We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible disapointment”
Review of Hotel Guadalmedina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmedina
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An incredible disapointment”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

After touring through Andalusia for a couple weeks we had a flight back to Malaga and spent one night at this hotel. It was quite easily the worst hotel I have stayed at in the last few years and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. After booking through Splendia you would expect a certain level of quality but not one thing was right with this hotel. Of particular note was the moody staff and overwhelming smell of cat food that fills the building. But honestly I would be happy with this place if I were looking for a hostel because that what it appears to be a good hostel in a 4 star hotel's clothes that has only got there by ticking boxes (minibar, large rooms etc.)
THE BAD:
-Given smoking rooms when asked for non-smoking.
-Booked 3 rooms next to each other recieved 3 rooms each on different floors.
-Smell (cat food on some floors, cooked playdoh on others and smoke/disinfectant in the rooms.
-view was of nothing but the dried up river running through town.
-laminated sticky wood everywhere and pvc double glazing everywhere (with some cracked windows).
-dark everywhere and very dated design.
-air con doesn't work and tv is tiny and gets 1 channel.
-air con control hanging from the wall with wiring exposed in first room.
-cupboard door hanging from hinges and door stoppers loosened from the floor.


Basically no way this is a 4 star place. For a nice (not amazing but nice 4 star in malaga try the Molina Lario where the staff are wonderful and the food delicious! Also Splendia seems to have removed them from their listings so I imagine they have reassessed the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peterbasmalord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    158
    92
    12
    11
See reviews for
41
164
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I got this hotel lastminute and I was very impressed. Free wifi, good sized room and close to the old town.
V handy for the train station that takes you to the airport and along the coast.
Staff were helpful and friendly
Only downside is that the cafe is right off the lobby so could be a bit smokey.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna71daveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The rooms reminded me of a travel lodge and it was very clean and tidy. The shower was almost a trickle of water but still searved it's purpose. Don't use the handwash it's awful.
Air con was ok but to really benefit it needed to be on for hours.
The beds were two singles pushed together typical of Europe but very confy.
We had a mini bar but the drinks were warm and expensive so we bought our own from a near by super Market.
Reception staff friendly but the bar staff don't speak English and it was a chore ordering food. We had to point to the picture of the food we wanted. They knew we were English but still spoke to us in Spanish.
Comfortable stay overall but wouldn't recommend it. The location is crap it seems far out from anywhere and there are no decent restaurants around.
I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepiimii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Good location and good rooms. 4* - not so sure. Hotel facilities pretty limited. The 'breakfast room' was shared with the general public, many of whom were smoking; it was cramped and noisy. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richharvey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Our room was a decent size with large beds, did everything a hotel room should and was nice and clean. TV had over 20 channels including BBCW/CNN/CNBC, didn't have breakfast opting for local cafes or El Corte Ingles over the road. Reception is small but staff were friendly.

The hotel is less than 10 mins walk to the old town and a similar distance from Maria Zambrano station which has a direct link from the airport. A tram line is being constructed which will take travellers virtually to the hotels door step.

It's officially a 4 star but whilst there's nothing wrong with the place, espicially at the price we paid (71 Euros) it felt more like a 3 star, which isn't a criticism, more an observation.

The city is small enough to explore on foot and we used the train to go further afield, the local Cercannias is a cheap way to look at local resorts whist a trip on the RENFE to Bobadilla goes through some spectacular gorges when it nears the town. I say town, very loose description there, Bobidilla amazingly has 6 rail platforms but is the original "one horse town" if ever there was one - it's worth having a look for an hour though for that reason only!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#35 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Sercotel Malaga
#34 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmedina

Property: Hotel Guadalmedina
Address: Pasillo Matadero 16, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Husa Guadalmedina)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro , Perchel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price range (per night): $121 - $206
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmedina 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guadalmedina Hotel is a modern and comfortable 4 stars. Especially appropriate for stays of business and leisure given its privileged location in the centre of historical and financial district of the city. In front of the Contemporary Art Centre and just 5 minutes away from the main monuments of the Old Town. In front of the station with direct connection to the Airport and walking distance from the railway stations Maria Zambrano, Bus and Malaga Port. It offers 60 wide and luminous rooms totally equipped with full bathrooms with hairdryer, bath and shower. Work desk, minibar, direct telephone, TV Satellite, air conditioning and heating, free wireless connection and free safety deposit box. It facilities include a social lounge and private guest garage. The Marengo Bar-Restaurant is an addition to all the other attentions and services provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Guadalmedina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Guadalmedina Hotel Malaga
Husa Guadalmedina málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing