We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
577
514
200
63
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
514
200
63
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diagonal metro station recommend this hotel friendly hotel within walking distance single room small pool las ramblas casa batllo two blocks minute walk quiet room tapas hotel bar stayed here for nights hotel staff central location quiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

All we can say is : very good service. Very good location , excellent service from the staff. We will come back again sometime. But the bar closes way to early. (22.00) that is the only negative thing i have to say

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Torgeir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Balmes Hotel,
We are pleased you had a good experience at our 4* newly renovated hotel.
Our team will be rewarded by your kind words about the excellent service.
We appreciate your high rating for room comfort and cleanliness.
Thank you for letting us know you will return on another visit to Paris.
Our pool bar is open until 11pm, should you wish to take a nightcap there.
All of the team look forward to seeing you in the future. My very best wishes,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel is ok kind of, location is not bad but not a walking distance from attractions. Rooms are quite small and breakfast is very basic. I would explore another hotel if I go again to Barcelona. It has 2 elevators, one was down during my entire 3 days stay. Staff are quite helpful with good English communication

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Firas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback.
It is regrettable you weren't totally satisfied with our hotel. We want to state that our building is located in the Barcelona’s central Eixample neighborhood, just steps away from the Passeig de Gràcia, the legendary Rambla Catalunya, Avinguda Diagonal and Eixample. Casa Batllo, La Pedrera and Casa Amatller are all nearby. Your remarks have been noted. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We want to point out that we are fixing the elevator. Moreover, we offer larger rooms. Feel free to specify your preference for your next booking. Allow us to remind that we serve a breakfast buffet and à-la-carte with eggs, sausages, a variety of Catalan dishes. Gluten-free and vegan products are also available. It's a pity it didn't suit you. Your compliment in respect to our multilingual team is appreciated.
We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again. Yours sincerely,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay and were pleasantly surprised how extra large the room was with a gorgeous high ceiling, kitchen, and nice sitting areas. The room was a bit noisy and sounded as if it was thundering outside. I think it came from a combination of the air conditioner and street.

The pool and pool area was very nice but could use longer pool hours instead of 8a to 8p. The staff was very pleasant and always wanted to help and serve. We liked the location and it was easy to get there and around by rail.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Gary,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Balmes Hotel,
We are pleased you had a lovely experience at our 4* newly renovated hotel.
We are happy to hear that the room size, design, furnishings and kitchen suited you.
The entire hotel and all the rooms have recently been renovated, along with good, working windows to ensure tranquility in the rooms. Our guests' comfort is of the utmost importance to us, and we would have been more than happy to try and find a solution, should you have brought this to our attention.
Regarding the AC, the system does not usually emit any noise. Should you experience any issues you can contact our front of house team.
Our pool opening hours are set from 8am to 8pm for security reasons to ensure the highest level of safety for our guests.
We appreciate your compliment about our ideal location in Eixample near Avinguda Diagonal.
I'll be sure to pass on your positive remarks about the attentive service to the whole team.
I hope that we may be able to see you again in the future. Best wishes,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Beautifully designed rooms with quality bathroom products and power showers. However, the rooms are small and face internal parapet so no view. The pool is quite tiny so cant really swim either. Good stay on business trips.

Room Tip: higher floor facing outside and away from the lift
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishwari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Directeur général at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Balmes Hotel.
We gratefully welcome our guests to our 4* newly renovated hotel in Barcelona.

It is delightful to read of your appreciation for the decor of the rooms and the bathroom amenities.

Here at Balmes Hotel we offer comfortable rooms with a range of tailored options, from Double rooms to luxurious Apartments. Guests are ensured the perfect stay for either business or pleasure.

Please note that our room views are typically facing either the street or the large backyard, Barcelonian patio de manzana. We are sorry to read that room was not entirely to your satisfaction. Perhaps we may assist in finding a room more suited to your requirements on your next visit?
We all very much hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you, again. My best wishes,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This hotel is only a 7 minute metro ride, and a 2 minute walk or 2 blocks towards the town then turn right & on left, its a fairly modern 3 star, clean, i stayed in a single room but it was big enough for a double, fairly large bathroom, with complimentary soaps slippers & bath robe, swimming pool, & gym, breakfast was continental buffet cold, but the 2nd morning i was offered a hot alternative, not sure if this was normal. i do not think they had a dining room but not a problem as there are plenty within 2 blocks or in the town 4 to 5 blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Balmes Hotel,
We are glad you had a wonderful experience at our 4* newly renovated hotel.
Thank you for your positive feedback about our convenient location, in the iconic Eixample district near Gaudi's Casa Batlló with all of Barcelona's best attractions easily accessible on foot or by public transport.
It's kind of you to compliment the service and hotel cleanliness.
We appreciate your kind remarks about your room spaciousness, your large bathroom and room amenities.
Thanks for mentioning our tranquil pool set in an interior garden.
For breakfast we offer a buffet and à-la-carte option with eggs, sausages and a variety of Catalan dishes. Also available are gluten-free and vegan products. We're glad to hear you enjoyed it.
We have two gourmet options available at our hotel, Bar Bal and Balmes Restaurant. We hope you'll have a chance to try them another time!
The entire team hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
With best wishes,
María Rosa Castillo, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews