We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Boqueria & St Caterina Markets with Food & Tapas Small Group Tour
28

Book in advance
from
AU$149.49
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Mercat Santa Caterina
from AU$149.49
More Info
from AU$132.21
More Info
from AU$66.02
More Info
from AU$107.28
More Info
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveller rating
434
378
97
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
434
378
97
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jamon gothic quarter meats taqueria stalls roof tourists wavy merchants ramblas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 928 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2019

Been to La Boqueria, but loved Santa Caterina because it allows you some elbow room & ability to casually wander the stalls. This market is an easy walking distance from the Barcelona Cathedral, As you face the cathedral, look to your left & you'll be able to spot the colorful wavy roof. The Hop On Hop Off bus also stops here. There are stalls of fresh vegetables, seafood, meats, chicken, olives, eggs, olive oil, spices, prepared foods, gift shop, restaurants, etc. There is even a traditional grocery store for household goods. My favorite stall was Lamiel for its array of spices sold by the gram, candies, cookies, olive oil (only place where I've seen it also sold in plastic bottles), etc. There's are public restrooms, but you need to show a receipt & the attendant will open the door for you.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank gailo344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

I visited as a tourist, but loved this market, because it was just the right size. Not to big, great location, fresh clean, fresh and well kept up. Every individual market has fresh and amazing product, so well displayed, I wanted to rent and apartment just to go there and shop. There is a restaurant adjacent to it not to be missed. See another review

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank CatRob_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2019

I agreed that this market had a lot more local products for you to shop than the other tourist markets. However this is a bit too small to visit as oversea visitors. Actually when we visited, there wasn't many people inside.
Not if we thought if anything wrong with this market, we did some purchase as well.
Just not as spectacular site for us.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank wiseguy1282005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

This time when I holidayed in Barcelona iI skipped the Boqueria Market in favour of the Mercat Santa Caterina. The eateries around it have a more local feel, it is not seething with elbow-to elbow tourists, the produce is well displayed and the vendors friendly. I have always liked the olive oil shop which also sells Spanish smoked paprika cheaper than the other market. If you want to shop more local and not be crowded out go to the Sana Caterina It is only about a 2 min walk from the Cathedral. Look to your left as you stand admiring the cathedral facade and you will see the modern wavy-lined roof of the market

Date of experience: November 2018
3  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

This market has been on my list to visit for sometime it was completely refurbished and reopened in 2005. The rooftop is ver attractive with a wavy design covered in colourful patchwork design finish. If you are near the old Barcelona cathedral it is a 5 minute walk away.
Obviously as a market it has lots of variety in products to sell to take home and cook. As an alternative there is a bar where you can eat.
It is alot less crowded than the famous Boqueria market, but it gives you a sample of a Spanish food market. Worth a visit for the colourful spectrum.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 735PLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews