We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
694
300
114
51
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
300
114
51
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant la cabana sea view kids club breakfast buffet the costa del sol laguna village beautiful hotel pool bar malaga airport junior suite busy road high season hire car private beach sun loungers spa
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Kempinksi Bahia for 5 nights as part of our family trip to Spain. It’s 1hr drive from Malaga Airport. We have stayed at Kempinski properties and Europe and in comparisons, this hotel is close to the bottom of the ranking. The rooms were dated and small. We had a Grand Med room which had a sea view but it was situated in an awkward part of the resort which seemed like a swamp. The other room we had was Superior and it looked into the highway and the terrace was very noisy. The service at the pool restaurant was very poor. You have to chase the waiters to take the order constantly. The breakfast area was chaotic and the food layout was not very appetizing. The pool was nice and staff servicing the pool chairs were helpful. I would not stay there again

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen A, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Fadi, thank you for taking your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It seems that one bad experience has followed another during your stay and I am terribly sorry to hear this. We receive a lot of positive comments about ur breakfast and the wonderful pool area, so it seems that despite the positive aspects we have to offer none of this has left its mark on you. I truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again and leave a better impression as our hotel is one of the best in the area and it would be a pity to lose a valuable customer. With kind regards. Belen Arenas - Director of Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

My daughter and I spent four nights here, two as part of a tour group and two on our own (as an extension). The resort is really beautiful and very luxurious. Our room was spatious and had a lovely terrace, overlooking the property, with a view of the sea and an old medieval tower. The bathroom was really spatious and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Service was excellent throughout the hotel. There are three beautiful pools, as you head down to the beach.

The only caveat is this - the Mediterranean is surprisingly cold (even though we were experiencing a heat wave, the water was really really cold) and the beach is rocky. Definitely bring water shoes if you plan to go into the sea (and you really should! even though it's cold, the water is clear and refreshing and there are no waves to speak of). The resort is located next to a small "mall" with restaurants and beach shops.

There are a few lovely touches in the lobby area - a large "library" with some truly magnificent art books, and two delightful parrots in the entry way. Also there is a sweet hotel cat that can sometimes be found on the property.

There is a facility right next to the hotel's beachfront that rents paddle boats and provides various types of water experiences (we didn't really check it out, so I can't speak to it, but the paddle boats looked nice).

They do play music at the pool, but it isn't particularly loud (which is nice). We did eat dinner in both of the restaurants and they were both very good.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PiermontMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen A, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear PiermontMS,

Thank you very much for having chosen Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona during your last visit to Costa del Sol and for taking your valuable time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to hear that your overall experience in our hotel was excellent and you enjoyed - well basically everything. It is correct that when we have Poniente we get the hot winds from Africa, but also the cold water pushes through from the Sea. This is what makes the water more clear. When we have Levante it can change from one day to another and the sea can suddenly be warm. We do sell water shoes for our clients, as especially parents with small children appreciate this service. Otherwise our three pools and large tropical gardens with sea views are the perfect place to relax. We hope you will be back soon to enjoy another holiday with your daughter.
Kind regards. Belen Arenas - Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I returned from a week at the hotel yesterday 6th August. My daughter and I went with her four children ages 10,8,4 and 2. I can not fault the hotel, the staff were friendly and very accommodating from the breakfast staff to the pool bar the spa and the restaurants nothing was too much trouble. The kids club was the best they have experienced and they couldn’t stop praising the activities it had laid on. Our intercommunicating rooms were serviced morning and evening and everything was replaced or refilled at the time
We would definitely return to the hotel although new visitors must be aware the beach is stony and disappointing but the hotel are apparently trying to remedy this.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen A, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Jean,
thank you so much for taking your time and sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. It is lovely to hear that your daughters 4 children enjoyed the Kid's Club so much. I can just see them running to you with excitement telling you what they have experienced. I hope this gave you and your daughter some time to relax as well and enjoy our tropical gardens and pool. We especially appreciate your kind words about our staff, it is always with great pleasure that we serve our clients and even more fun when we get a lovey praise.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your whole family back soon.
With ind regards. Belen Arenas - Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel is very nice and they have a very big pool. Not really adapted for small children as the pool is min 1.20m. Beach is very bad as it's only rocks. Seats are quite expensive 55euro per chair. We had a good time there

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank OlivierM582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen A, Director de Recepción at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Olivier,
Thank you very much for having chosen Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona during your last visit to Costa del Sol and for taking your valuable time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our big tropical pool. The beach is unfortunately an aspect we cannot change, but we are trying to find a solution together with the town hall of Estepona to make the sun bed area more attractive. Most our guests are happy as the enjoy our large tropical gardens and sea views from an elevated position. The sun beds are free of charge for our clients, but we do charge a fee of 55€ to external clients. For 145€ you can get the Bali bed + fruits and soft drinks. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We had a reservation package at the hotel for 12 check in (when available) and guaranteed 4pm check out. We arrived at 12.30 understanding fully well that we may have to wait before getting a room. We were told to wait and they would let us know when the room is ready. We sat by the beach club and whiled away until about 2pm at which point we went to the concierge to ask if our room was ready and were told no. We then sat in the lobby right in front of the reception so they had no issue finding us when the room was ready. When it hit 3pm, we had to go to the reception again because the staff pretended as if we hadnt made a booking at all! With much audacity, we were told the check in time is 3pm and we said it is 3pm now!! to which the woman at the reception curtly responded: "So the room must be ready!" She made a call, pretended to have a conversation for 5 seconds and told us our room was ready. We have been to hotels before the designated check in time before and had to wait but normally when these hotels see the guests have arrived, they expedite the process of the room being cleaned. It is not possible that it took Kempinski 2.5 hours to clean a room (it certainly didnt look that clean) and the way we finally got the room, it seemed the whole thing was either lack of interest for their guest's comfort or mal-intent. Either way, we were not impressed with the way the start of our trip was handled. Next came the check out which was 4pm guaranteed, one would think that when you pay the big bucks, hotels like kempinski would manage to keep a record of what their clients have paid for , but unfortunately our room key stopped working after 12. When we were coming back from the pool area, we couldnt get inside the main building with our room key and had to go through a big hastle to get the key re-activated in our swimwear! This Kempinski has a long way to go before they deliver what they promise to their clients. The rest of the stay in the hotel was good, only the Balthazar restaurant deserves a special mention for delivering a good service.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessicatN8284FG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen A, Front Office Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Jessica,

Thank you very much for your very detailed description of your problem upon arrival. I would like to sincerely apologise for the circumstances as this is not standard procedure. Usually we invite our clients for a drink at the bar whilst waiting for their room, but I was not able to find out if this was offered to you. The staff changes shift at exactly 3pm, so obviously the new shift was not yet informed about you waiting when you approached the reception. We continually endeavour to do our very best to all our guests, but regrettably, we do fail sometimes. The keys run out automatically at 12h and it is important that the Front Desk staff pays more attention to programming the keys manually to the desired check-out time of the clients, please accept my apologies that we were not on top of this. I am glad you enjoyed our new restaurant Baltazar, it does reflect the 5-star feel of the Kempinski hotel in decoration as well as service, so we appreciate your positive comment, despite the fact that you gave us only 2/5 for te overall service. We endeavour to make you happy in all aspects of your stay and I am sure that you will not have the same problems the next time we welcome you back to the Kempinski Hotel Bahia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews