We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
117
317
77
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
317
77
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrethe buswalking milesample storage spacebath showernice hotelthree starreception staff were helpfulgave us a mapmini barplaza mercedquiet side streetbig bathroomgood sizelast stopold townclean bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Hotel was average, smallish room and no view whatsoever. Breakfast was pretty decent continental, receptionist was very friendly. The location was average, not bad for the price but wasn't too impressed

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirmalaga, Director General at Hotel Zenit Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018
Google Translation

Mil gracias por su comentario y por su valoración, le harmeos llegar su comentaior a nuestro personal.

Atentamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A bit off city center but still within walkable distance of the train from the airport (30minutes). Room was spatious with bathtub and fridge. Breakfast was delicious but mostly the sweet variety. I would like more vegetables...

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirmalaga, Director de Recepción at Hotel Zenit Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for your nice comment.
We hope to see you as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Гарний готель розташований на тихій вулиці недалеко від центру міста (в п'ятнадцяти хвилинах пішки). Працівники готелю люб'язні, особливо дівчина. Навіть ранній заїзд був можливим.

Very nice hotel situated on a little silent street, not far from the downtown (like 15 minutes walk). The staff is friendly and helpful especially the girl. We had all we needed and even early check-in was possible.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Oxana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirmalaga, Director de Recepción at Hotel Zenit Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Tahnks so much for your nice comment.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I decided to use this hotel for a 10 night sporting and cultural visit to Malaga based on past stays in more central Malaga hotels and having reviewed alternatives in Fuengirola; I decided that this hotel represented a good compromise between location and value for money.

The hotel is quite difficult to find as it is located in a small side street. If travelling by car Google brings you in a convoluted route through narrow streets in the Hotel Zone North; in my opinion it might be better to head for the Estadio la Rosaleda and drive through from there (1.5kms) which is fairly straightforward.

The first thing to say is that it is not in the city centre. It is approximately 2kms/20 mins walk to the Plaza de la Constitución and 2.5kms form the nearest train station - Malaga Centro Alameda. I don’t recommend walking from the train station with luggage as it is mostly uphill. Note that this station is closer than the main station in Malaga, Maria Zambrano (which is the second last stop on the line from the airport) and is more than 3kms away.

None of the above is an issue for me as I like to walk around cities but you should be aware that if you want to visit the sights on foot you will be walking 5/6 miles a day. However there is a local bus or taxis are plentiful and reasonably priced.

The area (barrio) is mostly residential which means that there are a number of small bars but not many restaurants in the neighbourhood and the quality varies widely. However, I haven’t felt unsafe walking at night.

A very efficient Romanian lady called Cristina, dealt with my reservation during the week before arrival and happily was on duty at check in to ensure that I got a room with “cama matrimonio” (double bed) as requested. However, note that Spanish single beds are wider than in the UK, so that would not have been a big issue. There is no view to speak off from this room at the back of the hotel (again not an issue for me) or the front and the back may be quieter (if it weren’t for the noisy lift, see below).

The bedroom has ample storage space and a large bathroom with an oversized vanity unit (see picture), which could easily accommodate the double sink featured in the hotel's photographs; but in my room for some reason did not have this feature.

Unfortunately, I found a number of issues on arrival on Friday 9 February 2018, which I reported on the form provided and handed in to reception in an envelope personally addressed to the Manager on the Saturday:
• The glass centre on the desk was not secure and twice jumped up when I leaned on it.
• The bath is very slippy so you have to be very careful not to have a nasty fall when taking a shower (this could easily be remedied by the provision of a bath mat).
• The plastic shelf in the fridge was very dirty and I found an opened bar of kit cat suggesting it had not been checked in a while.
• The wood effect floor in the room needed a good clean.
• The nearest lift to my Room 509 makes a noise like a pump every time it goes up or down.

Up to today, Wednesday, 14/02/2018, I have not had any response from the Manager, though the gentleman at reception to whom I handed the envelope confirmed delivering it on Monday. Therefore I feel justified in submitting a review at this stage. However, the glass on the desk has been secured and the floor cleaned. Generally the room has been cleaned and made up to a good standard.

The same cannot be said of the towels. I place great store on the quality of towels in a hotel and most of the bath towels I have had here are worn out and/or frayed and need replaced. (See pictures)

I have had breakfast in the restaurant every morning. There are three cereals and a good variety of bread, cakes, cheeses, fruit, coffee and juices and some hot items (see picture) but the overall quality is poor. The juices are from concentrate (it never ceases to amaze me that this happens even in better hotels in Spain, where you can walk outside and find oranges literally falling off trees), some of the bread has been hard, suggesting it is not fresh, and this morning after breakfast I watched incredulously as the waitress filled the three jars of cereal from the top (which means that the cereal at the bottom may have been there a very long time). Worst of all, according to the waitress, they make the scrambled eggs (huevos rellenos) from a “brick”, which loosely translated means a packet of some sort. I tried this twice and the next day asked them to make some with fresh eggs. The result was inedible (see pictures). It turns out this was made with aceite (oil). Now, I have heard of scrambled eggs made with milk, cream, mayonnaise, butter or nothing but eggs or here in Spain with tuna, guacamole etc, but never just with vegetable oil.

The restaurant offers dinner Monday to Thursday (see picture of menu). I was one of 9 customers who ate there on Monday night. I chose the Crema de Langostinos (Prawn soup) which was tasty, the Filete de Salmon which was not; and a rather bland Natillas Caseras (custard cream) for postre. (See pictures) Not bad value in a hotel for €13.95 inc bread and a glass of whatever you want; but you will get much better food in the likes of Aliole or Ance er Mejillon bar restaurants nearby (see my reviews).

Overall, this is a good value 3 star hotel provided you understand that it is not in the city centre. However, they need to pay more attention to maintenance issues and rethink the breakfast offering.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back on as high a floor as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirmalaga, Director General at Hotel Zenit Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Mr. Ashuk:

Firstly y want to express thanks to take your time to write your opinion about our hotel.
Last Monday y received your formulary and I ordered to my personal to repair the deficients in your room.
I didn’t try to speak with you becesuse i understand that you stay here for holidays and i didn’t want to steal your time.
From last Monday i have inspect personaly the clean of your room, i hope now it’s perfect for you.

About our breakfast, all our products are fresh, and we replace every morning. But like you see every day, if you need something you can ask to my personal and we will be pleased to atended you. Like last Monday when you wanted fresh scrambled eggs (normaly we prepair scrambled eggs with a special egg for Hotels in Spain) and my chef prepaired for you the fresh eggs, but unfortunately you didn’t like it because we cooking with oliv Oil, but in spain we always use oliv oil, not butter. Sorry about that because its not the way that you usually eat.

Its a pleasure for us that aou costumers are well in our hotel. If you need something more during your stay please tell me and we will be tried to attende you.

Lola Hidalgo.
Director Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed in October. Friendly, professional and helpful reception staff. Not very far from the city centre. Room and bathroom very clean. Top floor room with great terrace. Oh and the best breakfast ever! :) Strongly recommended for business and leisure.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Norbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirmalaga, Director General at Hotel Zenit Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thanks so much for yor lovely commentar, and for your recommendation for other visitors.
We hope to see you as soon as possible.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews