We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merely Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Ranked #192 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Greenwood Grove
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Merely Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights when I came for a trade show and fortunately, as I was here for business, didn't stay in the room or hotel very much.

I actually made a booking at Pulitzer Hotel, which is the sister hotel of Regina, and literally next door. But he Pulitzer was full, so they booked me a room at the Regina instead.

The best things I would say is the fantastic location of the hotel, which is a short walk to Ramblas or Paseo de Gracia, with great shopping. The other good things are the reasonable rate of the hotel and the impressive lobby, which feels like a grand old hotel.

However, once you pass the lobby and go towards the rooms, you come to a tiny lift (only one lift!) so be prepared to wait and if there are 2 of you with luggage, its a tight squeeze.

Then the rooms ... you start to feel the age and tiredness of the rooms when you step in. Room size is also on the small side.

Opt for rooms in the front, at least you'll have a window. My room was at the back and there was a tiny window in the corner, facing a brick wall. Can be depressing if you don't walk out of the hotel to look at the sky.

If you need a drink, its better to walk next door to the Bar at the Pulitzer, which seems more civilized and lively.

Personally, I wouldn't come back to stay here as there are so many other great choices in Barcelona. For a similar location and type of hotel, I would probably opt for Pulitzer or Jazz Hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dttj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    521
    205
    66
    17
See reviews for
383
463
60
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I would say this hotel would fit the bill for couples of smaller groups of travelers looking for something a little more upscale, clean, and serviceable without any of the high priced hotel frills. It's a hotel that is good at a lot of things but not great at anything. Good front desk staff, Nice (but very small) room, Good (not great) location which was put a handful of things in walking distance and for everything else, the metro was a short walk away. From what we found, we thought it was probably fair value for the price ( we paid 100 euros a night) and ideal for couples of smaller groups who want a nice, clean hotel, in a quieter area of the city.

Room Tip: They have two higher end rooms with great outdoor space and views, I would say for the extra 100 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The best thing about the hotel is the great location; only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and metro lines. You can walk easily to La Rambla and Gothic quarter as well as many shops and cafes/restaurants. The reception staff was friendly and kind, while the rooms are clean and spacious. The lobby is very nice and includes lift as you walk straight in the hotel. Also, the bathroom and shower facility especially in rooms were excellent. The bed was comfortable and there is enough space in wardrobes which also include a safe. It was also a nice gesture to have a set of arty black and white postcards from Barcelona sights. In addition we asked when booking for a quiet room and was indeed very quiet taking in mind the busy location of the hotel. There were no coffee/tea making facilities and as with most hotels, breakfast rate is expensive. Overall though, we had a nice stay at Regina as our aim was to enjoy central Barcelona within minutes and we would definitely return to this hotel. Recommended for Barcelona trips.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christakis1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I normally stay in the Pulitzer hotel next door which is a sister hotel and represents far better value for money than Regina which is really showing its age. Locataion is great for either business or tourists so that is a major plus but the regina is not as good value as the Pulitzer. Rooms and public spaces are definitely very tired and room service menu is very limited (no restaurant) - breakfast was decent but due to a conference in town at the time the cost for my room was prohibitively expensive

Room Tip: Only accept a room facing the street as rear facing rooms have blocked outlooks - I have a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunesdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#79 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#176 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#59 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#151 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#127 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Barcelona

Property: Hotel Regina Barcelona
Address: C/ Bergara, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $128 - $349
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical 4 stars hotel of Barcelona, since 1917, perfectly situated in the very center of the city (Catalunya Square and Las Ramblas at 100 meters). The hotel has been entirely refurbished in 2016 withe noble materials and design furniture, respecting its story and introducing all the modern services expected. Hotel Regina has diferent types of room from Standards to Family rooms up to 4 people. Large breakfast room with intercontinental buffet. Free high speed wifi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Regina Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing