We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
117
159
117
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
159
117
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pool area taxi rank purchase drinks main town cooked items breakfast was excellent evening meal room facing air conditioner half board rented a car german tourists reception staff on a daily basis close to the hotel buffet style plenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Booked 2week stay after reading good reviews but disappointed with hotel in general.We stayed in room 251 which was very clean and kept that way by the excellent cleaning staff.Air conditioning would not function,so had to keep balcony doors open to keep room at bearable temp,but as we were adjacent to a busy road and there was a bus stop right outside our balcony,at times it was noisy and polluted with diesel fumes from the buses.Safe and small fridge in room but had to pay extra for use,and no hot drink facility either.Breakfast was the usual fare but was nearly always cold apart fom the omelette hot plate made on request.Evening meals plenty of choice but again not kept hot enough and on occasions under cooked.used the microwave on numerous times.gardens pool and sun bed area very good and kept very clean.Evening entertainment very poor and as a result stage and bar area empty apart from 7 to 10 people per night,which was just as well as the service from the bar was slow and laboured.Reception area poor just a big desk in a big room and reception staff not very welcoming or approachable.Our overall opinion of hotel weare la paz is fair but overrated and poor value for money.

Room tip: ask for room away from main road.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bridgeheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEAREHOTELS, Online Reputation Management at Hotel Weare La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Customer bridgeheywood,

Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to assess your stay at the hotel.
We also appreciate your comments, these are very important for our company.
We are glad to see that your general opinion is good, and that there are some points that in your opinion can be improved.

Greetings from Tenerife

Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We booked a superior room with pool view via Love Holidays. We ended up on external side of complex overlooking busy taxi rank/ supermarket (not pool view). There is an aircon panel in every room...but the system does not work. The bed was big but overall the room felt tatty. The wooden laminate floor was chipped badly, and boards had slid apart leaving weird gaps. When we queried we were advised that there was no other room available. Recent investments in the hotel seem to be around signage and colourful headboard for beds. I would suggest that aircon and decent flooring are a greater priority.
The common areas are nice. The lifeguard was friendly and hard working. He kept the area tidy and was always busy helping guests. This is more than can be said for poolbar staff who cannot manage more than one order at a time.
As per other reviews breakfast was the best part of our stay.
Location was fine, we hit 10k steps each day which offset some of the calories! But the trek uphill is not for everyone. Taxi was approx EUR6.00 to centre.
There is a left luggage room which was handy on last day. However staff hand key out to everyone so not the safest option.

Room tip: I reckon room to right of reception are quieter.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEAREHOTELS, Online Reputation Management at Hotel Weare La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Customer Niamh M

Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to review your stay at the hotel.
We also appreciate your comments, these are very important for our company.
We are happy to see that your general opinion is good, and that there are some points that in your opinion can be improved.

Greeting

Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Advertised as a 4* hotel but only earns 2*. Felt like a scam having to pay for tap water at dinner, the safe and the fridge.

We paid extra (advertised by Tui) to get a double room. We were given a twin room and were told to ask to move rooms the next morning. Asked Veronica at reception who was incredibly hostile and demanded I proved I had paid extra. I did provide evidence we had paid and then was told a double bed means 2 beds. Veronica began ignoring me and speaking to other guests behind me at reception as I was talking. Incredibly rude. This has obviously happened before as she was ready to attack and knew what room I was from even before I said. (To clarify, Tui had miss-sold us: double beds only exist in superior rooms so we needed to have paid for both double room and sea view to actually get a double bed. Tui did give compensation but this has happened to others in trip advisor reviews so stop advertising lies!!)

There is no air conditioning. None. Units are installed but they don't work, and are not being fixed. We were given an industrially noisy fan to blow warm air around the room, useless. Air conditioning expected as standard in 4* hotel. Trip advisor says there is air con- false. Hotel photos show air conditioning units- they don't work.

We were placed in a building across the road from reception/pool/restaurant which is accessed by an underpass. No lift here so expected to carry case down stairs and to another building alone.

Room quality was 2* with rotting window wood painted over to hide it. Doors and windows were not secure. Our balcony door was left unlocked on 2 occasions after room cleaning. Balconies are separated only by a half wall, no privacy.

Hidden costs include: paying to use the safe, paying to open the door of the fridge, paying to use the TV remote, paying for tap water put into a glass bottle at dinner, paying for the double sun beds around the pool, being charged for the expensive alcohol brands when given the cheap alcohol.

Felt like a scam. Not up to 4* standard. Don't think Tui should advertise this hotel. Don't think anyone should pay more than hostel or 2* prices for this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ems5496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEAREHOTELS, Online Reputation Management at Hotel Weare La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear ems5496,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay with us.

We regret to see that, in your case, we didn't reach your expectations and we take good note of all your comments in order to keep on working in the continuous improvement of the quality of our service.

Best regards

Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Bit further away from sea that I realised but, no matter, just added more Fitbit steps! Room lovely and clean, staff fell over themselves to help you. Restaurant lovely and service excellent. Bar and pool service great with samples of cocktails throughout the day. Pool quiet and lifeguard attentive. No racing down to put towels on loungers, there was always loads available! Would definitely go again. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Explore587664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEAREHOTELS, Onlie Reputation Management at Hotel Weare La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear customer inglejacq,

Thank you very much for expressing your opinion and your comments about your stay at our hotel.
We are delighted to verify that your experience was completely good.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel.
Best regards!!!
Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely pool area, clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent entertainment and delicious breakfast buffet. We were not initially happy with our room (which was next to the main road) and we had to wait two days for a new room. We were offered a free lunch by the pool (pool side menu is pretty basic - but still - a nice gesture by the manager) to make up for the inconvenience. There were some cultural adjustments possibly around our being English (and speaking very little Spanish) and us having expectations of what a 4 star hotel might be. We also received a few stares from older men at a bar opposite presumably due to us being a same sex couple but hard to say for sure. The entertainment- Stones Vs Beatles duo and Flamenco were exceptional! Puerto de la Cruz as a resort is too over- developed for my tastes to justify another visit but overall this was a fantastic relaxing holiday- the coastline is magnificent and the nearby botanical gardens are mesmerising. We visited the hotel’s well equipped spa with its gentle ambience and both received skilful and attentive massages. The Hotel Weare La Paz provided a much needed touch of luxury and comfort during our stay which ultimately surpassed our expectations.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jenoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEAREHOTELS, Online Reputation Management at Hotel Weare La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear customer Jenoire,

Thank you very much for reflecting your opinion about the facilities and services of the hotel.
We are delighted to read that your experience was satisfactory.
We are also very grateful for your comments. These are very important for us and useful for those potential customers who do not know us yet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards from Tenerife!
Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews