We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
133
222
73
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
222
73
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar star hotel nice breakfast buffet outdoor pool fantastic location ocean view the underground car park modern hotel old town room service promenade gym wifi spain toiletries cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We were just passing through and wanted a decent hotel to spend the night and continue our journey, The room is very nice and clean, size and amenities are good great bed and great restful night, they were short of personnel and check in was a bit slow because the receptionist kept reviving calls and she was alone; We did not realize the hotel was right on the beach until the morning, so that is a big deal if you are looking for sun and beach; Breakfast buffet was well presented and complete, but I mus say that was the most expensive breakfast we paid in Spain 16 Euros per person. Expensive for a 4 star hotel. good free internet.

Room Tip: Ocean View
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Carlos

Thank you very much for your review.
We're glad you've enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We chose this hotel because of the location and the facilities, we were looking forward to relaxing and sunbathing around the pool but it wasn't open! We were told it would be open in 21 days time when it would be 'summer'? Our second disappointment was when we went onto the roof terrace - which according to the photos on the website is a fabulous area to enjoy drinks - again this area wasn't open, in fact it was clearly undergoing renovations as there were tools everywhere, a notice at the bottom of the stairs saying closed would have helped, it remained closed for the duration of our stay. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, most spoke enough English and the food was good. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful. The waiter in the first floor bar was a trainee and quite slow (not his fault) he clearly needed assistance as he was expected to do everything, serve and wait on tables, clear tables and take food orders. Unfortunately whilst he was doing all of these things customers were left waiting for an unacceptable length of time, on one occasion we left as no-one came to serve us despite us ringing the call bell several times.

Room Tip: Make sure all facilities will be open at the time of your visit.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank craftybirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear clients.

We are glad you've enjoyed your stay with us, although some of our facilities weren't open.
We invite you to vist our website on your next visit where you can check the timetables for our facilities.
We would like also to apologize for the service in our bar.
Thank yopu very much for your comments and for the time taken in you review.
Hope to hear from you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

It is a very modern and well located hotel. You can enjoy some drinks on the roof terasse and overlook the whole beach. The restaurant is also very good (reasonable pricing), but I would really recommend to eat in a Tappas bar in the old town.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank PortAdriano78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your comments.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Spent 2 days for business purpose in Gijon and stayed in this hotel as the usual I stay was full. It was a great surprise.
The hotel is awesome, perfect located in the summer time if you want to go to the beach, but in winter as well to go out for a walk (10-15 minutes stroll to city center) or run alongside the beach.
Breakfast is very complete, and the wifi signal is good.
The rooftop bar was of course closed but the inside bar is very reasonable as well. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your comments. Hope to have you again with us soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I have stayed at this hotel several times. Nice property. Worth staying on the ocean side if possible, you can see the harbor and ocean. The windows can be open if the weather is nice. Hotel has a good breakfast if you booked w. it included. The 2nd floor bar is cozy if it is open. Rooms are clean. It is close to many of the restaurants downtown. A little pricey for the area though.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattG4041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, General Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Daniel Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews