We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony Hayes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #25 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I travel a great deal and thus, I am no stranger to hotels around the world.

I recently stayed at the MOB with my wife and two children (14 & 3). We were amazed by the service, food (great room service food too) and their exceptional customer service.

From the personal greetings including toys for our son Luke, the welcome notes and truffles in the rooms, a personalized welcome in the bath spelled out for Luke, an exceptionally helpful butler service and the overall overly helpful staff around the hotel we had a simply marvelous and relaxing time. And the bedding is simply wonderful.

I can assure you that whenever we take a break in Barcelona and whenever we are asked for a recommendation for a hotel in the city, it will be Barcelona Mandarin Hotel that we suggest.

...and make the time to check out their spa...!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 900 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

What a hotel!!
We had a 2 days stop in Barcelona and we decided to try again a Mandarin Oriental.
Glad we did it!! Rooms are fabulous, service is perfect, location the same.
U will sleep in a fabulous room, high quality beds, chic bathrooms , rain showers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmen274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed at this mandarin oriental on the back and of a European trip from the states with two teenagers. Upon arrival, the bellhop was exceptionally nice and took our bags as soon as we arrived. We were swiftly checked in and brought to our room. A nice, spacious room with a view of the city and a great flat screen T.V and on demand movies. After visiting the pool and sauna, both tolerant of children,(but the children are exceptionally well behaved) we adjourned to the room for room service and some rest. The room service was very quick and tasted fabulous. The beds were extremely comfy and well sized. The only critique I have is that with the shower, regardless of the door being closed, water would secrete under the door and onto the floor of the actual room. But, that is a minor problem. Overall, this hotel is great and I recommend it to anybody in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pshaq47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandarinOrientalBCN, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Pshaq47,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your time to review Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona. We are pleased to know that your family and you had a great experience hear.(enjoyed your stay)

Regarding your bathroom comment and in order to improve our facilities and service, we would highly appreciate if you could send as an email (mobcn-info@mohg.com) with your room number.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Yours faithfully,

Bel Natividad
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

MO barcelona is one of the new boutique hotels MO is now developing all over the world

The attention to detail is here sublime and the dedicated efforts from everyone makes the stay memorable

I stayed here for over one week last year and had a great time

For me the highlights are the gym an pool area, the terrace mimosa and the rooftop

The rooms are on the small side but comfortable and very clean

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Public areas are stylish and modernist. Bedrooms are designer but also practical. I had an entry level room facing the courtyard on level 3. It featured a huge, high quality bed with oddly hard pillows (2, not 4); a large circular free-standing bath with a view was great; monsoon shower worked well and was spacious; separate sink and toilet rooms were welcome; TV was easy to use and high quality; lighting controls were (as always in modern hotels) a little confusing; bedlinen, towels and bathrobes were quality and comfortable; floor to ceiling windows. There were 2 fairly bad cleaning issues upon arrival that still weren't rectified within 24 hours. Room service was swift and polite. Breakfast staff were sometimes slow but the breakfast choice was very comprehensive and delicious. Bankers Bar has a great smoking terrace, lovely cocktails and professional staff. Reception, Concierge and Door staff were all courteous and helpful. The -1 level swimming pool and spa are both good. The rooftop pool was closed during my stay but I have previously viewed it and it is a great space. In conclusion, this is a slightly over-priced hotel that delivers on most levels but there are some areas that could be improved at little cost.

Room Tip: Courtyard is a little shabby, though I found it 'real' and enjoyed overlooking the school, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KParkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,789 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 516 in Barcelona
1,416 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#66 of 516 in Barcelona
4,828 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#121 of 516 in Barcelona
6,494 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $527 - $1,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing