We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay from the beginning till the end. Very kind people and nice room. Next time in Barcelona it will be Alma again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    272
    64
    14
    13
See reviews for
278
1,003
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We are just back from Barcelona where we had a family meeting and loads of fun. Since over 20 years we go at least once a year to this vibrant and stimulating city, but we never found a "preferred hotel", so we tried a lot of "upper-bracket" lodgings. Palace, Meridien, Omm, Grand Florida, Arts, Abac to just cite a few. The only one which came close to the Alma was Abac, a much smaller charming newcomer with a fabulous restaurant, but without the location. The Alma is right spot on where you want to be based (Mallorca and Passeig de Gracia).
Very nice rooms and bathrooms, comfortable bedding, good tech equipment like reliable and free wi-fi (when will luxury hotels finally understand that a free wi-fi is part of a modern hotels basic equpment???, look at Alma as an example please), spectacular and pleasing modern design, which works and "cool" foyer, restaurant, bar, terrace et al.
But what puts this hotel in a different category is it's employees. A smile on their lips at all times, really helpful, eager to please and competent. Particular mention for the ladies and gentlemen of the reception staff who function as hosts, concierges and friends in the same time and really find the right balance between friendliness and efficiency. There are a lot of "design hotels" in Barcelona which exude hipness and a cool attitude, but the coolness also comes with a cool reception towards their guests and a lack of hospitality which by experience permeates the entire hotel and restaurant industry in Barcelona.
Thank you for changing this and be sure that next time we are in Barcelona we shall come back to our new favorite hotel.
Let me mention as well that during our stay the hotel was fully booked and that at no time this has diminished the quality of the service or the helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: even standard rooms are great, go the little extra for an executive room(more space, allthough even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mipdantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My Husband and I stayed here on the 25th March for three nights. We came here on business,and it was also our first time to Barcelona.
The hotel is small and intimate and seems to attract business type people. I think children are welcome,but it is really an adult type retreat.

It's very modern and chic and the room was really trendy with little mod con's (suite),we opted for finger print entry-so no need to worry about losing your room key.
The room had the best bed Ive ever ever slept in,the huge bed had two seperate duvets so my husband and I did not fight over a duvet all night. I want that bed!
Our room was divided in two by a room divider which has an integrated wardrobe and drawers,a TV either side for the bedroom area and living area,and also a mini bar.
Bathroom was large with twin sinks,shower cubicle and bath tub,with a seperate wc.
Bvlgari bath/shower products and also a hairdryer.

Staff from the moment we got out of the taxi were excellent,very polite and spoke great English.
Truly five star staff.
We would definately stay here again and would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is fairly new,write down the address clearly so you can show it to taxi driver's as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Alma was our base for 3 days and 2 nights and the first time we've not stayed at Hotel Arts in the City. Its location is great and the whole place very high quality, clean and cool. The staff are helpful and the ambiance is terrific. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Truly fantastic from start to finish. Staff were welcoming, kind and patient throughout our stay - particularly the front desk, doormen / bellmen and housekeeping. I travel a lot and have never been made to feel more welcome in any hotel. The staff at the front desk knew our names, always went the extra mile to be helpful and made wonderful recommendations for restaurants and great activities for children.

The hotel room was quiet (we were on the garden side), large (very) and clean. The hotel has a subdued, calming style and feel to it. I found this quite enjoyable. I really liked the fingerprint key system which worked perfectly and eliminated the concerns related to losing keys or demagnetization. The breakfast was good (best fresh squeezed orange juice we'ver ever had), dinner was light and tasty and the free mini-bar was a nice plus. In addition, the location is fantastic and we were able to walk almost everywhere. My only constructive comment would be to program the in-room heating to enable guests more flexibility to make the room cooler.

Over all, I would absolutely positively recommend this hotel and will happily stay at the Alma for our next visit. Five well deserved stars!

Room Tip: I suspect that all are good - and can't lose whatever you might get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEME8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
213 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,276 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $333 - $646
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing