We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 215
USD 205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Larios(Malaga)
USD 165
USD 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
NH Malaga(Malaga)
USD 119
USD 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 144
USD 114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 90
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad(Malaga)(Great Value!)
USD 63
USD 61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 152
USD 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 148
USD 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
72
41
27
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
41
27
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathroomreception areastay there againa wonderful staythird floorbars and restaurantsshort staytop floorterracetowelscentrecitybuswakeplugskeyhostel
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We just left the Villa Alicia today, after a 2 night stay. It is in a great location. A 10 to 15 minute walk to the city center and a little longer to the beach but in a quiet street. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I'd highly recommend it!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Myshelle2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Villa Alicia is situated in an area that is convenient for the centre of Malaga and for the longer and more strenuous walk up to the Castillo de Gibralfaro. It is an older building which has a variety of rooms. We chose one of the en-suite rooms with a terrace. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean as was the terrace.

We thought that Villa Alicia was a good place to stay except at times, intentionally or not, there was a lack of communication and the customer service provided by one member of staff left a lot to be desired. Without going into details, we experienced a few issues with the room and these were not handled well by the member of staff concerned. In fact, we received no apology and the member of staff actually seemed annoyed with us for raising the issues.

In fairness, the other members of staff seemed friendly and the guest house has many good qualities but they do need to improve their communication and at least one member of their team needs to improve their customer service skills.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

I could echo word for word the comments of Jane A who sums up the character of this guest house villa so very well. 'Quirky' is a word that defines this wonderful place. Colourfully and imaginatively eclectic, it is unique in a very special way.
Basic but charmingly different and decorated in a an artistically abstract way- this elderly villa which lies in a quiet part of town with easy access to the centre is 'delightful'.
Great value for money. I stayed in one of the smaller private rooms at a very good price for three nights. I shared bathroom facilities with one other room which posed no problems what so ever. There are other rooms that have private facilities and lovely terraces for just a little more money.
Breakfast can be purchased on a daily basis at a very reasonable price from continental at 3.5 euros with great fresh coffee or tea and toasted bread with jams, honey, and cream cheese- with the addition of muesli, eggs, yoghurt or fresh fruit for a euro or two more depending on your choice. Breakfast can be taken outside on the front terrace if you wish which is a lovely way to meet other guests in the morning.
Special thanks to the hard working Esther who made my short stay so very welcoming and informed me about all that Malaga has to offer. Although busy with reception duties and generally running the place! She always found the time to answer my questions and juggle two or three other tasks at the same time!
Perfect English spoken. Thank you Esther for adding so much to my stay at the Alicia and Malaga. You are a star!
Malaga is really worth visiting for its own beauty and merits as many people are now realising. In the past it may have been overlooked by tourists as an airport town which was just a gateway to the popular beach resorts of the Costa Del Sol or a one day stop for the cruise liners.
Malaga has so much more to offer- beauty, history, culture and you can combine the city treasures - Cathedral, Alcazaba, Gibralfaro ( a must for the amazing views of the city), Museums (including the Picasso Museum),Town Hall with formal gardens, Tropical Gardens, Port and New Marina area, Bull Ring, Roman Remains with a day or two on the city beaches. These have a feel of the Riviera at one point and progress along the coast to an older part full of beach front bbq seafood restaurants. The promenade runs all the way along- on the flat- beside the road. You can go as far as you like!
The Alicia compliments the city- rich in history and culture with a twist and is a great base to explore all that Malaga has to offer.
Excellence based on basic value for money, uniqueness, service,
special charm with a certain 'je ne sais quoi?' - whatever that is in Spanish?!! Amazing mix of guests too- I loved it!

Room Tip: rooms with terraces are worth paying that little bit extra for- extra special
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnno1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Villa Alicia combines the economy and facilities of a student hostel - not too expensive, communal area, shared kitchen - with the amenities of a hotel in a lovely old villa in a suburb of Malaga. The rooms have tiled floors and high ceilings and basic furnishings but are spotlessly clean. The reception area has a large mural of characters from 'Alice in Wonderland' and some extraordinary original Malaga-style surrealist paintings by a friend of the owners.

The city centre is a 15 minute walk away. In the opposite direction, a five minute walk takes you to pine woods outside the city. The Gibralfaro and Alcazaba, both good value and well worth a visit, are also within walking distance.

It is a small privately-run venture and so does not have a large staff. But they were always there when we needed them. We have stayed there three times and we love it. We recommend the coffee in the morning too!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

We had a room with shared bath on the second floor. This is as another reviewer mentioned a pretty casually run spot, meaning reception is one person who might or might not be around (but is helpful when there). Shared facilities on our floor were a WC with sink and another 3-piece bath with two shower stalls -- both smallish but with windows. Problem was LOTS of noise from other guests, who spanned a bit of a demographic range from middle-aged (us) to young and ready to party (playing music in room after 1 a.m.). Also the double is really two twins, which is less than cozy, if common in Spanish hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cheapncheerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews