We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location; pity about the dogs”

Review of Padre Aviles

The converted stables of Padre Aviles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The converted stables of Padre Aviles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The converted stables of Padre Aviles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
11 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Malaga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
travellin...
mexico city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location; pity about the dogs”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Padres Avilles is set in the most gorgeous area. The accommodation is great and really well suited for children. It is very close to Malaga but far enough away to be able to enjoy a very peaceful holiday. The only problem we had was with the dogs. We knew when booking it that there were 3 dogs but when we arrived we found that there are at least 5. The older two dogs are very placid as far as I could see and we had no bother with them, the the black, younger dogs were a different story. All of the dogs roam around the area unrestrained and the three younger dogs tried to get into the accommodation, appeared on the patio every time we tried to sit down and eat and refused to go away. Infact when we did try to shoo them away they began barking and coming closer, it was quite intimidating, especially for a toddler. One night the dogs actually barked continuously outside our accommodation and woke up my child twice. On the last day I went to leave the keys into the main house when we were leaving and the dogs were lying in the sun. As I got close they got up and began barking. They then ran over to growling and knocking into me. I was very unsettled and they only backed off when an employee called them. As I said, the older dogs were no problem but these younger ones were. I think that they either need to be contained to the main house or trained properly, especially as this place targets families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: the dogs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to unwind!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently stayed at Padre Aviles and had an amazing time.

We travelled with our young son and as the apartments are very child friendly it meant that our little one could toddle around quite freely without us worrying about him hurting himself. The apartments have absolutely everything you could require throughout your holiday including suitable toys for little children.

Although the accommodation is situated a little way away from everything there is lots to see and do nearby. It is a perfect combination.

Claire and her family were so kind and welcoming that we definitely would recommend Padre Aviles to others.

Thank you Claire for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elise H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, and our 2 young boys stayed at Padre Aviles in Aug 2013. We had the most amazing 2 weeks of relaxation, sunshine, fantastic food and good company. Our boys loved the swimming pools, tennis courts, play area, sandpit, chickens, dogs, cats and roaming horses nearby! As well collecting grapes, figs and almonds and generally exploring the landscape - just being boys. There was so much to do a short drive away too, and I was amazed to find real Spain (ie non-speaking English) in the local village too which was so refreshing. This was heaven for all of us. We got to relax (and even read a book) while the boys thrived in the environment. Claire and her family were extremely welcoming. The boys still talk about "Blackie" the cat and the puppies and we loved it so much we came home and booked it again for August 2014. We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The environment and amenities
Liked least: The mountainous drive - I left that to my husband!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAITKEN
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven found in Andalucia”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Padre Aviles is a peaceful , idyllic haven nestled in the hills near Malaga. We stayed in the Jasmine apartment which had stunning views down through the almond and olive groves to the glistening Mediterranean . The apartment was very child friendly and safe so our 2 1/2 year old son had a wonderful holiday playing on the bikes and scooters and chute and more importantly splashing around in the very clean and safe toddler pool. If I had to be fussy then maybe some of the internal furniture and decor could be said to be a little tired and in need of a spruce up - however what makes the holiday is the extremely warm welcome of the owners - David and Claire who couldn't do enough to ensure the holiday experience was fabulous. They were very informative and helpful - even organising their physio/masseuse to come to the apartment armed with her massage table - she was amazing! There is lots to do as long as you are prepared to drive everywhere - lots of restaurants, beaches and kid friendly entertainment ( would def recommend The Dolphin Park) . Malaga town is beautiful and worth a visit - full of wonderful tapas bars. I am looking forward to returning to Andalucia and to Padre Aviles . Would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and warm welcome
Liked least: No wifi in actual apartment - accessed in shared area.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing