We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Ranked #324 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We wanted to stay on the Ramblas to be near the centre of the city knowing that it had Gaudis work there and to basically have lots of Sangria and see the Sagrada { unfinished cathedral.} My agent didnt tell me that we were going to this" out of town" horrible hotel . I found out when the taxi drove us there after our 4mths of travel. We were short of money but not worried because breakfast was included and we had paid for a city tour before we left home. Now we are very fit walkers but we are oldies and the hilly walk to the Ramblas and Guell Park in 38 degrees nearly killed us. Our city tour didnt turn up and we waited for 2 mornings. The receptionist didnt want to help . It was though she didnt like Australians. When it was time to leave they wouldnt give us a late checkout and we werent going to fly out till 6pm a long trip Barcelona-London- sydney. As it was so hot i went into the toilets to wash myself before the trip home and the receptionist followed me in. I dont normally be critical of staff because they are a plentiful commodity and they move on but this experience ruined our only visit to Barcelona. We had a view of rooftops and the bathroom was narrow. I wouldnt advise people to go here unless you love a long walk to see something worthwhile.

Room Tip: One with a view
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hardiman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

147 - 151 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

For the first time, me and my family (the father, mother, two teens, and one kid) went to Europe. It was an excellent trip, we decided to go to Barcelona and got an excellent deal for this hotel as "Catalonia Suite Hotel", but apparently, it's name has changed recently to "Catalonia Barcelona 505".
The reception were nice and talked very good English, the rooms were very big and clean, breakfast wasn't Catalan or Spanish, but international, fresh and yummy, and the metro station was a five minute walk.
The hotel is really good and it's near a super market which we bough bread and cheese from it and made sandwiches for dinner.
We took the Barcelona Bus Turistic ( http://www.barcelonabusturistic.cat ) and it was a very good decision, we walked about 20 min.s to the nearest tourist bus station and went to see the best of Barcelona including Sagrada Familia, Montjuic area, Tibidabo, and the Barcelonetta area while we took the metro to Placa Espanya at night (magic fountain show) and Placa Catalunya and we walked about an hour to Parc Guell.
I really enjoyed my trip and sleep quality was the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reviewyoureview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel was booked through KavalieroViajes travel agency. It was an average 4* hotel with spacious rooms, clean enough. Comfortable beds and pillows. Stayed in a room on 7th floor (max 8) noise level from the street is kept low through the double glazing. The room has air conditioning mini fridge and TV. The bathroom also spacious but smelly due to lack of good ventilation. Breakfast average continental but plenty. 5minutes walk to underground metro stop, 10 minutes away from plaza Catalunya (start of LaRamplas).
Buy the T10 ticket to use in Metro and Bus ( u can use it numerous times within 1 hour, costs 8.25E)
The tourist bus is also an economic solution costs 20E for 1 day or 25E for two days. It will take you everywhere.
If you're planning to visit all the museums buy the museum card costs 25E and allows you to enter several museums including Picasso and La Pedrera in different case expect to pay around 10E and 14E for each, as u can see just the entrance to these two costs around 25E, so buying this museum pass is a good value for money.
Entance to Miro museum costs 8E while Dali museum in Figueres 9E p/p
Expect to wait in ques at least 15min in all main atractions (Casa Batlo-La Pedrera-Picasso) while at SagradaFamilia it will take ages waiting in line. Better stay out and take photos the exterior.
Make sure you see the water fountains show at Plaza Espanya (the show I believe starts 9.30 to 10.30 Thursday and Friday)
Take care of your belongings at all time. Communication with the locals is difficult (use hand language and gestures).
When ordering food also check the drinks prices. Food may cost 12E p/p but a jar of sangria 19E (serves 4), large glass of draught beer 15E, 4 pieces of bread 8E its a rip-off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window on the street (Muntanare). Ive heard there are couple of rooms 1st floor...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scandic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is the first time I am held as a hostage in a hotel.
We were there as a football team participating in Barcelona Cup and I am one of the coaches. We stayed there 7 days. On the 4th day a wardrobe door fell from the wardrobe (a sliding piece of glass with a frame is the door) and hit one of the kids on the head. Thank god the boy was not hurt badly. The door ,as it was only glass, was teared into pieces. The bellboy came to the room after we were notified and we noticed that the wheel on the bottom of the door was faulty so as the door slided it went off the rail and fell down. The bellboy then apologised and gave instructions to the reception to change the room, something that didn't happen as the hotel was fully booked. The boys parents wanted to sue the hotel after this incident, but since they apologised we convinced them not to proceed.
On our check out day (after three days) we asked for a room for our luggage and were given one ,as we had to check out at 11 o clock but the bus would come on 4 o clock in the afternoon.
At 3 o clock the " joke of a manager" of the hotel came with an invoice of €215 as the cost for the broken door and demanded to pay!!! For three days we were told nothing, and one hour before leaving the hotel with our luggages locked in a room we had to pay to go!!!
After we refused to pay, as we explained the situation and that the hotel should apologise and that somebody could have been hurt badly from this incident, the "joke of a manager" of the hotel insisted that the door was broken from the boys. Actually the boys that was hurt parents got furious and the "joke of a manager" called the police who arrived without uniforms (4 of them) but with guns on their waist. In some stage the "joke of a manager" asked us to pay half the price to end the argumet (how cheap can this be as he insisted that the cost was €215). When the police arrived they were just looking and not intervening, and then we asked them if they were the police and if they were on duty. They replied yes to both questions. Then we asked them why they were there and replied that they came for coffee!!! Therefore we told them that the "joke of a manager" would not give us our luggage to go and we were held hostages and asked them to take action. One of them showed his gun and told us "pay". The bus was already waiting for 20 minutes and we could lose our flight. 64 people left on the decision of the so-called manager and the so-called police if they were to leave us go to the airport.
The most ridiculous part of the story is that we had 34 rooms booked for 7 nights and the least a chain of hotels like Catalonia Hotels is to be able to cover a minor damage even if it was made from the guests which in our case was a faulty door with a danger of a really bad accident.
What happened then is that we paid the €215 because we would lose the flight.
We reported the incident in the police at the airport and will proceed with legal actions from our country against this "joke of a manager" and the "joke of policemen" whom we have their faces in camera and also Catalonia Hotels.
Also we will report the " joke of a manager" to the higher hierarchy of the Catalonia Hotels Chain as he is a disgrace to their brand.

Now apart from the above incident.
-Location far away from centre
-Bar without bartender most of the time and some times they wouldn't have change and therefore would not give any drinks unless you didn't want change.
-Restaurant service a total disaster. Could wait for more than 20 minutes to replenish dishes in buffet and also plates. The same with breakfast as to replenish cheese or ham could take ages. Food though was tasty.
-Reception friendly and helpfull and could speak english.
-Manager a total joke!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sakiscyp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitedireccion, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Customer,

As I comment on your stay at our hotel was a pleasure for us have the teams of your football academy housed with us.
During your stay you and your team congratulate the hotel staff and myself at the hotel, its services and facilities. You gave congratulations for the food, the attention of the reception and cleaning.
However, it seems that all this changed when we inform you that you would have to pay for damage caused by some players in one room.
You said we're going to regret collect damages. I guess you were referring to this.
Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The worst hotel I have ever been!!!! Apart from being clean, there is nothing good about it. The service at the bar is bad, if you want to order something the front reception must call someone from the kitchen downstairs to come and serve the people and then go downstairs again. At the restaurant, the food was OK but if you are unlucky and its finished (especially when there is a group staying in the hotel), you must wait at least 15-20 minutes for food to come. The worst of all is that NOBODY of the people working there smiles!!!!! (Except a girl named Nuria if I remember good). Do I want to stay at a hotel and everyday see people who work there that seem to be going to a funeral??? Never Again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pambos2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.9 km away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#316 of 513 in Barcelona
311 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#219 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
0.7 km away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#342 of 513 in Barcelona
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
0.2 km away
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
#323 of 513 in Barcelona
471 reviews
4.2 km away
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#235 of 513 in Barcelona
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505

Address: Calle Muntaner 505, 08022 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#170 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#188 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $102 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Suite hotel was built in 1986 and was renovated in 2002. The hotel offers its guests a peaceful and calm atmosphere. It is located in upper Barcelona, near Guell Park, the Science Museum and prestigious medical centres such as Clinica Teknon, Clinica Sant Jordi, Dexeus and Barraquer. The hotel has 4 rooms at our clients' disposal for any kind of meeting, conference or banquet, as well as a restaurant and parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Suite Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing