We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, period decor, helpful staff, great value”
Review of Simon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simon Hotel
Ranked #49 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Dallas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good location, period decor, helpful staff, great value”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked two rooms by emailing the hotel direct. The single room was small, without a view, but had an en suite bath and was adequate for the price. The double superior room was large, had a sitting area with armchairs, large armoire with full length mirror, credenza with drawers. There is no TV in the room, and we did not miss it. The bathroom was also large, with a bathtub and shower. Water pressure was good, showers were hot. Our double room was on the 2nd floor and faced the street at the rear of the hotel. There was no street noise, and we heard no sounds at night. The rooms and bathrooms were centrally heated and were comfortably warm. Linens were changed every day. The hotel provides soap and a hair dryer, but no shampoo. There are convenience stores on the same street that sell shampoo. There was free wi-fi in the patio, with good internet speeds. We enjoyed the ambience of the patio while using our laptops every day. Breakfast is extra - we did not try it at the hotel. We ate at the cafe on the corner which was excellent and provided more choices. It's a 5 minute walk to the nearest taxi stand, at the corner of the Cathedral. There are several restaurants nearby, and it's about a 10-12 minute walk to the Centro area if you want more choices. The front desk staff were helpful and well-informed. We used a laundry with an attendant which was 5 minutes away - reasonable prices and ready for pick-up the same day. We loved the hotel and would return if we visit Seville again.

Room Tip: Get the Double superior room - it's wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    345
    93
    37
    18
See reviews for
118
304
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful. My single room was quite small as was the bathroom, but my sister and brother-in-laws room was quite nice and had a spacious bath. The hotel is only a few steps to the Cathedral and other highlights and close to a number of eateries. We walked everywhere from the hotel! We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others -- it's a good value for it's location and helpfulness!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonlee1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

It can be confusing, when reviews vary so wildly - but I can honestly say, that the Simon is a very good Hotel indeed. I base this review on; fact, experience and opinion. I've stayed in Seville many times, from 5 star Luxury(Alfonso XIII) to 3 star average(Hotel Derby), however Simon remains my personal favourite and I would highly recommend it.

In my opinion the Simon's positives:-

- A refreshingly unpretentious Hotel - the exact opposite of faceless minimalism.
- It is an atmospheric place, with a timeless quality, a haven of calm and beauty, with charming and traditional interiors.
- Great, central location in the Historic centre - within easy walking to the Cathedral, Alcazar, Santa Cruz area, Restaurants, bars and shopping.
- Clean and comfortable guest rooms.
- Each room is different - some are huge and Grand, some are intimate and cosy, and I have found each one of the rooms I've stayed in to be lovely, whether standard or superior.
- Very (VERY) reasonable rates, between 75 - 100euros per room (for one of the best rooms)
- Polite, efficient and non obsequious staff, i.e. arranging taxis, (pick up and drop off can be right outside the Hotel, so no issues with luggage as other reviewers have said) help with local info, maps etc and if you were to request a particular room when booking I know they will do their best to oblige.

The negatives:-
(These are not really negatives for me, but may be for some.)

- Although the Breakfast room is beautifully tiled and breakfasts are only 5euros, sadly they are not very good. (Breakfast at the Horno de San Buenaventura cafe on the corner instead)
- There is no proper room service, but there is an incongruous (yet welcome) bottled soft drink dispenser machine in the lobby.

In short:-
If you crave the empty Luxury of a chain Hotel, one that has no sense of which Town, City or Country it is in - you will probably hate the Simon, and all it stands for.

But, on the other hand - If you are keen to feel part of Seville, yet distance yourself a little from the traps of Tourism, you will love the Simon. In my opinion it is an excellent base from which to explore the City - one of the most beautiful and vibrant Cities in the World.

(Take a look at my Trip Report for more Seville Tips)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dondenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
499 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked this hotel by telephone. We asked for the BEST rooms in the house. We found this hotel in hotel guide. The guide showed lovely pictures of their Moorish styled tiled rooms. On arrival we were greeted by rude staff and given our room keys. On entering our rooms, under the eaves we were horrified to see they were just characterless cells, tattily furnished and not very clean. We returned to reception to request a change of rooms and were told the rooms we had been given WERE the best rooms in the hotel. We then asked them why they had not photographed them for the guide instead of the tiled rooms, to which we received the reply that in her opinion those we had been given WERE the best rooms. We were shown another room on the first floor, furnished with antiques, which would be available the following night but two rooms would not be available. Not wishing to keep moving rooms each night we stuck with our given rooms. If I had been the owner/manager of the hotel the member of staff would have been sacked on the spot for her rudeness.
We are both Interior designers with businessmen husbands, all in our 50/60s so cannot understand the animosity we received. Not even an acknowledgement on leaving or entering the hotel. The whole place is in dire need of a thorough clean and refurbishment. We are complaining to the owners separately and will broadcast our disgust to all our contacts.
It was not a question of not being understood properly when we booked as we live in Spain and speak good Spanish.
We cannot have been the only people who disliked the place as no-one appeared to breakfast in the hotel.
The hotel is, however, very central which is its only good point. There is no parking or access at all by car for the letting down of people and luggage. We had to park in a public car park and wheel our cases for 20 minutes to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. It's a lovely hotel in an excellent location; very clean and comfortable; full of beautiful antique furniture that really give it an air of faded grandeur. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's excellent value for money and we are amazed that you can get somewhere this good in the centre of Seville for this price. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyhurst20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#40 of 176 in Seville
720 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
703 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#35 of 176 in Seville
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#44 of 176 in Seville
477 reviews
Hotel Europa
#102 of 176 in Seville
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon Hotel

Property: Simon Hotel
Address: Calle Garcia de Vinuesa 19, 41001 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Seville
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price range (per night): $64 - $161
Hotel Class:1 star — Simon Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Simon is an impressive 18th-century mansion in central Seville, just 50 metres from the city's famous cathedral. It offers a beautiful central courtyard, 24-hour front desk and air-conditioned rooms. The rooms at the Simon feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Some rooms have traditional Andalusian decor, with ornate tiles and dark wood furniture. The hotel serves a buffet breakfast in the central courtyard. There are many restaurants and bars within 5 minutes' walk of the hotel. The hotel is less than 5 minutes' walk from the Archive of the Indies, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. You can also walk to the famous Maestranza Bullring in 3 minutes. Hotel Simon can provide a Santiago Pilgrims Passport for the Via de la Plata Route from Seville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simon Hotel Seville
Hotel Simon Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing