We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
190
106
23
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
106
23
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace tennis courts on site restaurant one bedroom apartment puerto banus great week malaga airport indoor pool san pedro family holiday out of season main road hired a car nice apartment bars and restaurants evening entertainment cancelada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

My first impression of the unit wasn't very favorable - the tired decor, bleach smell and tight spaces didn't feel very welcoming. We had a 3 bedroom unit (#45), downstairs was a kitchen, living room and tiny bathroom that should have been a closet, a large master with an en suite on the second floor and another bathroom, two tiny rooms with tiny beds on the third floor. The stairs were quite steep and hard (marble tile?) and I was worried about slipping and falling. There was a nice private patio downstairs and a terrace on the third floor. Although not very impressed with the inside of the unit, we appreciated the outside right away. The resort resembles a spanish village with white walls and beautiful greenery and flowers everywhere. It is well located just a few minutes away from the beach, across the street from a village of Cancellada and short drive to Estepona, Marbella, Gibraltar, and only 1 hr away from the airport of Malaga. The supermarket - Lidl is minutes away by car, and a larger one Carrefour - maybe 10 min away closer to Estepona. We didn't use the pool but the people and kids seemed to enjoy themselves. The tennis court was a disappointment, though. The surface was concrete with numerous flaws, and the charge to use it was 5 euros per hour! We didn't use the gym facilities but there was a snooker table and a few pieces of basic exercise equipment.
Overall, we grew to like it and enjoyed the resort and the area immensely. The car is absolutely necessary if you want to explore the surroundings. We used Avis and the check out process was quick and we had no issues with the car.
One word of caution - we booked a day trip to Tangier through the resort with a company called Viajes Transandalucia and it wasn't very good. Total tourist trap - from the 1 minute camel rides, shopping at "selected" merchants - whose products by the way turned out to be fake and overpriced- stay away from saffron especially! The included lunch was terrible - they didn't season the meal at all saying some people are allergic to spices- it was so bland that even copious amounts of salt and pepper (provided on the side) couldn't save it, plus a terrible belly dancing and music players that demanded tips, oh and street peddlers everywhere, but I guess that's not the fault of the company.
Besides that we drove to Gibraltar and we took a taxi tour, which was very interesting, and we also visited Estepona and Marbella, very nice and quaint towns.
In the end, we were sad to leave and we wished we could stay a little longer!

Date of stay: August 2015
2  Thank Kobili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we are very pleased that in the end you were happy with your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Perfect in every way. Pretty, well kept and good position. Two bed town house with small garden at no.7 where we stayed. Heard the motorway noise slightly but not annoyingly. Pool areas both clean and plenty of sun beds through the day. Shame about the empty hotel complex to the rear of Villacana as looks a little scruffy towards the beach but otherwise faultless.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank PaulineM716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Thank you for your very positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We stayed for two weeks in a two bed apartment with roof top. Lovely views of the sea, the accommodation and resort grounds are in beautiful condition, we loved the small town of Cancelada where there are some very nice restaurants. We spent a morning walking the beach to Estepona 12km along the beach which is fine as there are a few watering holes along the way.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jimjaxEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to greet you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

I was recently there with my family and i love this place, they got three swimming pools. Two outside and a little one inside. They also have a tennis court and a two small snooker tables,they also got an gym. They have a bar with lots of food. The supermarket is one minute to walk. They also got kid activities all week, so the parents can be next to the pool and get tanned. There are many restaurants in the area.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, Director General at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Lovely resort. Everything you need. Great Staff.
Where can I start .... My family and I have been coming here for 10 years and it's still improving. The apartments are spotless and equipped to a vey high spec. It is worthy of its Gold Crown Status. The pool and bar areas are a favourite with us and a very pleasant day can be spent popping in and out of the pool and bar. Happy hour 2 for 1 drinks at 5 o'clock is very good value.
At night some evening entertainments are enjoyable or a walk around Villacana will always provide some discoveries and with lots of bars close by like 90 mile Gregorios which has re opened and fine dining at Barraka Beach restaurant
The staff as I mentioned earlier are all really friendly and helpful will arrange taxis help to book restaurants advise on buses etc as well the Kids club and entertainment staff are a credit to the resort .Highlights are Volleyball in the pool , Cuban and Flamenco night, the gardens and plants, gym , football, happy hour, breakfasts at the bar, special meals at Barraka Beach and drinks at 90 Mile bar. All in all great resort well looked after, a real treat.

Date of stay: July 2015
2  Thank Quilly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

We are delighted that you enjoy your holidays with us and we hope to greet you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews