We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #173 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Despite booking in January it would appear that was not enough of an advance notice to give us an extra couple of pillows (family of four sharing).

We've asked two nights in a row now and even requested extra towels so they could be folded over instead but we couldn't get them either. The hotel is busy I understand that but not having enough stock of the basics seems a tad surprising.

The pool bar in the late afternoon was fine, but we also tried later in the evening (2145), not that busy but couldn't get served, so we popped across the road to the supermarket and got a bottle there instead, cheaper for us but an indication on how poor the service is.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jools27u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest experience assistant at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Jools27u,

We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience.
From the first moment we received you comment we had a meeting to figure out what could happen, and to prevent this situation in the future. In all of our rooms we always have extra pillows and extra amenities inside the wardrobe. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the slow service in the rooftop terrace.
We hope to have again the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Wishes,

Fran L. Guest experience assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 3,700 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this hotel, very well located, close to new shopping center and to subway station. Nice people speaking English and French, nice breakfast. Parking and swimming pool available !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alexandre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest experience assistant at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Alexandre V,

We thank you for telling us your stay in Novotel Barcelona City. It is always a pleasure to receive this feedback, and to know that our guests could enjoy our facilities, the location and that they felt warm welcomed.
We wish to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Fran L. Guest experience assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Are here several times a year for business. Always likes to come, as it is friendly staff welcoming me every time. Good breakfast. The highlight is the roof terrace, where you suddenly can end up staying instead of going to town. Some stops with metro from the center, perfect for business and families.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms towards Sagradas Familias
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sindre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest experience assistant at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Sindre B,

Thank you for letting us know your experience in Novotel Barcelona City and for choosing us every time you stay in Barcelona. We hope to keep having the opportunity to provide you the best service.
We are looking forward to seeing you again really soon.

Fran L. Guest experience assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed at the Novotel Barcelona city for 4 nights in July and had an excellent time!

It is very family and child friendly with games all over the main lobby to keep kids entertained and programs like dinner with entertainment for kids, designed to keep kids engaged. The breakfast spread is amazing and has a lot of variety. The rooms are decently sized, the WIFI works and there is a small pool as well. The staff are polite and helpful.

The hotel is very centrally located, and is just 30mins from the airport. It is also well connected and is a short (7-8min) walk from the Glories underground station and one can even walk to the Sagrada Familia from the hotel. There is a big Carrefour where you can buy anything you need and lots of small restaurants in the nearby lanes where one can have good local food at a reasonable price.

On the whole, I was very happy with our stay at hotel and would gladly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moushumi_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest experience assistant. at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Moushumi_24,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking part of your time to tell us your experience in Novotel Barcelona City. It is an absolute pleasure for the hotel to receive this feedback from our guests. We are always working and preparing activities to provide the best service and comfort to our guests.
We hope to see you and your family really soon again.

Best wishes,

Fran L. Guest experience assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

First Accor hotel so bad. the main point was that the room was not done during the day
we took the breakfast and left the hotel when we came back after lunch the room was not done, ok could happens, we when to the beach and came back aroung 4 pm the room was not done, towel not changes so we put do not disturb on the dorr as we would like to take shower, and left the hotel for dinner and we mentionned that to th reception that the room was not done when we were back from the diner at 23 the room was not done new towel put on the floor of the shower and shampon through up on the sink

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank 366yannickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest experience assistant at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear 366yannickp,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing Novotel Barcelona City. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have had an internal meeting with all the departments involved in this situation to clarify and provide the real service we always do.
From Novotel Barcelona City, we wish you trust us again and have the opportunity to provide you a high quality service.

Best wishes,

Fran L. Guest experience assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 516 in Barcelona
3,109 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $117 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing