We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a great holiday!!!”

Review of Villa Catriona

Front of Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Villa
Al fresco dining Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Front of Villa
Al fresco dining
Terrace
Pool
Lounge area
Dining area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tara c
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a great holiday!!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place is fantastic!!! I was one of a party of 8 ( aged 3-66) and the villa was perfect for all of us. This place is huge!! The photos really dont do it justice. There are 4 lovely bedrooms and 4 restrooms, all very clean and tidy. Each room had a fan in the cupboard as well as extra bedding and pillows. The garage has been made into a games room which was good fun. It is very cool down there and this is used as another bedroom as there is a sofabed. The kitchen was well equipt for our needs and the utility room was a blessing, saving us all the washing at home! The lounge\diner was very comfortable, but the sky box had limited channels and the WiFi had to be paid for. Previous guests have left games and books which was great to pass time at night and the pool has a brilliant selection of inflatables and water guns in the store room next to the pool. The promenade and beach where a 2 minute walk from the villa, with tons of restaurants, bars, shops and kiosks all along the beach front. The train station (Los Alamos) is no more than a 10 minute walk away. There are several supermarkets within walking distance too. I will definitely be recommending villa catriona to friends and would come here again should we return to Spain. Thanks to Pat and the ladies from the agency who where so kind and helpful!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Delighted that you found everything up to standard and had a great holiday.Thanks for the good review and we appreciate feedback and try to anticipate problems, but certainly we also react immediately to any issues that may be raised by our guests: This is our first year with wifi as cannot get a permanent installation and we will review the charging basis.Glad that you used the local Los Almos rail facility which we mention to all our guests.

pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I really enjoyed my recent holiday in Villa Catriona-I had read and agree with most of the other reviews, the villa is stunning, and met and exceeded our expectations: The local agency responded within a few hours to one problem with electricity which was most impressive and we had a very good relationship with the owner Pat, who responded quickly to our queries. Our children and adults in the party really enjoyed the table tennis and the play area downstairs was constantly in use in the evenings.

The swimming pool was excellent but a pity that we did not have more hours of sunshine to spend more time in the pool.

Beach and shops were just a few minutes' walk from the villa with excellent promenade for leisurely strolls.

Strongly recommend and will probably return again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and would love to have you back as a guest in the future.

pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier28...
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location , lovely villa, plenty of room for everyone!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Villa Catriona , Torremolinos over the new year with our grown up children and grandchildren.

Such a great location, two stops from the airport and right beside the beach, one minutes walk to the med ocean and the great promenade at Los Alamos Torremolinos, couldn’t have been better!!!

The villa had lots of space for all the adults and the grandchildren loved the pool table and table tennis, it was a bit cold for the pool so the games room kept them well amused!

Villa had all mod cons needed and anything that wasn’t there, like a tin opener which we needed, we just called the agents at SPM Rentals and it was delivered down within an hour! Great friendly service nothing was a problem, we will be back!!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Delighted that all went so well for you all and would love to welcome you back to villa catriona.
pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob T
Rochester Kent UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dissappointing.”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Villa Catriona. I was very surprised to read the recent reviews on here as sad to say we found the property ideal but in need of a makeover and deep cleansing, so we wondered if the reviews we read were for this actual villa. We hired a car for a couple of days but was unable to use the garage and driveway because it was all chained up, also the gate hydraulics on both sides were ripped from the walls so we had to parked outside hoping not to get a ticket as there was no parking permit, it ran out in 2013 according to the one attached to the gate. The TV had a Sky card but not current, just the usual Sky News, Church and Shopping Channels. There was no wine reception and guided tour on arrival like the previous reviews. There were 2 safes in the main bedroom, one locked and one open but NO KEY’S. The Air Con Drain away in the main bedroom had a broken outlet pipe which allowed the water to flow over the balcony area and below. There was also a broken drain in the pool, we had to remove all the broken bits, but did receive one toe injury when discovering the drain initially. The mattresses were badly stained and we felt that they should have had protective covers , also the two fold up beds in the basement games room were not acceptable so we had to use a mattress on the main living room floor. As the book say’s “Electrics liable to trip out” (twice for us) meter behind the front door? No it was down behind a door to the basement section “Games Room” which also housed a TV that was totally dead, and the pool table was held up on an array of table tennis bats to try to balance the ball (spirit level provided). No DVD’s apart from 1 case with no disk. Although the Villa was in an acceptable condition inside, there was an accumulation of rubbish out in the washing line area and also the Barbie storage area and speaking of the BBQ this had no legs attached but two large broken bricks to stand it on. The Air Conditioning was in two rooms only, one bedroom and the main living room, but there were fans in the other rooms with an accumulation of dust on them that they were not up to full potential. The bedroom air con unit was so noisy it had to be turned off whilst trying to sleep. We had to repair the shutters in the main bedroom as they had been over wound and had vanished up into the storage box section. Such a pity as the location was great and we did enjoy Torremolinos but was wondering why Catriona when it was named Villa Flamingo on the main gate. Our £250 deposit was not returned to the originators bank as promised within 14 days, in fact I am wondering how long it would have taken had we not enquired 2 weeks after our return. It was returned in the 4th week. Sad to say we would not return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The Villa position was handy for beach and the pool was good.
Liked least: Lack of property maintenance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
While we are sorry that this client did not find the villa up to his expectations, we have two main observations:

1 This was a 2 week booking, yet not once during this period, did the client make a complaint to our agents despite having email and telephone details and not once to the owner until after the holiday.
2 Our rebooking rate is now running at about 25% and one family are returning next year for the fourth time: So they all feel that the villa is excellent value and the few people who bother or have the time for reviews, have only praise for the condition of the villa and the service from agents and owners.

Our agents have responded to all the issues and as far as they are concerned, most of these could have been resolved within a few hours and certainly within 24 hours.

some specific issues:

lack of wine reception--nowhere do we advertise such a service
name of the villa--surely of no relevance whatsoever
parking---We converted the Garage into a playroom/extra bedroom for the enjoyment of guests as many years ago, we canvassed all the peak season guests and nobody, even the few who hired cars, used the garage and all parked on the street as do all other residents in adjoining villas and also the owner, without having any problems/issues with the local council as they are classed as ''residents'' during their stay.

condition of the arm opening the the gate to the garage door--for the above reason the fixing of this arm was not considered of any importance-although we have now decided to fix the problem.

pool table--level mats were provided and there should not have been a need to use table tennis bats to level the table--our agents are now looking at this issue to ensure correction of the problem.

return of the deposit -we aim to return deposits to all guests within a 2 week period from the date of their leaving the villa-however this is sometimes delayed as we do not have bank details or correct IBANs etc--in this case the deposit was returned within a week of receiving the bank details and while this was a bit later than promised, nevertheless, it got repaid in full and we have never had an issue with this before from other guests.

Other issues relating to blinds/ beds /are all minor issues and if they caused concern, would have been easily sorted as stated above by a simple call to our agents.

wi-fi--we have now ordered a wifi box for the use of guests and this is the same or similar as used by many guests who wanted this facility and simply ordered this at the airport on arrival and returned it on departure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne B
March, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tiptop Torremolinos Holiday Villa”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Well what a fantastic holiday from start to finish.
Great communication with the owner and SPM Rentals, easy to book and friendly service.
I travelled with my husband, 4 children aged 16, 15, 12 & 7 and my parents aged 62, I chose the Villa Catriona as it offered everything my family needed and more. Having read earlier reviews I thought the Villa deserved a comprehensive write up.
Upon arrival at Malaga airport I received a txt message from Olivia the representative from SPM Rentals saying she was waiting for us at the Villa (it was 4am)
After a short taxi transfer we arrived at the Villa Catronia , we were all tired and ready to grab a few hours sleep. Olivia explained how everything worked , showed us around the large Villa and left us to get some rest and leaving me the contact details for the office if needed during our stay., also a complimentary bottle of wine.We awoke later in the morning and had a good look around.
Spacious rooms with plenty of wardrobe space and plenty of bedding for all weathers.
All impeccably clean. A kitchen and utility room with every pan, plate , glasses & kitchen utensil you would need.
The pool was clean and in good condition. Hans the pool cleaner arrived later that morning and checked if all ok, he then popped in frequently during the duration of our stay keeping the pool maintained, he was also friendly and informative.
The basement where my 16 year old son claimed as his "space" was well equipped with sleeping for two, a sofa, bar, TV and the pool table and tennis table with plenty of equipment, great for all the family and lovely and cool due to the ceiling fans,
It was a hit with the whole family.
I really have nothing negative to say about Villa Catriona, the Villa advertised a BBQ and when I located this in the basement I thought that it had seen better days and I was reluctant to cook on it.
I called SPM Rentals and explained the situation, they were really courteous and said that they would get back to me.
Within a few hours another representative from the management company arrived laden with a new BBQ, coals, fire lighters and cooking utensils. WOW amazing service !!!!!!
We all enjoyed our stay in the Villa.

Places I recommend " the little shop around the corner" friendly people and great prices and stock a wide range of items.
Chiringuito Ramos for ice cold beer 2 min walk
Chiringuito Maraga for amazing food 3 min walk
Mijas Village
Cable car ride up the mountain.

Would definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic locality, facilities for the whole family amazing.
Liked least: We weren't able to stay longer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing