We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Light Meal”
Review of SUA SAN

SUA SAN
Ranked #56 of 1,308 Restaurants in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 23
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Incredible salads, prepared pintxos. Healthy food without sacrificing delicious flavors.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We found Sua San to be a nice casual dining place to have simple, healthful fare in the evening. This small cafe stood about a 3-minute walk from our hotel and met our need one night fo avoid a heavy dinner at 9:45 p.m. The small menu features salads, sandwiches, soups, grains and other simple offerings.

I opted for an avocado salad, which arrived filled with fresh ingredients, including pine nuts that added a crunchiness to the texture. My husband chose a grilled chicken sandwich, with a thin bread made in-house. The bread tasted like cardboard, which was a drawback to his meal.

Our friendly waiter spoke English and was attentive throughout our stay. Only two other tables had customers, but a few groups were turned away in a pleasant manner after 10 p.m. when the cafe had stopped serving. We considered the prices here to be reasonable. Our bill, which included a glass of wine and a cup of green tea, came to 15.80 E (about $20 U.S.).

Sua San also serves breakfast and lunch. It is located across the street from the Guggenheim Museum.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018

A small little cafe with enough selection for everyone. Had a great meal. Food was good and decently priced.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Carven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

The place is small and cozy but for breakfast, they really have it down to a science. You pick a pastry or sandwich and order coffee, and you are good to go. Prices are reasonable and location is top notch.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LSanchez304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We followed a recommendation for this place and I’m so glad we did. We had eggs Benedict with salad and coffee. Heavenly. The music was a bit too loud but the staff were friendly and helpful and gave us an English menu too! Recommend the apple cake.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank LeoniBJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

There are not many brunch places in Bilbao so we were excited to try this one. Overall we were pretty underwhelmed. We ordered the eggs benedict with ham and the eggs on bagel with guacamole. In both cases the eggs were very undercooked, the whites were same consistency as the yolks. The salad was strange with a very strong salty dressing that didn't go with the eggs. Plus the background rave music didn't give the most relaxing vibe.

On the other hand the coffee was very good, one of the best I've had in Bilbao. All in all pretty average experience but credit for trying something a bit different.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 620benjaminp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SUA SAN also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to SUA SAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing