We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - shame about the location (and bathrooms!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #179 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,608)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Barcelona City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,023 of 3,609 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

The hotel is close to the airport about 20-30mins by taxi, but the taxi was about 35 euro so I would advise getting the train because that was so much cheaper at 3.60 each. We arrived about an hour before check-in time and were told we had to wait, this wasn't ideal after a flight! The hotel was very nice and modern, the swimming pool on the 19th floor was nice but extremely windy. The breakfast at 18euros each was expensive so we didn't eat at the hotel but its also difficult to find somewhere to eat even at the shopping centre because the food wasn't great. The beach is a 20 minute walk. The sagrada familia is also 20 minute walk and then you can walk from there to la pedrera and to barcelona cathedral from there to la rambla. But if you dont enjoy walking then the metro glories is a few minute walk next to la torre agbar that you can see from the hotel. It's also cheap 26 euros for a two day travel card for two people. Parc guell is very worth the visit to see Antonio Gaudi's fascinating architecture.

Room Tip: Rooms from 14th floor up have amazing views
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We nearly always stay at Novotels when doing city breaks. You know what you are getting and they never disappoint. On arrival, check in was quick and easy, very helpful staff. Our room was on 12th floor so had quite a good view over Barcelona city. Usual room size with flat screen TV. Bathroom had hairdryer and toiletries. Breakfast was fine, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cheese, ham, bread and pastries. There was also bacon egg and sausage if you wanted. Although the hotel is slightly out of the centre I would definitely recommend staying here. The area is safe, large shopping mall across the road with a Carrefor supermarket, C and A, H and M, Zara etc plus a few restaurants. The tram stop is just outside the hotel and the Glories metro station 2 minutes walk. Fast and easy access (2 or 3 stops to city centre). Would recommend you buy a T10 ticket from the machines at the Metro station for about 9 Euros. This enables you to have 10 journeys on the Metro or tram. Would we stay here again - yes we would.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Novotel, pre-cruise in August. The superior suite was excellent with a great bathroom and also a 1/2 bath. The room was one of the few in Barcelona that could accomodate our family of 4. Location isn't within walking distance of Las Ramblas but there is a tram right out front and taxi's are plentiful in Barcelona. There is a mall right across the street which was handy and had plenty of restaurants. We had the breakfast included as it was a pretty good deal in our internet price, however I would not get the breakfast if you had to pay full price. The room was clean and the front desk personnel were excellent. Not inexpensive, at least not by our standards, but I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broxxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Clean, modern, well located, terrific roofdeck with lounge and swimming pool overlooking the ocean and with great city views, including Sagrada Familia and the nearby Torre Agbar. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breukelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#208 of 513 in Barcelona
2,997 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,969 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
2,528 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#123 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $143 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing