We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get away”
Review of Atlas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlas Hotel
Ranked #375 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“get away”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

very clean hotel, comfotable bed,good breakfast all staff that we seen very helpful and friendly.great location easy to find . had a fantastic few days in barcelona.only down side wiyh being just of the rambals tened to be noisy late into the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandToffee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    91
    51
    22
    13
See reviews for
31
91
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in late February, location of hotel cannot be faulted from here you are within easy walk to La Rambles, the Gothic Quarter (this is a must because of its old world charm, small windy streets, beautiful buildings from Roman times, as well as the range of shops, restaurants and bars.

The hotel is small in comparison to others in the City but understandable when you compare the compact nature of its environment. Staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel was clean.

The only downside was the size of the bedroom which was compact and the decor fairly basic when you consider the price of the rooms per night, but I guess you are paying for location. Also the room needed some maintenance, handle to bathroom was loose and the hairdryer was detacted from the wall with exposed wires which did make me nervous about using.

I would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Can be noisy because of its close proximity to neighbouring buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Atlas prior to our cruise embarking from Barcelona. Our room was small but adequate. Being proximate to Las Ramblas is great for tourists but this is a busy part of the city and it could be noisy. The Atlas is located on a peek-a-boo side street so most rooms offer quiet, a welcome quality when you are tired. The desk staff are knowledgeable about tourist needs and can help with tours, dinner and shopping advice.Two important tips: 1. Your taxi and other traffic cannot enter this side street, and need to drop you about 50 feet or so from the door. This is important information if you are locating this hotel by the street address. 2. If it is important to you to have 2 people sleep in one bed ( a double as opposed to a twin arrangement) mention this when you make your reservation. Some of the larger rooms have a twin bed arrangement.

Room Tip: Rooms with a double bed may be smaller. Ask for a quiet room if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachersTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a total of sixteen days. It is right in the heart of all the action in the Gothic quarter. It is not that far from any place in that section of the 'old' city, we managed to walk every place we needed to see. It is about 10 minute walk from either end of La Rambla, at one end you have the ocean and at the other you have Placa de Catalunya, where the Hop on Hop off buses depart from.
The only negative point I can say is, the beds were too hard, but over all the place was very clean and tidy. I would reconmend this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: if you are going to choose this hotel, and there are two of you, go for one of the bigger rooms as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanabetraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

On a lovely side road leading into the gothic quater, and a 3 min walk from metro on Las ramblas this hotel is in a perfect location for first time visitors to Barcelona and for those who want to be close to all the goings on :) The market is also abot 5 mins walk away and the cathedral is 2 mins in the opposite direction. this hotel is totally in the middle of everything. As long as you dont plan to go to bed before 12am and you drink anough sangria the noise levels are perfectly fine. me and my friend took ear plugs after reading the other reviews but slept till 11am one day without them lol and didnt use them the whole holiday. The guys on the desk were very friendly and helpful. I found the nicer and best value restarants to be in barceloneta, the cavaMar (i think that was what it was called) was lovely. I really liked this hotel and wouldnt have btohered to write this review otherwise.

Room Tip: Dont bother taking shower gel or shampoo as they provide, plus clean towels and toilet roll daily :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
May Ramblas Hotel
May Ramblas Hotel
#377 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#323 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#229 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#263 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#227 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel

Property: Atlas Hotel
Address: Cardenal Casanas 11, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $203 - $414
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This design hotel has an excellent location in a quiet side street only 20 metres from the famous Las Ramblas. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The Hotel Atlas is set in the historic centre of Barcelona. It is a short walk from the Boquería Market, the Liceu theatre and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing