We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind experience!”

Tenerife Wine Experience
Ranked #10 of 31 Food & Drink in Tenerife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private, tailor made, wine tasting tours to discover the artisan wineries and vineyards of Tenerife led by a specialized wine guide. End the tour enjoying the local gastronomy in an authentic Canary style.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My husband and I are wine lovers and when we came across this experience we knew it was a must do while in Tenerife. The Tenerife Wine Experience was beyond every expectation we had. Olga is truly talented and provides a one of a kind experience. Not only did we taste wine at two exceptional wineries, but she filled our day with information about the island, its wine industry, and history.

Details: Olga picked us up directly from our hotel in the South. We made our way to our first winery La Haya by the Northeast coast. Prior to our first winery we stopped at a small cafe to have a barraquito, "authentic Tenerife coffee" (a must do while in Tenerife). Upon arrival to La Haya, we were greeted by the winemaker himself. While Olga provided English translation he enthusiastically gave us a tour of his winery and the vines. We then tasted his exceptional white wines, while enjoying true Canarian food and further conversation.

Our next stop was La Dominguez. Once again we were greeted by the winemaker who provided a tour of the vines, while sharing the story of the four generation family winery. We again continued to taste their wine paired with food. Both wineries were a personalized experience filled with knowledge/information, great tasting wine, and excellent food!

We then continued on to La Laguna for a tapas lunch and wine. Here Olga helped us map out other must see things while in Tenerife. After lunch Olga took us directly back to our hotel by the Southwest coast (completing the entire circle of the island).

Olga makes this experience and it is obvious she has experience in the industry to make it worthwhile. Looking back on our experience we could not have asked for anything more. Truly is something we will never forget. This was our first time to Tenerife and after this experience we can only hope to return (sooner rather than later!!). If you are visiting this island and enjoy wine, this is a truly must do experience!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Propietario at Tenerife Wine Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you Heidi it was a pleasure to show you and Adam just a small piece of what the island has to offer. Hope to see you again.
Olga xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine history"
in 2 reviews
"learned a great deal"
in 2 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"wine lovers"
in 2 reviews
"wine making"
in 2 reviews
"canary islands"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"day tour"
in 2 reviews
"olga"
in 26 reviews
"wineries"
in 8 reviews
"winemaker"
in 4 reviews
"winery"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"itinerary"
in 3 reviews
"geography"
in 2 reviews
"tours"
in 4 reviews
"laguna"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent a fantastic day out on the Tenerife Wine Experience with Olga, who collected us from our apartment at 9:30am and hosted us on visits to 2 vineyards/wineries, followed by a lovely local fish restaurant where we sampled some freshly caught local parrot fish.
Olga has established great relationships with the owners/staff of the vineyards and acted as our English translator throughout the day.
As amateurs who only really go as far as enjoying an occasional wine, we both felt we learned a great deal during a fun-filled day.
Olga is also fully qualified tour guide and so is very well-versed in local Tenerife (& Canarian) history and geography, which we also found very interesting alongside the day’s wine experience.
A special mention also for the owners/staff of both vineyards we visited (Bronce and La Haya) who made us feel very welcome and spent a long time entertaining us, including wine tasting and lovely local tapas!
We thoroughly enjoyed spending our day with Olga, and would highly recommend this as a great day out to others.
Thanks Olga!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank panesai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Propietario at Tenerife Wine Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you Indy, hope to see you again and show you more wineries !!
Best
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Olga will take you to the smaler bodegas. Here you will learn everything from Vine to Wine from the owner. And of course you will be able to taste all the wines.

This tour was definitely the highlight of our trip to Tenerife. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank raymondb207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Gerente at Tenerife Wine Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you Raymond !! I enjoyed every minute with you and the family.
Olga x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

My wife and I visited the Canary Islands for our honeymoon, and scheduled a tour with Olga for one of our last days of our trip. It capped off our honeymoon in the best way possible, and I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

I'll start by saying that Olga is fantastic. She was highly communicative with us from the start, talking with us via e-mail about our wine preferences, what we were interested in learning about, and what type of wine we usually drink. I have done a lot of wine tourism, and so I had some specific things I really wanted to see while I was there. Olga crafted an all day tour for my wife and I that helped us see everything we wanted to see and more.

On the day of our trip, Olga picked us up and drove us to two wineries, before we went to a restaurant-winery for an early dinner. She is an incredible tour guide--knowledgable and friendly, and clearly has a love for the history of Tenerife and for wine.

One of the things that sets Olga's tours apart is that she has cultivated a real relationship with the owners of the wineries we were visiting. This wasn't a quick drop in, taste some wine, and then get out. We sat down with the winemakers at their tables, and talked for hours not only about wine, winemaking, and wine history, but on a wide variety of subjects. We learned not only about wine, but about the history and culture of the Canary Islands. Olga is an excellent translator, so whenever there was any language barrier she quickly would be able to step in and help translate.

We met one winemaker who was using an ancient method of braiding his vines. We met another that was instrumental in getting Tenerife designates as a DOC winemaking region. And both were eager to share their time and knowledge with us.

If you care at all about wine and the place you are visiting, this is the tour to go on. Olga is amazing and she will show you a side of Tenerife that you quite simply would not have an opportunity to see otherwise. It was a highlight of our honeymoon and will be a highlight of your vacation!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Merikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Propietario at Tenerife Wine Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to show you the wine culture of the island and it makes me very happy to have contributed to your special vacation !!
Olga xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We are 3 couples that visit Tenerife frequently. We are so glad we found Olga and her tours. We did a wine tasting tour in January. The tours takes you around the vineyards of Tenerife, visiting Winemakers and restaurants, chosen by Olga´s expertise. Olga is a well of information and fun to be with. We will be back for more tours with Olga on our next visit. I highly recommend this tour and the company

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tyffi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Gerente at Tenerife Wine Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you Tyffi !!
Hope to see you next year, there is a lot more wine to taste.
Olga xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenerife Wine Experience also viewed

 
Icod de los Vinos, Tenerife
El Sauzal, Tenerife
 

Been to Tenerife Wine Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing