We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best hotel in all of Granada!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shine Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shine Albayzin
Ranked #36 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Malta (Europe)
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best hotel in all of Granada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two-night stay at the Hotel Shine Albayzin. This hotel was perfect in every way. It is in the heart of the Moorish Albayzin district, right by the river (so no steps to climb) and one can hear the pleasant sound of the rushing river from your room. The Deluxe room I booked was a suite with two large balconies and a fantastic view of the Alhambra Palace. At night, this view was utter magic. It is an extremely stylish boutique hotel with lovely parquet floors, exquisite beamed ceilings and trendy furnishings. Our room was huge, very quiet and immaculately clean. The reception staff were extremely helpful/ friendly and the breakfast (buffet) was very good. I adored the sprinkling of authentic antiques with the modern design, and the central courtyard and running loggias gave it the moorish feel of an old riad. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and I will surely stay here again when in Granada.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe Room with balconies and a view of the Alhambra Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    98
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
70
210
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

What everyone says is true - its a lovely spot and you will say ahhh all the way up to your room as the house is charming and has been lovingly restored. Only trouble we had was in trying to get anything more that rudimentary help from the desk. No one was unpleasant but the folks running the 'desk' were more like clerks and watchmen. They could check you in, handle your luggage and talk about a few restaurants but they did not offer much help other than that. One of the men spoke very little Spanish and very little English even! It was more like an apartment property with someone to buzz you in and out, but not really a "hotel'. Breakfast was fine, nothing exciting. Internet was squirrely, found only in the lobby and required some voodoo to work on a Mac (which no one seemed to know)
Location is tremendous. Quiet and totally delightful part of town. I would recommend this place- just not for people who might be going abroad the first time.

Room Tip: Third floor had a stairway up to it after the elevator but was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great location on the Paseo de los Tristes facing the Alhambra, and right behind the Albayzin. Modern design and very clean rooms. The perfect base from which to wander around Granada. We had a room that faces the courtyard, so it was very quiet.

The only problem to watch out for is that the hot water tank is the room is small, so my friend and I couldn't take showers back-to-back in the morning and had to wait for >20 min for the water to heat up again.

The flamenco show in sacromente that the hotel recommended to us was excellent. Before the show, the guide took us on a night walking tour of the Albayzin, including an amazing view of the Alhambra from the viewpoint at St. Nicolas. Well worth it. Just bring walking shoes for the climbs and pebble stone streets!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Shine Albayzin is in an excellent location, close to the Alahambra, shops and restaurants. We took a taxi from the bus station which was excellent value for €10. The hotel has been renovated beautifully. You enter through a heavy wooden door and step into an internal courtyard. There was a warm welcome and a fuss free check-in. The service is discrete and I agree with the other traveller who said that the staff almost blend into the background but are there if you need anything. Our room was on the second floor and faced into the courtyard. It was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and had adequate storage and the invaluable room safe. The bathroom was large and well stocked. The shower is enormous and the 20 minute time limit on hot water didn't cause us a problem. There were two single bed which were pushed together but they were really comfortable and extra blankets were provided. There was air conditioning which we didn't use as the interior of the building was really cool but maybe airless. To be fair the awning is wound back during the day so that the courtyard becomes open to the elements (fabulous blue sky and the Alahambra towering over you). You can open the window in your room but the downside to this is the noise from reception - check-outs and ringing phone (which is minimal). It is lovely to sit on the landing and listen to the fountain - so peaceful. Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel. It's close to everything particularly the fascinating Albayzin area which I'd urge you to put on your walking shoes and explore. We didn't sign-up for breakfast which was available to for €10 per day per per person. Our room rate was excellent value at €80 per night.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms beside the lift entrance. It might be a bit noisy. We stayed in 204 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paperface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

What a wonderful boutique hotel experience. The staff blended into the hotel but were there when you needed them. The hotel seemed to run itself. Such a chilled and laid back experience. One problem was someone had smoked in our room before we got there (bleorgh - how selfish), but otherwise we couldn't fault our experience there. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, on the second floor, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheemchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#8 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shine Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shine Albayzin

Property: Shine Albayzin
Address: Carrera Darro 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#37 Family Hotel in Granada
Price range (per night): $96 - $186
Hotel Class:3 star — Shine Albayzin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Shine Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shine Albayzin Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing