We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps you Fit”
Review of Forest Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estepona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Hills
Certificate of Excellence
CornwaII
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Keeps you Fit”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Forest Hills is a time-share/fractional ownership resort, and we are members of Seasons. This was our third visit to the resort. The first being in June 2009 when they were in the middle of a big refurbishment, in actual fact they closed the place the week we were there and moved us to other accommodation nearer Malaga. We returned the following year after the refurb. just to see what it was like, and this time we visited in February which was a totally different time of year.
Yes this is a hard to find place, and the access road is not well maintained, there are no lifts so this is not for anyone with walking difficulties as there are lots of stairs. But all this is compensated by the wonderful location and view, looking towards Gibraltar, and the African Coast, mountains and greenery around, and in a peaceful area.
Apartments are spacious very clean, with comfortable beds. The kitchen has the usual equipment, but we did have to ask for a teapot, surely as mainly occupied by Brits should be a standard. The only problem with our kitchen was the positioning of a wall unit which meant when you bent down to empty the dishwasher you needed to be careful as you stood up otherwise it was a bumped head. I would suggest that the linnings on the curtains have dropped and could do with taking up,, this would give a much more cared for look.
Heating/cooling, Feel that Seasons missed an opportunity on the refurb by not putting in air con, which would have saved the need for heaters and fans. We did find that if we had our lounge fire on (it is quite cold in February) and were using the cookings rings and cooker the whole lot tripped out and we had to switch off the fire if we were cooking.
Also feel that it was a mistake to take out all the baths and only leave showers, feel that it would be better if they are having families with little ones to stay, then a bath is really quite necessary, trying to shower a small reluntant child is not easy. (Not that I have any little ones anymore to worry about).
There is plenty of room in the apartments, storage is good and there is a safe. Dishwashers in units and free use of washing machines in the laundry room.
The pool area is pleasant, can be windy, the pool is heated and yes I did swim in the pool in February and it was lovely! There is a lovely hot tub on site, but I would suggest that prehapes a proper cover is purchased in order to keep the heat in during the winter months, not the bubble wrap, which could blow off if not correctly fixed on.
Prices in the bar can feel expensive when compared to those in local towns, and also the meals could prove an expensive exercise if eating in the restuarant every night. Having said that the menu is good and changes nightly, with some themed nights.
Entertainment, this is provided by the restuarant staff, and in February there were not many people around, Sunday night was good with a very versatile man complete with steel drum, who really knew how to read his audiance. A quiz night, darts, and casino night, plus a guitar player who sang (not really my kind of music), This is a small resort and therefore not everyone is in the bar every night, so it must make it difficult to chose acts for the entertainment which are not going to leave the restuarant out of pocket.
We have always found all the staff to be very helpful and pleasant, reception is not manned all the time because the resort is not large and the staff do lots of other duties, but could always be found around the site during their working hours.
If eating out, suggest using Mr Wok, next to MacDonlds on the way into Estepona, very nice and good price for all you can eat.
All of Seasons resorts are different and offer different things, it is difficult to be objective when writing a review because it depends on expectations and what one expects from a holiday, I always try and do my reseach first that I have a fare idea of what to expect. Tripadvisor is most useful for this.
We like our Seasons holidays, and were not disappointed by our February visit to Forest Hills, had a lovely guest relations person named Paul, one of the best we have ever come across, certainly not pushy. Well done to everyone at Seasons for good holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a high room with a view. The stairs are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Silverheadskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    45
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle - Upon - Tyne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I visited here in October last year as a break with my extended family. It was the week before half term and the resort was completely full (they told us as we checked in) but the staff were definitely winding down after the summer season. Reception was rarely manned, restaurant at the service was quite painfully slow the 2 times we ate there and despite all but 2 machine either being broken before i arrived or breaking in the gym during the week no one made any attempt to fix them or to even look at them.

The place is in a lovely location and the rooms and apartments are lovely as is the pool area. The resort has lots of stairs which were a little tiresome as we were located very far away and took about 5 minutes of stair climbing to get to our apartment.

It was my boyfriends birthday on the first night and i mentioned as i checked in at reception (as my boyfriend had gone to get the bags) "Oh lovely, are you eating at the restaurant tonight? We will let the bar staff know and they will do something special" nothing happened during the meal which was bot a problem but don't tell me you will plan something and then dont.

On the last night we had to wait such a long time at the restaurant that we eventually complained and the manager made it sound like it was our fault 'Well you are a party of 5 who came in without a booking at peak evening meal time.......' Right ok! He then came back an somewhat begrudgingly told us he would give us free desert, which we declined.

Lovely place and i would visit again but try to minimise any interaction with the reception and restaurant staff.

Room Tip: The higher level rooms have wonderful views but be prepared for lots of stairs to the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This resort was a good base for us to do day trips around southern Spain. We went to Cadiz, Gibraltor, Granada (Alhambra) and Rhonda. The receptionist recommended Rhonda and we were so glad she did since it ended up being one of our favorite spots. The accomadations have a great view of the hillside and medittrean but it is not water front. We had a little trouble finding the place since it was dark but called and the receptionist was able to talk us there. Once we did it once we didn't get lost again. The chef Sam was great and would cook us anything we wanted as well as was great with giving advice on the local area. Our 1 bedroom condo was 2 stories and was fine (about what we expected for European standards) but not nearly as nice as our timeshare in the USA. The balcony was great. We did not use the pool. Expect to travel into town for restaurants, grocery shopping etc and a car is a must. We did not mind the drive and we planned on renting a car anyways for all our day trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank docnikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived very late on the Sunday night and were still offered a meal at the poolside restaurant,the staff couldn't do enough for us,we were not happy with our apartment as it was on two levels within 10 minutes we were in another,magnificent views looking out to Gibraltar & Africa.
The Apartment was very clean and to a very high standard,only complaint was no air conditioning,just a cooler in the living area,so had to have the fan on all night.
Entertainment was great,Food Excellent but the staff were what made our holiday so enjoyable a credit to Forest Hills.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Good service from staff. We arrived very late, however the receptionist was waiting for us. All the staff were very friendly and good.
Our apartment was on two levels, but once you got used to this is was ok. Very spacious, great terrace with fab views looking towards the sea.
The resort is built on a hill therefore it has lots of stairs. The pool was good but not much room around it. We only used the pool and the restaurant/bar, both were good.
Really the only things that we did not like was the access and the location. The resort is a considerable distance from any main attractions and the access road is full of pot-holes and has a very steep hill to negotiate.
A car is a necessity.

Room Tip: A car is a necessity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank couple20something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
9.7 km away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
6.3 km away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,328 reviews
7.7 km away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
811 reviews
7.0 km away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
553 reviews
3.0 km away
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
#2 of 35 in Estepona
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills

Property: Forest Hills
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Villas Andaluzas S/N | Urb. Forest Hills, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Estepona
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Forest Hills Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing