We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the very middle of Granada”
Review of Hostal Atenas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Atenas
Ranked #43 of 96 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you're looking for a cheap, simple and clean hotel, and you want to reach from it all the main attractions of this beautiful city...well you have to choose this hotel. It's situated on the main road of the city, Gran Via Colòn, where you can take the bus if you want to go to Alhambra, from where you can get to the Cathedral in 2 mins walking, from where you can get to the shopping street in 5 mins, and from where you can get to the arabian Albayzin Barrio in 10 mins walking!
Only one fault: the wi-fi connection was too slow.
Great the hotel and great the city!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Clean and cheap accomodation, one of my best in south Spain. Hotel style accomodation in the center of Granada.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

If you want something cheap and clean with an excellent location for exploring Granada, this is the place!

We are a family of 4 comprising 2 adults and 2 small children and we loved this Hostel. We stayed here during Holy week in April 2011 and loved it.

We paid €50 per night for the 4 of us (room only) there were 6 single beds in our room and an adequate ensuite bathroom along with soap, shampoo and towels at TV and aircon!

The hostel is within 5 minute's walk of the centre of town and there are lots of places to eat and drink.

I would reccommend that you ask for a room at the top of the hostel as we could see part of the Alhambra Palace from our room over the terracotta roof tops. Although, do be aware especially if you have small children that there are tiny balconies that are 6 floors up where children would possibly not be safe. We kept our windows locked so that the children were safe and there was aircon in our room so we didn't need to open the window.

All in all this place is clean and great value for money. When we return to Granada we would stay here!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the top of the hostel to get food views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopy_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We too were with an Intrepid group and most of the group suffered bad experiences with this hotel. The lift didn't work, fine, that happens, 5 floors is tough though. The room had a makeover but was near the laundry and the noise of the workers. The shower cubicle was absurd, I shudder to think what a large person would do. The water from the shower escaped onto the new tile floor to create a flood and then disappeared to the ceilings of the rooms below because the tiles were not grouted. We went to bed to discover the sheets had not been changed and were dirty and covered with male hairs. We politely requested clean sheets for the next night from the receptionist who appeared rude and disinterested. We slept on top of the covers. The next night after being out all day, we arrived back at the room late to discover the dirty sheets had not been changed. Other members of this group had lice in their bed. The group voted the hotel as disgraceful and the service rude.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour group. My room smelt heavily of washing detergent since I was very close to the housekeeping area/washing machines. Since I basically used the room as a place to rest my head and spent absolutely no time in my room - this was fine for me but if you get a room close to this area I would reccomend trying to change. Overall my room was clean, towels had been laundered but one of them had a bit of a stain so I exchanged for a new one, the size of the room was adequate for two average sized adults however I have to say the shower stall was very compact! I am a petite female and it was tight for me but I managed - maybe a bit of a challenge for other travellers. Other than all this the location was fantastic - walking distance to all the sights and restaurants, there is actually an alley right behind the restaurant which is home to tonnes of restaurants. A good stay overall, in that hostal staff were friendly, wifi connection available with a code, a great little cafe for breakfast right next door. Don't expect luxury if you are staying here and at the same time (although we saw lots of backpackers) this is not a hostel but rather a hotel with no frills.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the housekeeping laundry facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgal_5219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Cedran Hotel
Cedran Hotel
#106 of 124 in Granada
161 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#32 of 124 in Granada
548 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#33 of 124 in Granada
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abadia Hotel Granada
#70 of 124 in Granada
389 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 124 in Granada
1,014 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Atenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Atenas

Address: Gran Via de Colon, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $27 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Atenas 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is located in the heart of Granada in one of the main streets in the city, Gran Via de Colon, a five minute walk to the Cathedral. Situated within an emblematic building from 1950, it is an inscribed building in the special Plan for the protection of our historic centre. In order to adapt the building to the specifications and comforts clients are seeking in a two star hostel , it has been refurbished several times. Therefore we invite you to stay in our establishment and visit a city that will captivate you with its unusual enchantment, monuments and beautifully hidden places. It is one of the hostels in Granada with a large capacity, having 77 rooms which are all decorated in a modern style including bathroom, television, air conditioning, heating and Wi-fi (FREE). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Atenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Atenas Granada
Hostal Atenas Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing