We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“First class hotel”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was a top notch place to stay in Malaga. It is in a great location for sight seeing and is near the beach if that is your interest. The view from the back side rooms overlooks the Bullring and the Castillo de Gibralfaro dating to the 10th century. (worth a steep walk up to watch the sunset and get great views). The staff spoke perfect English and the WiFi worked great/ The rooms are large and modern and tastefully appointed. We only stayed one night but if this city gets on my radar again I'll certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for the back side for a view of the bullring and a high floor to get away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    426
    129
    18
    5
See reviews for
113
492
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Had a good weekend in November staying at this hotel. Since we were not familiar with Malaga we just picked a hotel on a whim. Great choice! Very clean, good location, friendly staff. Only negative was that we were not able to utilize the roof terrace and spa during our stay. Another reason to have to go back to this gorgeous city!

Room Tip: WE liked the location. Walking distance to beach and not far from downtown through a gorgeous park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PURPLESCOUT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Maestranza Hotel in Malaga for 4 days this past November (2011). The Hotel was in a perfect location for a stopover while waiting to board our 13 day transatlantic cruise from Malaga to San Juan.

The front desk staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. Even with a bit of a language barrier ( they were better at english than I was at Spanish ) they went out of their way to make our stay in their beautiful hotel memorable. The bar staff in the small lounge were equally friendly and entertaining.

The hotel itself is wiithin walking distance of many of the city's attractions, and with the bullfight ring ( I am not a fan and there were no fights during our stay ) beside the hotel the ambience was amazing.

Will most likely be going back to spend more time in the Malaga area and will certainly stay at the Maestranza.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel overlook the cliffs and the fort that is lighted at night. Also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights before our cruise and I thought it was a really nice hotel.
When we first arrived I did think that it was quite small but once we got to our room I changed my opinion as the room was really spacious. We had a lovely room on the top floor which I had asked for. It had a huge balcony plus a window on the side overlooking the bullring. Check in was quick with very friendly reception staff.
Breakfast was ok, Nice to have a glass of Cava in the morning. There was quite a good selection, both hot and cold, not sure about the chocolate fountain!
We had lovely walks along the seafront and in to the city center and to the cathedral which was only about 15 minutes away.
As previous reviewer said there is a really lovely cafe next to the hotel which sells the most gorgeous cakes! Also as we turned left from the hotel a couple of minutes walk away was a Burger King if you are a fast food fan.
It was nice to spend some time on the roof terrace as we were lucky enough to have some hot weather.
Got a taxi to the cruise terminal from just outside the hotel and it cost 10 euros. We had walked it the day before and it took about 20 minutes but you wouldn't want to do it if you had large suitcases with you.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I went to Malaga again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leamington spa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

the small gloomy entrance to this big hotel summed it up,as everywhere was small and gloomy!!!!
stylish and clean with friendly staff and a good breakfast
good location on the map but opposite a noisy building site and even on the twelfth floor the noise from the traffic was very bad
just the same on the roof where you were also plagued with flies and there were just a few token loungers no chairs on your balcony either
we got there on sunday and the jacuzzi was closed on other days only open five hours and then you had to as
all the corridors in darkness unless you kept moving to keep them on felt oppressive and mean in a four star hotel

just all felt like it was in an out of season resort witheverything being run on a bare minimum
except for the breakfast and the lovely staff

Room Tip: to avoid traffic noise book the bull ring side but you will sacrifice sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
396 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
2,776 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
1,023 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Property: Hotel MS Maestranza
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#11 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price range (per night): $138 - $250
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing