We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,731)
Filter reviews
1,731 results
Traveller rating
925
594
140
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
594
140
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasbeautiful hotelside streetrooftop barsant pauliceu metro stationdeluxe roomperfect locationplunge poolmini barla boqueriagothic quartersmall pooltop floorrooms are moderntapasstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,731 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Many hotels near La Ramblas are rather soulless. Hotel Espagna is an exception. It combines great interior design with comfort and first class staff. I took a party of 13 to the hotel and even though we were a large group ( and a bit noisy) the staff in the bar, restaurant and front desk were brilliant.

The hotel was built in 1900 and completely and sympathetically renovated about 8 years ago in a modern art nouveau style. Full marks to the designer for creating public spaces that echo the design and architecture for which Barcelona is renowned.

The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The breakfast fresh and adequate if not outstanding. The bar is comfortable and the barman excellent especially when a group of tired photographers were in need of gin.

The front desk made dinner reservations for us and always asked if the restaurants were good and they were flexible with checkouts.

From the initial book to departure the hotel was first class. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thais F, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Mark,

I would like to thank you for such as amazing and gorgeous words about your stay.

Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to present you again all of my appreciation.

I will share your comments with the Team.

We hope see you soon in our Hotel ¡¡¡

Best Regards

Thais F.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Stunning architecture. Very spacious, room 219. Aircon very poor. Bathroom tapes don’t stay on. Breakfast not a big
Selection. Best thing about hotel was (young) Jordi. This man is TOP class. Nothing was a problem. Hotel España should be very PROUD of him.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thais F, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Neil,


It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. I will share your words with Jordi, he will be very happy.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon!

Best Regards

Thais F.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We really enjoyed our recent 5 night stay. The hotel is located on a small side street just off La Rambla, and is within easy walking distance of pretty much everything. Although the rooms are small, they are clean, modern, and well-equipped. The staff is very nice and helpful. The building is historic, but has been renovated with all modern comforts. The El Raval neighborhood is full of narrow streets and charming shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jschase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thais F, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018


Dear Jschase,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay in our Hotel.

We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Best Regards

Thais F.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel located just off La Ramblas. Close to most areas- Bari Gothic, old town, Gaudi buildings. Staff at the front desk were awesome and so was service at the bar where the drinks were tasty. The rooms are small, but well equipped.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ravsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thais F, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Ravsb,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay in our Hotel.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon!

Best Regards

Thais F.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Architectural beauty inside. The staff are obliging and luckily for me speak english as I have no Spanish. The room was modern and had a spacious bathroom with 2 sinks and a great walk in shower. The breakfast was extensive, even offering eggs cooked to order. The location is a block from La Rambla and near a Metro station.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank retiredcanadian_wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thais F, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for all the Hotel España team to welcome you back in a near future.

Best Regards

Thais F.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews