We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,765)
Filter reviews
3,765 results
Traveller rating
2,086
1,338
239
65
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,086
1,338
239
65
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station first floor old town shopping centre great hotel black out blinds modern hotel minute walk main station maria zambrano station the ground floor local train direct access other cities huge bed convenient location business hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,553 - 1,558 of 3,765 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband, myself and another couple stayed here for new year, not with the hotel deal, but as a last minute booking. The hotel was fabulous, malaga is fantastic as a short break destination. The Barcelo is 20 mins train ride (less than 2 euros) from Malaga airport, and the hotel is integrated with the station, which is magnificent and houses the new high speed trains, and has loads of shops and restaurants. The Barcelo has a toboggan, and is absolutely state of the art. It would have been a five star review had there not been a problem with the temperature in the rooms, it was so hot, we did have problems sleeping. I would suggest asking for a room that doesnt face the sun all day?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddiecat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Great room. Nice design. Most comfortable bed of all the hotel I stayed on in Spain
Great Location. Close to everything except to the town central, but public transport are abundant. Supermarket just across the hotel
Staff Friendly and helpful
Only complaint is that the Air conditioner in my room cannot be set below 23", so the room can get a bit stuffy. Inform the staff, but they said it was preset

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nudechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The good:
Hotel Barceló Malaga sits above Maria Zambrano train station so it's convenient when arriving from and departing to the airport.

They offer free wifi in the room, which should be standard in most hotels, but sadly isn't. It worked fine for us even if occasionally it dropped the connection.

The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Nice power shower with 6 massage nozzles.

The bad:
While making the online booking via a 3rd party website, I requested a non-smoking double room on one of the higher floors. Upon arrival, I was asked if I wanted a smoking room on the 2nd floor. I politely declined and was eventually offered a non-smoking room on the 6th floor. Unfortunately, they didn't mention that it had twin beds so I phoned reception to ask for a room with a double bed, but was offered one in a smoking room on the 2nd floor.

The deadbolt on our door didn't work because it didn't line up properly with the latch plate. The door was able to lock using the normal latch, but we couldn't use the additional deadbolt lock.

The walls were thin so we could hear all the details of our neighbour's phone conversations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xbisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 2 occasions and both times the rooms were clean, spacious and with huge king beds. Very modern looking rooms with great strong shower pressure. Check in/out was quick and efficient, the staff were very friendly although pointed us to some very touristy restaurants on one occasion. A bargain for EUR 60 a night!!

Great location if you plan to spend some of your time travelling by train to other cities, as the hotel is immediately on top of the Malaga Maria Zambrano station, and a nice 15 minute stroll into the old part of town (which was much needed to walk off the big meals we had).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YukiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A convenient location, above the railway station from the airport, but located in the nondescript and frankly boring commercial part of town. A 15-20 minute walk to the older and central parts of town. Very modern hotel and extremely minimalist. Nice clean lines and modern interior and rooms, but let down by little practical things - nowhere to put soap etc in the shower, no tea or coffee making facilities, little flat space next to bed or otherwise, and what there was seemed very flimsy. Good service though. One quirk - the well publicized B Lounge seemed never to operate. All up, it wasn't particularly cheap, so it won't be on the "return to" list.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_curmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews