We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy restaurant on a golf course ”

Restaurante El lago
Reserve a table
2
Mon., 14/6
20:00
Ranked #86 of 1,396 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: USD 87 - USD 174
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

This is a fine dining restaurant that serves Michelin Star standard food at sensible prices . The staff are well trained , extremely efficient and flexible . We didn't want the whole tasting menu but instead ordered 2 starters and 2 emains , when they started to arranged appropriate cutlery we explained that we would be sharing each dish , immediately they said then we shall prepare each one at a time, effectively giving us our own tasting menu which was perfect. (See the photos) This fine restaurant must be close to getting a star !

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank phillipg601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2015

Were staying above the restaurant so would have been rude not to visit it! Lovely classic tasting menu which was very good value given the quality. Liked everything. Service excellent - varied and reasonable wine list.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank TW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Slightly off the beaten track this is a lovely restaurant with an amazing terrace and a really nice menu suitable for a business lunch or a family meal.
The waiter has even just bought over home made Ice cream to my children as he felt they may like it! It was delicious. :-)
I could sit here all day.
Don't miss this lovely restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

El Lago is a one Michelin star restaurant located above the Greenlife Golf clubhouse on the Elviria Hills Golf / Tennis estate. It nestles next to a small man-made lake on the first hole of the golf course. It is open only in the evenings, whilst during the day the facility serves as a clubhouse for golfers and tennis players serving outstanding breakfasts and light lunches. Weather permitting, it is extremely pleasant to be able to dine outside overlooking the lake. We have dined at El Lago on four occasions (so far!) and it seems to get better on each time.
The food: You are given the choice of either a tasting menu or a la carte. We went for the tasting menu on the first occasion, as this gave us a small sample of many of the a la carte dishes. Thereafter, we have eaten a la carte, concentrating on our favourites. However, both options are superb. The food is imaginatively prepared with interesting combinations of fresh ingredients, mouth-wateringly tasty and extremely well presented.
The wine: The wine list is a big attraction for us. It is extensive, suitably varied and reasonably priced. Try the Ossian white and the Aalto red if you are undecided.
The service: Again - this is a big plus. Simply superb personal service of the highest quality that can't be faulted.
The prices: This was probably the biggest surprise of all. El Lago's food and wine prices are extremely reasonable for such a high quality restaurant.
Try it out - you won't be disappointed. We certainly will be back.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robster_Wils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Located in a quiet housing development in Elviria Hills, El Lago offers food of the highest quality in a remarkable presentation. All dishes are served in different shaped plates and beautifully decorated. The quality of the food is remarkable and the service is attentive.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Semelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante El lago also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante El lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.