We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst hotel ever!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of abba Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
abba Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #219 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst hotel ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I chose to end our honeymoon in this hotel. Terrible idea. The room was unlike any four star hotel we have ever stayed in...the carpet was stained, the bathroom was dirty and had a disgusting smell, the noise from the surrounding area & guests was unsettling and the staff were very unapproachable and unhelpful. I never write reviews on websites but felt compelled to in the hope that other honeymooning couples would avoid repeating our mistake by ending their honeymoon on such a low. We left for the airport early just to avoid spending any longer in the building. We expected much more from a hotel in its location, especially following a recommendation from our travel agent friend. Would not recommend it to anyone. Ever.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    263
    96
    18
    16
See reviews for
97
203
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Good location on the business area near the Diagonal center. Clean, not fancy.

Room Tip: ask for a room not in front of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia_pitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was a frequent customer of this Hotel but I didn't visited in the last three years. I felt as if I just left it a few days ago: personnel efficient and kind, good service and very clean.

Iy's not a fancy hotel, but a very good option to be downtown in a comforable and clean place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JORGE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at Balmoral for four nights and have been really pleased with our stay.
The rooms a small but with a really nice atmosphere, a lovely bed and really clean and tidy.
The staff at the hotel are really friendly - even the room-cleaners said goodmorning and smiled when we met them.
The breakfast is really good and worth paying for; fresh friut every morning; bananas, oranges, pineapple, grapes etc. Boiled eggs, spanish omeles, scrambled eggs, sausages, bread, a various of cheese and meat, salmon, croissants, yougurt, really nice fresh juices, coffe, tea - etc etc .. We really enjoyd our first meal every day in the restaurant!!
The hotel is Nice located. We enjoyd that it was near the center of Barcelona, near the mainattractions but still located away from the noise and in a quit, clean and beautiful part of Barcelona.
If we were to visit Barelona again we would definitly book a room at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral_Barcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at abba Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at the Balmoral Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed your stay in Barcelona. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy while with us.

As you remarked in your comment we are located right off the Diagonal Ave. with numerous restaurants, bars, shops and Goudi museums just at a walking distance. And for a change in scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually all other attractions in the city in minutes.

Please let us know when you are planning your next visit to Barcelona, we´ll love to welcome you back and have you as our guest once again!

Kind regards,
Balmoral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Good to stay three-four days, breakfast is not special, it,s well located, by foot you can get to Gaudi,s all building.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fega1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral_Barcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at abba Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Balmoral Hotel during your recent visit to Barcelona. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us.

Next time you plan to visit our city, please let us know in advance and we´ll be happy to arrange any especial request you might have.

Best,

Balmoral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Abba Sants Hotel
#305 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
El Raval
Abba Rambla Hotel
Abba Rambla Hotel
#289 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abba Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Esplugues de Llobregat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#266 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#151 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to abba Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about abba Balmoral Hotel

Property: abba Balmoral Hotel
Address: C/ Via Augusta, 5, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#196 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $147 - $279
Hotel Class:4 star — abba Balmoral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona is an elegant and classical Hotel in the center of Barcelona, recently refurbished to make you feel yourself at home away from home in the heart of the touristic, financial and commercial district of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your abba Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing