be flying out since there is no true protection from wind! Worth the try.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CateVENI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear Cate, Thank you for your comments about the experience at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza. I hope you had a memorable stay with us and I look forward to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lourdes Sitjá, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This hotel feels more like a 5* than a 4*. Highly recommended. With an amazing location in the heart of Barcelona and just a short cab ride to the beach, the hotel won't disappoint. The rooftop pool/bar is pretty special, with amazing views of the city.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank EatSleep365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear guest, greetings from Catalonia Barcelona Plaza and thank you for your reply about the stay with us. As General Manager I feel honoured to read comments as yours. Also, we are very glad to hear that you liked our new pool area and the views from the rooftop.
I look forward to welcoming you again if you visit Barcelona in the future. Best wishes, Lourdes Sitjá, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This was the best holiday ever ! We started out at Catalonia Plaza to be near The "Magic Fountain" for the amazing light show. The reception helped us out and gave us an amazing room with city views and breakfast included. We reserved a triple but they seemed to have kindly upgraded us to a suite!

We set off the following night for Ibiza via Ferry at the port. Was very convenient after breakfast to go see Gaudi church and Joan Miro park is adjacent to hotel.

The best things : Location , Cleanliness, Staff ( Excellent)
Breakfast great, view amazing , rooftop pool amazing!!!

4 stars deserved!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Cecilia-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Cecilia, thank you for your positive comments about the location of the hotel and the staff. We do our best to provide a memorable experience to everyone that choose us as his home in Barcelona. I am glad to read that in your case we fulfilled the expectations and that you enjoyed the service we provided. I look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind regards, Lourdes Sitjá, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I took my boyfriend here for a surprise trip last week and we loved it. The room was basic but had everything we needed. The rooftop pool and sunbathing area really made it for us. The bar staff were quite slow, but I need to mention the bar tender called Miguel! He went out of his way and made a real big fuss out of us. The hotel is in a perfect location and we would return back to this hotel again but would probably upgrade our room.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaKerwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Donna, I would like to thank you for your description of your experience at the Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel. I am glad to read comments as yours because it helps us to continue improving our job to offer memorable experiences to all our upcoming guests.
I look forward to welcoming you again if you visit Barcelona in the future.
Best regards, Lourdes Sitjá, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews