We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No food?????”
Review of Casa Fernando

Casa Fernando
Ranked #279 of 2,506 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I read about this place in a travel article, The concept seemed appealing, fresh seafood displayed on a counter of ice for you to select and have prepared. Their website lists a wide array of seafood available fresh from the market. I arrived for a 9 pm reservation, 9 pm not being a particularly late time for dining in Spain. The ice counter was empty. There was a single bag of mussels, an octopus brochette, and two broken leftover langoustines. The unshaven guy behind the counter simply shrugged and and said sorry out of food.

The restaurant supposedly serves as late as MN, and was out of food by 9 PM? In the meantime I wasted 25 euros on taxi fare to and from the center of Palma. Had this place had any regard for its customers, they should have at least called all of us with reservations that evening to tell us not to come.

If you must eat here, please go by 6 PM or else call them in advance to see if they actually plan to offer you anything. I would avoid this place, you will find a warmer welcome elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 736dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoDA34, Propietario at Casa Fernando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018
Google Translation

First of all I apologize for what happened since you have every reason in the world.
One of the problems was that there were many people at noon, for the holidays of Easter.
Also with so many holidays the fishermen did not leave and that is why we also ran out of gender.
I understand your anger because my responsibility is to have enough gender and the showcase full.
But it was a cumulo of circumstance and I ran out of genre.
And ninely I apologize for the taxi our mistake was not to see him re-started the amount of the trip.
If you ever want to come back let me know and I personally are everything possible so that you can enjoy our restaurant.
Greetings and excuse me.


En primer lugar le pido disculpas por lo ocurrido ya que tiene toda la razón del mundo.
Uno de los problemas fue que hubo mucha gente al medio día, por los días festivos de semana santa.
También con tantos días de fiesta los pescadores no salieron y por eso también se nos acabo el genero.
Entiendo su enfado ya que mi responsabilidad es tener el genero suficiente y la vitrina llena.
Pero fue un cumulo de circustancia y se me acabo el genero.
Y nuevemente le pido disculpas por lo del taxi nuestro error fue no a verle reembolsado el importe del trayecto.
Si alguna vez quieren volver agamelo saber y yo personalmente are todo lo posible para que puedan disfrutar de nuestro restaurante.
Un saludo y perdone.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018

The seafood seems quite fresh but.....everything was fried in a lot of oil, turning a light seafood meal into a very heavy adventure in greasy spoon cuisine. Unfortunate that the place is still living on old merits. Ridiculously expensive for what you get. Too far out of the city for these prices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoDA34, Propietario at Casa Fernando, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We regret that it has not been to your liking, we understand that you may not like everyone as you do, but the vast majority likes our restaurant and our system. we will try to improve, for the future. thanks and best regards.

Lamentamos que no haya sido de su agrado, entendemos que no le pueda gustar a todo el mundo como a usted,pero la gran mayoria le gusta nuestro restaurante y nuestro sistema. intentaremos mejorar, para el futuro. gracias y un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Love this place for its simple dishes.
Just fish, seafood and vegetables prepared on the grill.
Super fresh and tasty - not cheap though.
But worth the money and I always leave with a smile on my face !

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

My family and wide circle of friends consider this the best restaurant in the area. Whether in or out of season this restaurant maintains its high levels of quality and service.

We had our favourite 'Lubina a la sal' (sea bass in salt crust), preceded by 'coquinas' (tiny clams), tempura prawns and fried egg plant. All absolutely exquisite.

Thank Hamid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

A funny restaurant there you first chose the fish or other sea food laying on ice in the counter. Then you chose the vegetables! There are no potatoes or pasta. Started with different vegetables while the fish was prepared. When my fish arrived it was excellent! Finished with a dessert which was ok but not spectacular. Lots of pictures on the walls with the proprietor together with the Spanish king or other celebrity’s.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anders Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Fernando also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Casa Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing