We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,617)
Filter reviews
1,617 results
Traveller rating
1,240
224
88
43
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,240
224
88
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bankers bar butler service mimosa garden blanc restaurant boulevard room amex platinum dipping pool garden view concierge team great spa passeig de gracia indoor pool steam room luxury hotel casa batllo gaudi buildings wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,002 - 1,007 of 1,617 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It never ceases to amaze me the great quality of all Mandarin Orientals I haves stayed in. This one is in a wonderful location in Barcelona. You are made welcome as soon as you arrive by a very personal and efficient reception. Rooms are well appointed even though some may be a bit small. However the wonderful water pressure in the shower makes up for this!! Service is flawless...breakfast arrives perfectly on time!! The spa is also great with wonderful treatments. A really worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Go for the ones with a full bathroom (not only shower) in a high floor overlooking the courtyard
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this fantastic hotel. Amazing design (courtesy of Patricia Urquiola) excellent service, awesome breakfast buffet. Try the gastro restaurant "Moments", a truly great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Perfectly located amongst the up market stores in Passeig de Gracias The Madarin’s entrance is somewhat understate with a long ramp carpeted by the most fabulous Chinese rug leading you to the hotel reception and concierge.

We stayed for two nights at this beautifully appointed hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona. The service is simply what you would expect from this fabulous hotel group – nothing is too much trouble.

The décor is simply stunning - reminiscent of sixties chic yet strikingly modern. Our room looked over the beautifully designed Mimosa Garden used for al fresco dining.

I could go on and on about every aspect of this wonderful hotel but a visit to their website will convince you of its merits.

A stay at The Mandarin is not inexpensive but I believe it is tremendous value in terms of faultless service. Push the boat out and stay there the next time you are in Barcelona. I do not believe that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent two nights in the Deluxe Terrace room on 1st floor overlooking the hotel's private garden. It was our first visit to Barcelona and we came to celebrate our wedding aniversary and see the City. We decided to stay at the Mandarin because it was newly opened and we stayed at other Mandarin hotels in Europe and Asia and liked the level of serice and quality of hotels.

We would like to share the following observations:
Overall impression - very positive, this is a new property with a feeling of a boutique hotel with very good and attentive service, good restaurants and spa. the hotel is in the centre of Barcelona luxury shopping district and not far from its main tourist attractions. Therefore it is somewhat far from the beach attractions of Barcelona however the Mimosa Garden restaurant, the rooftop pool, the spa, and the Blanc and Moments restaurants more than compensate lack of the seaside view and atmosphere. We went to the W Hotel for lunch and althought the seaside location is v attractive we were dissapointed with the food in the main restaurant and the feel of a mega Las Vegas hotel in the lobby. We were happy to return to the Mandarin after having our lunch the the W Hotel and settle in the great Mimosa Garden restaurant.

Rooms - cool modern style however relative small. We recommend a room with the terrace facing garden or larger as rooms without terrace must feel as being v small.

Restaurants - we spent a lot of time in the Mimosa Garden restaurant which has a Mediterranean felling and good food and wine. We were somewhat dissappointed with food at Moments which at the same time has excellent ambience and is great for a romantic dinner. Blanc has good breakfast and consistent main menu althought we would prefer Mimosa during warm weather

Spa - we have only toured the spa but found it very impressive. at the same time the menu is more expensive than in top London or Paris hotels which we find unjustified. the spa pool is very small.

Roof top pool - it was closed to our surprise with a notice that it is opening in May. We liked the view and envy guests who will have opportunity to enjoy this area since May.

Service - the staff is very young and the hotel new hence we recommend not taking everything for granted e.g. we booked a dinner at Moments one week before arrival only to find that there was not reservation made (however the restaurant gave us a table when we insisted we made the booking via the concierge); breakfast service was somewhat slow, we were bugged with 2 prompts/calls from the reception re our credit card details following arrival only to find that the reception noted incorrect cc expiry date, we could not open the door in the public bathroom and had to call maintenance to assist. However when we complained the management was extremely helpful and polite and we found a bottle of complimentary champagne when we returned to the room. Hence overall all was up to Mandarin standards.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konstancin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent 3 nights in a boulevard room on the 7th floor that was quiet, comfortable and stylish. Breakfast at Blanc was included otherwise it is about 29 euro. The staff really tried to make us feel at home and were glad to help us in any way. The mixologist at the Bankers bar were very skilled and helpful. The roof top pool is closed in the winter and as I recall opens in May.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigercage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews