We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff”

La Cuchara de Carmela
Get food delivered
Ranked #99 of 1,848 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Realejo - San Matias
Description: Flavours and aromas typical of grandmother's home cooking The old Customs House – emblematic building of the city and gateway to the historical centre of Granada – welcomes the most traditional cuisine of Grupo Gastronómico Carmela. La Cuchara de Carmela transports us to the flavours and aromas of grandmother’s home cooking, made on a slow fire with a lot of love and the best quality products. Its kitchen is open all day (from 13 noon to 12 midnight) and offers traditional spoon dishes and a selection of meats and wines that will bring you closer to the local and Andalusian gastronomy with unbeatable views of the River Genil. Ideal for groups and family meals, we await you on our air-conditioned terrace, main hall or private lounge with a viewpoint.
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This place was right next to our hotel and it was great. Good range of drinks at good prices, free Tapas with alcohol. The main meals were really good quality and showcased local produce. Sitting outside on a hot night under the mist sprays was lovely. This became our 'local' as we were there for 10 days and we tried most things on the menu - nothing disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear chewat,
Thank you for your comments. It's great to know that you had a fantastic experience at La Cuchara de Carmela and you liked our local cuisine.
We hope you can visit us again very soon :)
Best regards from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Although only visiting Granada for 2 nights, we ended up at this restaurant both evenings as it is simply perfect - food, friendly staff and atmosphere. Dishes are very well prepared and reasonably priced. Setting is informal but elegant.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank StoffHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear SavertFamily,
Many thanks for your comment!
It has been a pleasure to read your kind words about us.
We will be waiting for your next visit to Granada.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Why such a high rating is a mystery. The service is excellent but the food is average at best. Its more a street cafe than a restaurant, right next to a busy road and with a constant stream of pedestrians, cyclists, dog walkers etc passing through. For dinner Granada has so much more to offer.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobbyRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Bobby,
First of all thank you for taking time to share your experience at the restaurant. We think, maybe, you are wrong because El Pescaíto de Carmela isn't near a "busy road". It's located at the city center, in a pedestrian street, just down the Cathedral.
Anyway, we don't allow dogs or any animals at our restaurant, but we can't avoid pedestrian or cyclist at the street.
We hope you change your opinion and decide to come back.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We came here for an early dinner in July 2016.

Location is by a busy crossroads next to the river but you are screened from the road so although there is not much to see, you don't have to look at the road.

First impressions from the staff were excellent. We were greeted with a friendly smile and our waitress was excellent throughout the meal. When I ordered 2 more croquettes and she misheard and brought 2 cokes, she handled it with no fuss and a smile.

The food was very good, we had starters of croquettes and potato salad both of which were delicious. Mains were battered cod and pork loin, both very good and the desserts were fried custard (tasty).

The price was reasonable, so all in all a very pleasant experience, good food, reasonable price and excellent service.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Dennis,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are really happy to hear that you were satisfied with the experience at our restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards from all the tema at La Cuchara de Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

In total, this is not a super special place and there are more like it nearby. But we enjoyed our food and tapas and the lava-cake for desert in particular. You can tell the chef put his heart into it!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pacifico W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Pacifico W,
Thank you for your post. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, especially our Coulant de Chocolate
We hope to see you again soon to discover more our cuisine.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cuchara de Carmela also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Cuchara de Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.