We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the less able bodied”
Review of Globales Acuario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Acuario
leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not for the less able bodied”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We requested ground floor room allocated room on fifth floor! Ok whilst lift was working but when it broke down we were confined to our room.Food was terrible,went half board but got fed up with frozen veg and chips,also sweet consisted of ice cream or cold rice pudding or instant whip.Room was small but clean,had to let tap run for 3/4 to 1 hour before we had hot water(such a waste of water)had maintenance man in twice to sort it to no avail.Maid was realy good,clean towels every day,mopped floors etc and cheerful.We walked to Puerto le Cruz downhill took us 2 hours as husband has bad knee,taxi back 3 euros.Asked hotel to phone for taxi on another day and it cost us 5.75 euros,most people aske cafe to phone for them.Cafe was very friendly and their food was good.Thomas Cook rep useless and quite rude when we stated the water situation and no entertainment and poor food,"you can upgrade to our 5 star in town where you will get entertainment, what do you expect from 2 star hotel!" Not suitable for less able bodied guests or for families as no facilities for children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boatgirlLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    59
    70
    32
    70
See reviews for
45
130
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Hotel was clean, maid service every day. I stayed here for a week with my 15 year old daughter. The room was small the balcony was tiny. The whole week we stayed there we heard everyone complaining about their rooms. I would say the hotel is more for older people!! We were bed and breakfast so had to go into town every night for dinner. There s a local cafe and 2 shops at the back and side of the hotel. pool was very cold!! The holiday was pleasant and we met some lovely people. Overall I would say if you wanted a really, really quiet holiday and are over the age of seventy and dont want to venture anywhere, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shennyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

booked on a budget and we got 'what we paid for! tiny rooms and balcony however great shower - it nearly blew us away. we were half board, breakfast was actualy good! excellent selection from a fry up to fruit however dinner was the pits, very limited selection but was not bad tasting and edible. all the staff were very helpful.

its about 1.5 mile from the beech and main town and its all the way downhill probably at 20% and more in some places, very steep in sections. not good for a pram, kids elderly etc. a taxi is around 4 euro which is well worth it. take caution at zebra crossings too.

a small supermarket is to the rear out the back door, just the usual in there. also a bar which was ok, more locals than tourists but also alot of young yins loitering around the area.

the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. there was a domestic on the last night and it was like they were in the same room as us - bring ear plugs or have an extra couple of pints before bed!

Room Tip: all rooms are bad. bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Back of Beyond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for four nights and was surprised at how busy the hotel was for early February. The hotel is a fair walk from town which suits us fine but would be a no-no for anyone who's not used to it. The Canaries are all hilly!

Our room was rather small but clean and the beds were really comfortable. It's an older hotel so it looks a touch dated but for the price you really couldn't complain.

We arrived late on our first night and my girlfriend had had a terrible time on our journey over from Gran Canaria on the ferry, so we decided to eat at the hotel. For 9€ the buffet is slightly below par for the area. A walk into town can see you with a three course meal of a much better standard for around 10€ if you opt for one of the various menu del dia's (some including a drink) on offer in the restaurants in and around the main town.

Breakfast was nice with a good selection but bad coffee and the food was not hot enough.

Overall a pleasant stay definitely representing good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylo_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is a great hotel if u want something basic.you won't get nightly entertaient or anything like that but the pools good so is thewifi lounge and the food is first class :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanMckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.1 km away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#42 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
152 reviews
1.4 km away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
348 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#60 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#57 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
126 reviews
1.3 km away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#55 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
346 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Tenerife Ving
Hotel Tenerife Ving
#63 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Acuario

Property: Globales Acuario
Address: Lugar Parque de Las Flores 35 | Puerto de la Cruz, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto de la Cruz
Price range (per night): $36 - $70
Hotel Class:2 star — Globales Acuario 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Acuario Hotel is located in one of the most peaceful spots of Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, just 1.5Km from the beach of Playa del Centro and 2km from the famous lake, Lago Martinez. The hotel enjoys impressive views towards Teide and across the sea. The Globales Acuario in Puerto de la Cruz offers great value as it has facilities for a comfortable stay making it the perfect destination for a relaxing holiday with your family. This hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the most charming areas of the island of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Globales Acuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Hotel
Acuario Tenerife
Globales Acuario Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing