We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Boqueria & St Caterina Markets with Food & Tapas Small Group Tour
28

Book in advance
from
AU$149.49
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Mercat Santa Caterina
from AU$149.49
More Info
from AU$132.21
More Info
from AU$66.02
More Info
from AU$107.28
More Info
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveller rating
434
378
97
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
434
378
97
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jamon gothic quarter meats taqueria stalls roof tourists wavy merchants ramblas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 928 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

If you have visited Barcelona's Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria, then you will discover that Mercat Santa Caterina is much less crowded, with less hustle and bustle, and roomier. The fresh produce, meats, fish, candies, etc. are beautifully displayed. There are also many places to find ready-to-eat meals, too.

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank lenak63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This was my favourite of the central covered markets. Whilst the more famous example on the Ramblas is undeniably picturesque and excellent, Santa Caterina, being slightly less high profile, has the attractive quality of being significantly less crowded - especiallyat meal times.
Don't get me wrong, though, this market may be more workmanlike and modern but it is still very attractive with its multi-coloured, scalloped roof and beautifully presented food stalls. The quality of goods is at least as good as the Bocqueria and prices a little lower. There are also great bars and eateries here including the fantastic La Torna, at whose bar I ate the best sit-down meal of my trip. And, though it may not be on the Ramblas, it is still very central and only a short walk from the cathedral. Well worth those few extra steps to give it a try.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

A local market with plenty of traffic but not as crowded as others. Beautiful roof you should take a look at from a distance or above. Good variety of vendors or stalls. Friendly and helpful. The market closes down by mid afternoon with a few shops or restaurants on the exterior edge open. There is a small grocery store and a historical site included in the market area.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 555randys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

It's located one the way between the Cathedral of Barcelona and the Picasso museum. Nothing to be amazed but still a nice market. I recomend the natural juices sold in the entrance.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank binarysir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The fresh fish and produce were enticing. The merchants were friendly and accommodating. We sampled various tomatoes and also olive oils native to Catalunya.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank oakleyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews