We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whats the problem ! this hotel is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macia Monasterio Los Basilios
Ranked #70 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Got a good deal 70 euros per night, ate dinner in the restaurant- menu del dia , fine .we had a newly refurbished modern room with balcony overlooking the playground, views of the mountains,extremely clean and comfortable , quiet.close to the cntre the river was high,last year just a trickle !, great cheap bars, cafes etc just across the bridge also went to the Maria del Canestera Zambra flamenco in sacromente, fabulous.Drove down to the beach at salobrena next day.only minus was the website directions hopeless , best to come off motorway at J 31 go past palacio de congresia then follow signs to the car park behind the hotel-which was really good price for overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank illorafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2010

Some of the reviews talk about ugly and old rooms. Mine was actually newly renovated, comfortable, and with a spotless bathroom. I understand that the hotel is still in the process of being fixed, so if you book, make sure they give you a room in one of the renovated floors. Pretty fast wifi. Uninteresting breakfast, but can do for a couple of days. The main problem of the hotel is that there is a school yard next to it, which makes it a VERY noisy place if you want to sleep inn one day. One of the receptionists was always on the phone when I went to the reception to either pick or leave my key, he hardly looked at me, which got annoying after a couple of days. I would say this is a good hotel for a couple of nights, but if you are staying longer it quickly becomes a poor choice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kari2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This is NOT a three star hotel at all !!

We paid 120 euros for a terrible room, in an awfull building that looks like an old communist school ! Furniture is just hugly and the thing they call bathroom looks more like a torture room... And I won't talk about the smell...

Frankly, Ii ts the firt time I make a review on a traveller site and it's because I hope it will help someone not to ruin its hollydays ! We finally change hotels and found a real three star hotel with great service and a nice and clean room... Yes it is usually like that in spain :-)

Avoid this hotel... it's howned by a bunch of liars... period.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ton1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

For those who have been in Iceland, it looks really like the "Hotel Edda" (hotel in a boarding school during the summer vacation) in more expensive and the dirt in addition. In our point of view, a lot too expensive for what you get. We initially booked 2 nights but moved after 1 and found a very nice cosy hotel next to the cathedral for the same price (hotel Casa de Federico).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratatouille73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I spent three days in Granada with my boyfriend and found this hotel randomly as I was searching good reviews for places in Granada. We chose this one because it was quite a bit cheaper than all the other hotels suggested (that didn't look as new/in good shape). The hotel is very well situated, a short walk from de center where all the shops are. Plus, a direct bus going from the central bus station stops right in front of the hotel, so you don't need to bother with a taxi or walk a lot.
The hotel is very charming as it takes place in a former monestary. The room was a good surprise as well. Although I recommend to ask specifically for a non smoking room as I didn't and there was a slight smell. The room was modern and seemed recent, but in a "chic and cheap" way. Meaning that it's not a five star hotel but they really did an effort to make it look good. The bathroom was very satisfying. Spacious and good shower/bath tub but the lighting wasn't great (detail). The room had air conditionning which is probably important during hot months. We had a large terrace aswell that wasn't mentioned anywhere so that was a good surprise, and a view on the Sierra Nevada in the background that was very pleasant.
Another detail is that they don't have minibars in the rooms so you might want to buy a bottle of water at some point, good thing there's a supermarket across the street.
All in all I had a very pleasant stay, and was very happy to have found this hotel. I strongly recommend it."

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-hotel-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Macia Plaza
Hotel Macia Plaza
#39 of 122 in Granada
642 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Dauro Granada
Hotel Dauro Granada
#41 of 122 in Granada
677 reviews
1.0 km away
Reino de Granada Hotel
Reino de Granada Hotel
#88 of 122 in Granada
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Macia Condor
Macia Condor
#96 of 122 in Granada
366 reviews
0.6 km away
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#48 of 122 in Granada
732 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macia Monasterio Los Basilios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macia Monasterio Los Basilios

Address: Paseo Basilios 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $69 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macia Monasterio Los Basilios 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Macia Monasterio Los Basilios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Monasterio Los Basilios Hotel Granada
Macia Monasterio Los Basilios Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing