We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
183
184
85
39
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
184
85
39
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green block sharp knife very nice stay shower room large patio fully equipped kitchen washing machine self catering english channels little things bit out of the way reception staff are wi fi master bedroom town centre yogurt family holiday
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Firstly, the accommodation was large and modern. There was a washing machine, large fridge freezer and microwave. No complaints other than the outlook was on the street not as pictures showed overlooking the golf course. A very large patio but with no views!
The apartment was not cleaned during our 8 night stay - which is fine as we never expected it - be careful if you expect this kind of service.
Internet and wi-fi was appalling - non existent. I consider this to be a basic function now like running water. The brekfsat was good - lots of choice and hot and well worth having.
The accommodation is several large blocks and must hold over thousand apartments - it is huge. There are many tv channels but only two news channels (CNN and DW) that are in English although they have a Cuban and Austria channel and five Russian ones.
Finally, if you are looking for cheap and clean accommodation AND you have a car then it is fine. I cannot stress how remote this place is - there is literally nothing around by way of bars, shops anything. You need a car! We def will not be booking again which is a shame as the apartment was actually very nice inside.

Room tip: Request a room overlooking the green golf course not the street and bins
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 26Tezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ona Valle Romano Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

That is a big no no
We complained but the receptionist told us that the hotel had so many guests that the net could not coop.
Terrible, the hotel is isolated, and you need a car to get to Estepona. There is a shuttle you can use in the afternoons, check if it is functioning
The compartments are ok, restaurants and bars were closed, so you feel rather isolated. But the big no is: no internet!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Giab193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ona Valle Romano Golf & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

As this is usual, all the services that we offer at Ona Valle Romano, exact location and prices are duly noted and indicated at all the platforms where the complex is promoted.

Regards,
Virginia
Guest Experience Ona Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Very clean apartments and complex, nice furniture and fixtures/fittings. Good views.

Now on to the bad points.

In the middle of nowhere - if you don’t drive, you’ll end up spending a fortune on taxis. There’s also no shop on site - so you’d struggle to get access to basic supplies without a cab.

It’s a very large and generic looking complex that’s hard to work your way around.

Not enough beds by the pools.

Insanely loud music pumped out from the pool area with people shouting on the mic for most of the day under the guise of it being “entertainment”. I get if that happened for an hour or two a day... but not for most of it. Lots of people around us all week were complaining to each other about it. Read a review where the customer service manager said people come here to “disconnect and switch off”. How can you do that when awful music (crazy frog and barbie girl) is blaring throughout the whole complex? That really ruined the experience for me, you can’t escape it wherever you are in the complex.

You need to pay extra for parking or walk really far to find a free space as they are snapped up.

Overall would not recommend or stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank x6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

We are a party of four adults on a family holiday and thought this facility looked nice for a change. We usually stay in Benahavis.
The location is remote and very far away from everything! You will need a car or you are screwed. We arrived at midnight and were asked to pay for our stay in CASH as the credit card machine isn’t used after 10.00pm - what? When we said we didn’t have €740 in cash then the receptionist asked “ well how much do you have?” We said we don’t carry cash so she took my passport and credit card and put it in a drawer (not even a safe.)
This place is huge- it’s damn near impossible to find your apartment and she was no help.
The apartments are very well appointed and clean. The whole complex is clean and the beds are confortable. They could have put some water into the fridge as we arrived so late. Had we not had a car we woold not have been able to shop as this place is so badly located. The nearest shop is miles away.
My main bug bearer here is the bloody pool entertainment. Really, really loud music played on a cheap PA. A guy and a girl start blasting away at lunchtime every day, mostly chart music and using the same set list. They dont stop till 8.00pm. She dances away by herself and speaks unintelligible Spanish through a reverby mic and occasionally treats us to her singing over the track. I’m a musican. I’m used to loud music but this is LOUD. You cannot even have a conversation. There are other pools but they have very few sunbeds so that’s out. Even in the apartments, with doors and windows closed you can still hear them.
Parking is a nightmare as if you don’t park in the street it costs €6 a day. There is never parking available on the street for this reason.
It’s well furnished and clean - dreadful location- dreadful entertainment- no shops bars or restaurants anywhere nearby, that sums it up.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Firstly, the rooms are very spacious and very well decorated. Very modernised rooms and a lot of space. The free summer bus shuttle is good, yet confusing. You have to book yourself onto it despite not being told when you check in you need to do so. Also, we waited in an hours long que just for them to tell us you didn’t need to que, the book is over in the corner. The reception need more than 2 people on in peak times as the ques are ridiculous and people are waiting forever on end to get served. The pool areas are ok, not very big and certainly won’t cater for the over 400 rooms they have here. I would recommend going to La Rada beach which is what me and my partner did. The beach is amazing, long stretches of white sand and blue waters. We wanted late checkout but apparently all 400 or so rooms are taken so we cannot have late checkout. Surely they aren’t all fully booked in September. The staff are quite rude, they seem to have a laugh and a joke with the locals but the British they seem to just want to serve you and get you gone!

We didn’t let this ruin our stay though as we enjoyed our short 4 day break.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jacobprice_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews