We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice city hotel”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Overall very good hotel with good central location at the train station - very easy to access from the airport. Shopping center with many shops in extension and another very large mall nearby. Approximately 15 minutes on foot to the center with pedestrian walkways. Lovely little gym for free use by all major equipment and up to 22kg dumbbells. Free wifi throughout the hotel, which ran quite stable (5mbit)

Found an 50% deal on booking.com

However, it would be nice with a pool and a sundeck / patio if you want find sun at the hotel.

Malaga is exellent all year round :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,410 of 3,362 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband, myself and another couple stayed here for new year, not with the hotel deal, but as a last minute booking. The hotel was fabulous, malaga is fantastic as a short break destination. The Barcelo is 20 mins train ride (less than 2 euros) from Malaga airport, and the hotel is integrated with the station, which is magnificent and houses the new high speed trains, and has loads of shops and restaurants. The Barcelo has a toboggan, and is absolutely state of the art. It would have been a five star review had there not been a problem with the temperature in the rooms, it was so hot, we did have problems sleeping. I would suggest asking for a room that doesnt face the sun all day?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddiecat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Great room. Nice design. Most comfortable bed of all the hotel I stayed on in Spain
Great Location. Close to everything except to the town central, but public transport are abundant. Supermarket just across the hotel
Staff Friendly and helpful
Only complaint is that the Air conditioner in my room cannot be set below 23", so the room can get a bit stuffy. Inform the staff, but they said it was preset

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nudechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The good:
Hotel Barceló Malaga sits above Maria Zambrano train station so it's convenient when arriving from and departing to the airport.

They offer free wifi in the room, which should be standard in most hotels, but sadly isn't. It worked fine for us even if occasionally it dropped the connection.

The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Nice power shower with 6 massage nozzles.

The bad:
While making the online booking via a 3rd party website, I requested a non-smoking double room on one of the higher floors. Upon arrival, I was asked if I wanted a smoking room on the 2nd floor. I politely declined and was eventually offered a non-smoking room on the 6th floor. Unfortunately, they didn't mention that it had twin beds so I phoned reception to ask for a room with a double bed, but was offered one in a smoking room on the 2nd floor.

The deadbolt on our door didn't work because it didn't line up properly with the latch plate. The door was able to lock using the normal latch, but we couldn't use the additional deadbolt lock.

The walls were thin so we could hear all the details of our neighbour's phone conversations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xbisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 2 occasions and both times the rooms were clean, spacious and with huge king beds. Very modern looking rooms with great strong shower pressure. Check in/out was quick and efficient, the staff were very friendly although pointed us to some very touristy restaurants on one occasion. A bargain for EUR 60 a night!!

Great location if you plan to spend some of your time travelling by train to other cities, as the hotel is immediately on top of the Malaga Maria Zambrano station, and a nice 15 minute stroll into the old part of town (which was much needed to walk off the big meals we had).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YukiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,162 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
617 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 87 in Malaga
2,003 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $161 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing