We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for backpackers only”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Internacional
Ranked #32 of 41 Salamanca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Despite most of the reviews down here, we can't say it's a terrible hostel. We got room number 4, not en-suite but with a nice and fairly big bathroom opposite. The room was quite small (about 2x3m) with a sink, a mirror, a tiny wooden "table", a stool and NO TV, even when the hostel's website says the contrary. Anyway, it was clean as well as the (simple) mattress, pillows, and sheets. The natural illumination was a weak point since it faced the inner courtyard.
Regarding the service we didn't have any problems, anyway it wasn't remarkable. The guy who seems to be the owner and only staff member showed us the location of the hostel on the only map he had, where to get a similar one, and a bar where to have tapas (probably his friend's). He asked us if we would need towels (yes, please, of course) so we thought he would charge us for them. In the end he didn't but they, and a few drops of liquid soap, were the only amenities in the bathroom.
The hostel's location is quite good, between Plaza Mayor and the Van Dyck tapas area.
We paid a small deposit in advance to reserve the room and the rest in cash before leaving, so no extra charges made on the card.
All in all, we would recommend this place for people who are looking for very basic accommodation.

Room Tip: Room number 4, the owner's choice due to the bigger bathroom, even when it could be used by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criberico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

The man who runs the place appears to be the only staff, and unfortunately he is exceedingly rude, cheap, and disinterested in hospitality. He was not interested in speaking English to us even though he could, and had no maps, just one he said was his. There was very little toilet paper in the bathroom and if you needed something, there was never anyone at reception to help you, since the owner lived and hung out upstairs in the same building.

We arrived around 10am, completely exhausted from travelling overnight, and came to the hotel before the check in time to drop our bags and possibly rest on a couch or see if our room was ready early. When the owner answered the door he was angry that we had arrived early, didn't want to hear anything we had to say, and quickly took our bags and repeated the check in time to us several times.

Stay somewhere else if you would like to feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montero85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisCal-los
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorkeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal Internac... S, Gerente at Hostal Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.6 km away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 68 in Salamanca
1,107 reviews
1.1 km away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.6 km away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#11 of 68 in Salamanca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 68 in Salamanca
977 reviews
3.9 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Restaurante Alameda
#58 of 68 in Salamanca
13 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Internacional

Address: Avenida Mirat 15, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Salamanca
Price Range: $39 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Internacional 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing