We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
577
514
200
63
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
514
200
63
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diagonal metro station recommend this hotel friendly hotel within walking distance single room small pool las ramblas casa batllo two blocks minute walk quiet room tapas hotel bar stayed here for nights hotel staff central location quiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

I've stayed from 28th July till 2nd August. The reception staff and all of them there at Hotel Balmes are really very friendly and professional. Big thumbs up to everyone. I love the chocolates that you leave in my room everyday after you cleaned.
The hotel is actually 3 min. walk to the metro station Provenca which serves 3 lines. If you love walking this hotel is walking distance to most of the landmarks, you can actually google them :).
My only complain is you can literally hear everything in the hallway and the rooms next to your room. Also if you are booking a single room be ready that it's really small but bathroom is amazingly big though.
I loved my stay! Hope to stay here again next time I visit Barcelona..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mariabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your summary relative to your experience with Balmes Hotel.
We enjoy a fabulous location, here at Balmes Hotel - an oasis in the heart of Barcelona’s shopping district with exclusive services.

We are so pleased to read that you were able to take full advantage of the local attractions, and that you were satisfied with the excellent standard of service our team provide.

We regret to read of the noise disturbance you had experienced during your stay. We would have been more than happy to find an alternative and more quiet room, best suited to your needs, at Reception.
We all hope we will have the opportunity to see you, again, in the near future.
Many thanks once again,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Excellent location, walking distance to many attractions, shopping, restaurants, transportation in a very safe neighborhood. Friendly staff always willing to help. Beautiful rooms with luxurious bedding and toiletries. Attention to details and decor.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for communicating your positive opinions, relative to your experience at Balmes Hotel.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our 4* newly renovated hotel in Barcelona with swimming pool and private garden.

It is great to read of your satisfaction for our rooms and amenities, in general, and that you managed to make the most of our convenient location.

Our attentive team members are always on hand to assist, wherever necessary.
I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, again!
Best regards,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We spent a week here and had a lovely time. The staff were all so kind and helpful and the breakfast buffet really great. The swimming pool is small but still very pleasant in a quiet courtyard. The hotel is ideally located for local attractions and near the metro. Really good value for money and a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back overlooking the pool. Nice and quiet!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieheadlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Balmes Hotel,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our 4* star hotel.
Your satisfaction is our team's ultimate reward, they will be thrilled to hear your kind remarks.
Thank you for complimenting our pool area, a peaceful retreat in the heart of the city.
We are flattered that you found our location near Rambla Catalunya and Gaudí’s La Pedrera to be ideal.
We are glad you highly rated your room view and tranquility.
We all look forward to seeing you in the future. Many thanks,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

All we can say is : very good service. Very good location , excellent service from the staff. We will come back again sometime. But the bar closes way to early. (22.00) that is the only negative thing i have to say

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Torgeir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Balmes Hotel,
We are pleased you had a good experience at our 4* newly renovated hotel.
Our team will be rewarded by your kind words about the excellent service.
We appreciate your high rating for room comfort and cleanliness.
Thank you for letting us know you will return on another visit to Paris.
Our pool bar is open until 11pm, should you wish to take a nightcap there.
All of the team look forward to seeing you in the future. My very best wishes,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel is ok kind of, location is not bad but not a walking distance from attractions. Rooms are quite small and breakfast is very basic. I would explore another hotel if I go again to Barcelona. It has 2 elevators, one was down during my entire 3 days stay. Staff are quite helpful with good English communication

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Firas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback.
It is regrettable you weren't totally satisfied with our hotel. We want to state that our building is located in the Barcelona’s central Eixample neighborhood, just steps away from the Passeig de Gràcia, the legendary Rambla Catalunya, Avinguda Diagonal and Eixample. Casa Batllo, La Pedrera and Casa Amatller are all nearby. Your remarks have been noted. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We want to point out that we are fixing the elevator. Moreover, we offer larger rooms. Feel free to specify your preference for your next booking. Allow us to remind that we serve a breakfast buffet and à-la-carte with eggs, sausages, a variety of Catalan dishes. Gluten-free and vegan products are also available. It's a pity it didn't suit you. Your compliment in respect to our multilingual team is appreciated.
We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again. Yours sincerely,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews