We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Super Clean and a lovely Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Alicia Guest House
Ranked #9 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Stayed here recently and I must say that it was a wonderful stay. The staff were most helpful at all times. The location is north of the city center and just 7 minutes from the bus stop at Victoria ( bus 1 ). A quite residential street, no crazy noise at night, this is a small Guest House, extreamly clean, a full kitchen and a small living room up stairs with TV. The Rates are very good value and Malaga is a good city out for a night out before you head home. Lots of good Tapas and beer. Highly recommend, Good Value for Money. Nice Staff, who work hard to make your stay as nice as possible. A ten minute walk from the Picasso Museum, which is really worth a visit, while in Malaga.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmahonanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

I arrived in Malaga at night so had a taxi fare from the airport to the Guest House but found in the morning it was very close to the centre. The room was clean and comfortable but with no waste bin - small point but a nuisance. The bathroom is shared and very clean, but be warned - you have to have your own towels. You pay 1euro to hire a towel for a night's stay but it is free for those staying longer. The breakfast is fine and good value. Esther, who appeared to be in charge, was very warm, helpful and friendly. There are kitchen facilities for guests. I see another review has commented on the steps so I would repeat that so visitors are aware. This reminded me of youthful travelling in European hostels so it was quite refreshing but one night was enough!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in early October. Our room was beautiful and clean. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. You can hear the bathrooms as well as a bit of street noise, but it was nothing that could actually keep you up. There were only two of us, but we still got our own spacious room for 40euros a night. There is also a computer downstairs with WIFI, and a 3 euro breakfast that consists of a fresh capuccino, orange juice, a muffin, and a large roll with the choice of cream cheese ish, honey, jam, butter, and a few other options. There is also a kitchen you can cook in. Then you can eat it inside or outside. The location was also great. Five minute walk to restaurants, ten minute walk to the city center where there is more food and a reliable bus that can take you to many many beaches. Also in walking distance of the Picasso museum. I would highly recommend this hostel. However, before you come, get an idea of what restaurants you want to go to because the options are a bit overwhelming in the area...esp. if you aren't familiar with the language. It's also in walking distance of clubs if that's your style.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnomeknome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We have just come back from Spain spending one night at the Villa Alicia. We probably made a mistake booking this but this is not a criticism of the Guest House which was probably good for the clients it is aimed at, although we were charged the high season rate because it was Holy Week. We thought this made it expensive relative to hotels we could have stayed at.

Thought it would be useful for those using tripadvisor to know the following.

The villa is in a residential area and is probably a 15 minute walk to the old town (longer if you are carrying baggage). It is a bit uphill and not so easy to find. The villa is also accessed by steep stairs so not so good for older people or people with mobility issues.

The facilities are basic. You share a bathroom (there are two with lavatories). The bed we had though was comfortable. Breakfast was not included in the price but was only EUR 3 per person (we did not have so cannot comment on what is was like).

The people there were very friendly and gave advice on where to go and also on places to eat.

Overall this is good for anybody travelling on a budget and happy to have basic services and be close, but not too close, to the old town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Clean room, friendly host, free use of kitchen / fridge, internet, wifi. Excellent location, walking distance from city center, local bus etc.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Pedregalejo
Hotel Domus
Hotel Domus
#73 of 87 in Malaga
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,326 reviews
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#24 of 87 in Malaga
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alicia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alicia Guest House

Address: Calle Conde de Urena 12, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Alicia Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Alicia Guest House is located in a quiet area of Malaga city, within walking distance from its historical centre.The building itself is a good example of what once were the typical houses of the high bourgeoisie of the city in the early 1900s.When converting the house to a hostel, we have tried to maintain its original charm and style respecting its old features as much as possible: great wooden windows, high ceilings, spectacular geometric tiled floors, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Alicia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing