We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good boutique hotel, very good staff, and great rooms”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we stayed in seville for a day, the staff is very friendly and provide great hospitality. The rooms and teh bathrooms are beautiful. They have a spa facility on the top floor which has a great view and the jacquizzie on the terrace is aawesome. the timings for the spa wer 8 to 8 pm i think and we got late, however on request they even let us use the spa after the closing time.
the railway station is far though but that is better because one can walk to all the major attractions from here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyms A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,246 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great location ! great service

enjoy the sightseeing ..

nice rooms, every floor is given to a painter

Room Tip: For business and pleasure, its located in the ideal location great service and helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarwanAlSarkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We should have been warned off by the smell in the hotel lobby, where generous amounts of some nauseating perfume were continuously pumped into the air through the ventilation system. However, the receptionist assured us that this was only done on the ground floor level. So when perfume entered our 7th floor room through a malfunctioning a/c system, we had to turn off the ventilation, and open a window to breathe some fresh air. We were offered another room, but we preferred to stay, and not use the ventilation system.
Otherwise our room was OK with a fabulous deck, complete with a private jacuzzi, and the most spectacular view over the Seville city center. Hotel service is quite good in most areas, although the "Red Level Lounge" was clearly understaffed. The breakfast area feels cramped, even at low occupation.
The hotel has a somewhat "over-designed" feel to it, where many interior details are more flashy than functional. Considering the price/comfort ratio we are not likely to return, even if the perfume pollution should be abolished.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Denmark46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a stylish hotel which is in a great position in the heart of Seville. The refurbishment a couple of years ago means this is a designer/styled modern hotel. Lots of really friendly and attentive staff, nice room, good facilities but..............the lighting system in the rooms is WAY overcomplicated and after 3 days we still couldn't turn the lights out in the bathroom. An unfortunate victory of style over practicality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband, two daughters (13 & 11) stayed here in July. We were greeted by the Red Level concierge. She was very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great. The wait staff was very attentive, maybe too much sometimes, as our plates disappeared before we were finished. The rooms were great. We had rooms next door to each other, not adjoining. I am not sure that was available. This hotel is a perfect location it's a short walk to all the major attractions. And, for my 13 year old, the shopping was close by as well. As an extra note, it was my birthday and they provided some delicious treats with some champagne for us to celebrate. It is a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have children, you may want to avoid grabbing a snack in the bar. They are showing bullfight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,231 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $259 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing